We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Artorius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Artorius to your Saves list
Hotel Artorius
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Boschetto 13, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off room rate
Ranked #64 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Manchester
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“5 star experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I can highly recommend staying at this hotel, the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming.

The hotel rooms were lovely, we had a twin room looking out to the front of the hotel, although it was a narrow road at the front the cars were going past at high speed!
The room had a mini bar, which we found was very reasonably priced and came in handy. The bathrooms were lovely as well and even had a powerful shower! Rare in hotels. The room was cleaned every day and clean towels were provided. There was also free WIFI available in our room, this came in handy for checking out local restaurants etc.

The breakfast was great, served 7am – 10am, we went at about 9am most days and it seemed everyone else did as well. The selection was good, assortment of different flavoured croissants as well as breads, cakes, meats, cheeses, jams and cereals. We were offered hot drinks instead of using the machine provided, they were lovely with chocolate designs on the top of them.

The hotel was in a really good location, The Coliseum and Trevi Fountain were about 10/15minutes walk away. We did intend on walking to The Vatican but walked in completely the opposite direction (my map skills aren’t the best) and found ourselves at the Metro station, so we got the metro which I would recommend – very easy to use. It was only 1.50 and took us right outside The Vatican.
There is also a supermarket shop just over the road from the hotel, it doesn’t look like a big shop from the outside but was like Tesco’s when you got in there selling everything you would need.

I would recommend this hotel and return if I go again. Also worth booking early as it books up!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    101
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
84
248
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel was a sweet experience. The hotel is located on a tucked away little street bustling with good restaurants and just a stones throw away from central Roman avenues. If it is your first time to Rome, many of the Roman "must sees" are within easy walking distance from the neighborhood (e.g. Coliseum, the Forum, etc). While it is a doable walk from Roma Termini, I would suggest against it for those with luggage, since the streets are ancient, and rolling luggage does not work well. Take a taxi. Otherwise, city buses run very close to the hotel, and subway stops are little further (but still an easy walk).

The hotel itself is quite fine. The rooms were tastefully appointed and well kept. Beds were firm, linens ample, and the wi-fi worked well. Considering the city location and European standards, the room size was good. The bathroom was great. Americans will be pleasantly treated to the nearly invisible and quiet plumbing that has spread throughout Europe (and that we may have one day).

The halls and entrance ways are marble and old hardwoods. Security is very good. The caged elevator looks like it came directly out of Roman Holiday, but it was preserved like a work of art and worked well. The staff at the desk overnight and in the very early in the morning speak limited English, but they were very accommodating when I could break through in my phrasebook Italian or through "sign language." The front desk staff in the day speak fluent English, have a good attitude about tourists, and helped us out on more than one occasion (e.g., booking a tour at the Vatican Museum, restaurant recommendation, a few hints on some off-the-beaten-path things to do).

The continental breakfast was ample and good (croissant, brioche, assorted Italian and German meats and cheeses, yogurt, breads, cereals, digestive biscuits, fruits, juice, cappuccino and other coffee beverages). The breakfast area appears a little small at first, but, as we were later to learn in other Italian hotels, most are small. Compared to the breakfast areas in our other Italian hotels, this was one of the larger areas. Food can be an expensive affair in major Italian cities, and so we were grateful for the good breakfast and tried to eat light lunches (or just get a sandwich at a local market or patisserie before we headed out). There is a little market across the street where one can pick up a few things, and patisseries are everywhere. Buy before you hit the heavy tourist areas.

By city hotel standards, the hotel was a great value. The family proprietors obviously take great pride in, and pay close attention to, their hotel. Didn't take any pictures of the room because we only thought of it before maid service (so that wouldn't be fair).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Of the five hotels I've stayed in the last two weeks during my train voyage through Europe, this was the last and the best! The general atmosphere, feel and welcoming and friendly nature of all in the staff contributed to very nice stay! The two stars are definitely misleading.
Upon arrival I was greeted by a very friendly lady showing me to my room, helping me with my luggage via the famed 100-years plus old elevator (which worked very well). She directly pulled out a map and started drawing errors showing me the best ways to get around the city, very much appreciated and helpful!

