We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Romanico Palace” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Romanico Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Romanico Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Romanico Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy (Ludovisi / Via Veneto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #447 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hotel Romanico Palace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel with a family of 4 in a room with 2 queen beds. The room was very nice and the AC worked great! The day staff at the desk were not very friendly, the night staff much better. The biggest drawbacks were the distance from sight seeing locations and the metro, and the difficulty/expense of the internet. The hotel is located in a nice enough neighborhood, but it is a 10-15 minute walk to the nearest metro stop and sights. The internet is 5 Euro/ 1 hour, 10 Euro/3 hour and you can only have one computer on at a time. They tell you that they have a computer in the bar that you can use, but you must buy time on that one also. For a hotel of this caliber, internet should be included. We needed a ride to the international airport and the hotel said that they could get a cab with a flat rate of 55 Euro. When we got ready to go, they said that we should get a station wagon, and it would be 60 Euro. We did that and when we arrived at the airport, the driver charged 70 Euro. When you pay a lot of money to a hotel, you don't feel like getting nickel and dime'd every time you turn around. The gym was a few treadmills.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review! We are happy to know that the room you have been accommodated was nice and confortable!
When travelling with the metro, using the same ticket, you can also ride the bus, from Barberini Station you can easly reach the hotel with bus numbers 63 and 630 getting off at the 3rd stop "Boncompagni/Piemonte" just in front of the hotel.
Concerning the internet connection, we have submitted your request to have it included, to the General Manager and we wish that soon it will be available free of charge.
We also would like to clarify the price range for the transfer from the hotel to the airport, made with private car with driver. The price for a car is Euro 55,00 (up to 3 passengers + luggage). Maybe when you requested the information at the front desk, the colleague on duty didn't realize that your party was made of 4. In fact the price for a station wagon is Euro 60,00 (up to 4 passengers + luggage). Other prices availble for minivan for larger groups. We would like to check on the driver to know the reason why he requested a different rate, in order to do this we will need to have your information (i.e. check-out and room number), please reply directly to the hotel.
Thank you, kindest regards.
Benedetta Cavallini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    341
    194
    115
    52
See reviews for
137
562
20
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I booked through our agent in this hotel to spend a long weekend at the beginning of June 2012. Although I was alarmed by trip advisors reviews I could not believe it would be that bad. Extremely small rooms with a feel of an earthquake whenever a corridor door was shut. Extremely expensive Internet (10 euros for 3 hours). Extremely poor breakfast with no eggs (I wonder isn't there a minimum of items offered in accordance with the hotels claimed class?). Apart from the location which admittedly is very good I would not recommend this hotel even at half the current price. Owners of this hotel should realize that unless they do something to change the current disappointing image of their hotel it will soon face hard times because soon there will be very few people or group organizers to book a hotel without turning to reviews such as this. So do something before it's too late.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review, we really care about customer's opinion and suggestions.
Concerning the breakfast, we inform you that included in the room's rate (unless you by a room only/breakfast not included) the hotel offers the continental buffet breakfast - not American breakfast - on the roof top restaurant with City view.
Our continental buffet breakfast consists in: caffè espresso, cappuccino, American coffee, tea, milk, fruit juices, croissant and pastries, yogurt, several kind of cereals, several kind of breads, jam, marmelades, honey, chocolate, cold cuts, cheese, fresh fruit salad.
Your Travel agent was informed of the kind of breakfast included in the rate, and he/she must have been advised you! For your information eggs & bacon or other items are available "à la carte" from our menu, with supplement.
Just a suggestion: wherever destination you are travelling to get in touch with the hotel before of arrival in order to reconfirm your room and its facilities and to advise the hotel of any of your special request!
Best regards.
Benedetta Cavallini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

JUNE 2012 - DO NOT STAY HERE UNLESS YOU GET A REALLY GOOD DEAL AS IN LESS THAN $175 a night. It is well located but needs to be reclassified as a three star hotel. You can do better elsewhere in Rome. The staff is ok, but really not guest friendly. It is almost as if we were lucky to be staying there. They charge by the hour for internet, breakfast is expensive and don't get a drink on the roof unless you want to pay $$$. Management needs to wake up and get engaged or the only people who stay here are going to be folks that don't read reviews and they will only stay once.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review, we really care about guest's opinion and suggestions.
As see as many guests are requesting the internet connection free, we are asking to the General Manager to agree on this point and open the internet connection free of charge.
Concerning the star rating, we inform you that the hotel doesn't assign the star by itself but the stars are given by a public Tourism Organisation. This means that maybe the Italian hotel's standards doesn't match with your Country hotel's standards, BUT WE GRANT YOU THAT THE HOTEL ROMANICO PALACE IS A FOUR STAR HOTEL.
If you wish to contact us directly and give us more details about your stay, we will be happy to reply to you.
Best regards.
Benedetta Cavallini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I booked this hotel with American Express points (lots!). I liked the fact that the complimentary breakfast & the bar at night offered wonderful views of the city from the roof top. However, they claimed that due to an error on American Expresses end, we did not receive the free breakfast & it would cost us each 12 euro. And the roof top bar was not open. The hotel was a 15 minute walk up a hill from the metro, which at the end of a long day was tiring. Dissapointed by the expense of this hotel & should have listened to previous reviews!!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed here with our grown kids for a family celebration of our anniversary. The regular rooms were expensive for the size. Our junior suite was a great size but the bath set up was a bit odd. We caulked those things up to Rome hotel peculiarities. On the positive side - it was a an easy walk to the Spanish Steps and short cab rides to other major sites. We loved breakfast on the 7th floor terrace every morning. What a lovely way to start each day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I found this hotel to be a disappointment in almost every single way. I would definitely not stay here again.

My husband and I booked this hotel through AmEx to make sure that we didn’t end up with a “lost reservation” situation. We booked the room only without breakfast. Our first moment of interaction with this hotel was upon arrival. Immediately the two gentleman at the desk went into “used car salesman” mode and started pitching us things to sell. It turned us off. We hadn’t even been checked into our room yet and they were negotiating rates for breakfast at the hotel, tours, buses, etc. They post a sign at their front desk for internet cards – 1 hour, 3 hour, and 24 hours. The 24 hour card is the best deal if you use the internets a good deal. Conveniently, this advertised deal was not available. They would only sell us the 3 hour deal. I guess the one good thing was that you had 3 hours available across however many days it took to use it up, as opposed to the 24 hour card which ended at midnight each day.

The rooms – oh, the rooms. Forgive me if I am wrong but, for $260/night for a double bed room I expect a little bit of nice. Nothing luxurious but, a little nice… maybe? The walls were incredibly dinged and scuffed, the trim broken in multiple points, cracks all over the place – I felt like I paid for a dive. The double bed was two twins pushed together which is not at all comfortable for a couple but, this may be the norm for Italian hotels. The bathroom was small and had an ant or two running around. The shower fixture was cracked, the cover of the tub barely attached and about to fall off… ugh. The room had a wall-mounted air-conditioning unit which worked fine but, when you first turn it on, leave your windows open as the smell for the first 5-10 minutes is not very pleasant.

Breakfast is offered on the rooftop which has a nice view. The restaurant staff was very nice and helpful. Do note that the breakfast does not include eggs (most other Italian hotels we stayed at included this). Eggs are available but, the cost is additional. The breakfast overall was okay. The hot water urn has lukewarm water so, ask the staff for a teapot of hot water if you would like tea. Croissants, bread, cheese, cereal, fruit… The rest of the breakfast was fine.

The location of this hotel was note bad. It is close to the Spanish Steps and Borghese Gardens but, it can be a little hike to the Colosseum, Roman Forum, etc.

Also, note that most Italian hotels have a tax that you have to pay in cash. Most hotels will alert you to this at check-in so you make sure you have the cash on hand. This hotel was too busy trying to sell us everything to mention it. We did however expect it and were prepared for it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed in the hotel from 27-29 April, there were four of us, we got this through booking.com, at that time it seemed quite a good deal considering its prime location. We were there for a short trip and never really got the chance to enjoy the place much except for the time to come home at night. On some positive note, the guy (who normally mans the tour inquiry/customer service? desk left of the front office) was very helpful, we were trying to get in touch with some friends and he still kept on trying even if we didn't ask, for me that's enough to constitute an extra mile. Of course, being filipino, it always feels good to see filipino staff, (being in the hotel industry myself) the filipino waiter, serving us for breakfast was very attentive and made sure we were alright. On some not so positive note, i asked the housekeeping to come back half an hour as we were still using the toilet when she went there however, she said its now or never, so we didnt really have a choice so we didnt get any housekeeping the whole stay... i was hoping it was due to difficulty to converse in the english language and not due to some not so flexible standard... all in all, we were quite happy with the stay :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Romanico Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romanico Palace

Address: Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Rome
#181 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romanico Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romanico Palace Hotel, situated in the heart of the Eternal City, is the ideal starting point for discovering the historic, artistic, cultural and gastronomic wonders of Rome. A few steps from Via Veneto, Galleria Borghese, Via Condotti and Piazza di Spagna. Walking around you can enjoy the most important monuments: the Coliseum, Piazza Navona, the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon.Each room is different and stands out due to its unique personality. The sense of beauty, the frescoes and attention to detail are testified by the Italian furniture made with an elegant combination of designs and colours. All the marble bathrooms have been renovated to be modern and functional.Entering the Roof Garden, you are greeted by a magnificent 360° view of Rome. We also offer a wellness area, an oasis where you can find harmony between body and soul, dedicated to all those who wish to have a wellbeing experience. The Fitness Centre offers various equipment for daily training, from the latest Technogym cardio machines to weights.The Romanico Palace Hotel is perfect for those seeking an exclusive atmosphere, and values its ability to combine warmth and discretion, courtesy and the utmost respect for privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Romanico Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romanico Palace Rome
Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Romanico Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.