The room was absolutely beautiful! A spacious room with high ceilings and wall-to-wall carpets. A dark blue color permeated the room and the large window had a little niche behind the curtains (where a villain would hide in old movies). Very cozy with a nice bathroom containing all the necessary equipment and utilities.

The location is very good, a close walk from the train station unless you have extreme amounts of luggage to carry around and for me, being a walker, no problem reaching everything by foot. The Colosseum and Forum Romanum is right around the corner and it's almost as close to the Trevi Fountain in another direction. I also walked to the Vatican a couple of times (during conclave and just missed the smoke...) with no problem. Also walked to Trastevere, Piazza del Popolo and Spanish Steps (at different times, but they are some way off although reachable via foot). Otherwise the Repubblica underground station servicing the Metro A line is not too far off if you get tired of walking.

Breakfast was of the Italian standard and very good, no problems. Upon entering the breakfast tent set up in the courtyard I was immediately offered a nice hot cup of coffee and the buffet had a nice selection of croissants, bread and cheese/sausage.

I definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I think for a 2 star hotel and the price we paid it is absolutely brilliant value. The rooms were incredibly clean and tidy, the bathrooms were very modern and in perfect condition. We found the staff very friendly and helped with any questions we had about getting around Rome and recommendations on where to eat. The buffet breakfast was pleasant and there was a lot to choose from. The hotel is in a central location, a walk from the Termini (mains station) or a 5 minute taxi ride (with all your luggage) and 10/15 mins to the Colosseum. There was also a/c and heating in the room which could be turned on/off whenever you liked (as it is a little chilly in February). Overall we had a great stay at a very very reasonably priced hotel in Rome.

Room Tip: I stayed on the non street facing side, meaning we had a balcony but very little to see. So i think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel was really nice. Great, clean rooms, with a nice breakfast (you had your choice each morning between regular coffee and homemade cappuccino with cocoa powder decorations as well as a selection of meats and cheeses, pastries, cereal, yogurt, etc.) on an outdoor terrace. The hotel also has the oldest elevator in Rome which was just a cool little addition to this already fantastic hotel.
The hotel staff is incredibly helpful (they booked us a cab for our trip back to the airport and had someone waiting at 4am to help us put our bags into the cab). When we had questions about food and site-seeing they gave us free maps of the city and marked out our routes for us each time.
The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the Colosseum, 15 minute walk to the Trevi fountain, and not a far walk to the metro to get to the Vatican city.
There are 2 fantastic Italian restaurants within a 5 minute walk that are incredibly authentic as well as really well priced.
Even though we didn't go out to any bars or clubs, there did seem to be a few in the surrounding area however we never felt like this made the streets noisy or dangerous.
I would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a centrally located hotel (for all sites except the Vatican city but this is a quick metro ride) and who appreciates great customer service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel in Rome. It looks very recently renovated, quality furniture, very comfortable beds, very new and modern bathrooms, many TV channels, 24-hours staff at the reception. Most of all, the rooms are sound proofed, so it is very quiet inside while located on a fairly noisy street. The mini bar is very fair priced. The staff is very friendly and helpful with hints and directions for your visiting needs. Breakfast is included and is worth it for a good morning start before you embark on your tourist endeavours. Hotel is well located for almost everything in Rome. The only touristic objective located a bit farther away is the Vatican. I wouldn't stay at any other hotel in Rome as I don't think you could easily find better value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is centrally located and ,if you are walkers, you can go everywhere by foot. you have more than 15 restaurants within 500 meters of the hotel. Service is exceptional and the staff was very helpful. They reserved taxis at reasonable prices, kept our luggages for 10 days while we were touring Italy before our cruise, made restaurant reservation, etc. Breakfast offered a good variety of food and was much better than the traditional "Coffee and Croissant" .
We will go back there every time we travel to Rome

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Artorius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artorius

Address: Via del Boschetto 13, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#95 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Artorius 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Artorius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artorius Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Artorius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.