We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Artorius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Artorius to your Saves list
Hotel Artorius
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Boschetto 13, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is a small boutique hotel. The staff are all very welcoming and all spoke English. The rooms are not large but was ample for us. The appointments are very good. The bathroom was small and there was no place to put toiletries. Breakfast is served an a lovely small glassed in courtyard dining room. There was ample choice and the service was great. We would stay there again

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street and noise was not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    108
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
84
266
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We spent three nights at the Hotel Artorius in late April. The area, Monti where this hotel is located is a gem. Beautiful streets filled with fabulous restaurants and shops - and just minutes from many of the highlights of Rome. We loved the Piazza Madonna - just a block from the hotel. The owners gave us two restaurant recommendations for dinner - we tried both and they were two of our favorite meals during our entire stay Italy. The rooms were spacious and clean. Breakfast was great - cappuccinos were to die for! Staff was helpful and friendly. We didn't want to leave! We will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Please beware of this hotel. I don't write bad reviews, please check my profile. I'm happy to see others have had great experiences with the hotel, but must share our experience. Bottom line - WE NEVER GOT TO STAY THERE AND WERE MOVED TO A LOWER GRADE HOTEL WITH NO PRICE ADJUSTMENT (we prepaid and were never reimbursed for the difference of at least $200)!
Artorius nightly rate = $276 with tax
Hotel Pressede nightly rate = $200 with tax, max rate posted on hotel door and confirmed with front desk

We booked with Expedia and since the hotel "resolved the room availability issue" by moving us, there was no recourse since we let them drop us off at another hotel. Lesson learned!!!

We had a terrible experience with this hotel after we realized the grade of the new hotel and the dishonesty around the situation! We were not able to reconcile the issue with management and feel others should be aware the same scenario/scam could happen to them.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were told that our room was filled with water from the previous guests - that was understandable to us in the moment, but it didn't take long to know that it was not true. We were swiftly moved to another hotel, dropped off, and assured that it was similar quality. IT WAS NOT. I don't have pictures, but the hotel was Santa Pressede and you can check the Trip Advisor reviews. Hotel Artorius "tried" finding another hotel, but found nothing and assured us that they transferred all the money to the other hotel (no way that's true). We did our best to move on and enjoy the rest of the trip, but lost at least a few hours trying to resolve the problem (even after returning home). We gave up, but resorted to a poor review as the only justice to help any others that may be scammed. They wouldn't show us any documentation and the other hotel would not confirm how much was paid for the room.

I'll bet Artorius will respond to this comment in same manner I've experiences on all other calls with them - curteous, but full of very unreliable and questionable information that only intensifies the issue.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Artorius, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
As we did already, we apologize again with the guest for what happened but of course if the room was filled with water by the previous guests, it's not our fault and, because our room's floors are with fitted carpet, it takes at least a couple of days to dry it; I'm just wondering how the guest can say that it was not true.
We moved the guest to a different hotel that has the same standards of our hotel and also located in the same area.

Reservations made by Expedia are prepaid but the payment is collected by Expedia, not the hotel.

After the guest called us from the other hotel saying that he didn't like it, I called all the hotels located in this area to check availability but all of them were full booked. I informed the guest and said him that if he was able to find a different accommodation that he liked, we could have had a reimburse from the hotel Santa Prassede to pay it. After this call, the guest has never called us back again; I'm sure he couldn't find any other hotel with rooms available; I've also tried to call him again the day after but he didn't answer.
The amount that we paid to Santa Prassede was the same that the guest paid to us and we dind't show to the guest any documentation because he never asked us.

This is what happened and I'm sorry that the guest doesn't trust us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed in Rome for three nights. The Hotel Artorius was located roughly in the center of the area we were most interested in, within convenient walking distance from ancient Rome sights, but a bit of a slog to the Vatican Museum, Borghese Gallery, etc. The staff was wonderful, especially Mimo. Do not walk to the Hotel from the Rome Termini via Cavour as we did... a slightly anxiety-provoking course. Go via Via Nazionale if you choose to walk. The low rating on room noise was due construction upstairs during our visit. This seemed to start surprisingly early in the morning, but at other times the noise levels were fine.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 102, which was small but very adequate for two. I think we might have liked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The Artorius Hotel is beautifully maintained, has wonderful character and friendly staff, and is in the perfect location for exploring Rome. Our double room was spacious and very nicely furnished. The bathroom was very spacious by Roman standards and beautifully appointed. Our room fronted the street, which is narrow and can be a bit noisy, but with shutters, double glazed windows and heavy curtains we hardly heard a thing. I'm a light sleeper and I slept like a log here. Breakfast was provided in a marquee in the hotel courtyard; it was Italian breakfast, very adequate but don't expect bacon and eggs (anywhere in Italy for that matter). Do ask for freshly made coffee or cappuccino, and don't bother with the automatic coffeemaker.
Probably the best thing is the hotel's location. The neighbourhood is delightful, and If you are reasonably fit, you can walk to many of the sties around Rome. We will stay at the Artorius again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I absolutely love this hotel. It is small and beautiful. The room was clean, comfortable, and had a fabulous bathroom. Breakfast was wonderful and the location was perfect for seeing everything. More than anything, I loved the staff. Both gentlemen, morning and evening, were friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I can't speak highly enough on how relaxed, clean, helpful and polite everybody was at this hotel during our recent stay.
It's perfectly located for the Forum etc - so just right for me! It's also on a perfect little street with lots of good quality restaurants.

The reason it's a two star? Because effectively it's just a B&B. No food is allowed in the rooms but with such good (value and quality)restaurants literally a stone throw away why eat in? They also have a bar so on our last night we had drinks in. The breakfasts are great - prepare to fight over the blueberry croissants...
Also, there is a small supermarket over the road for such things as water (never leave home without it).

What I liked is for somebody so useless at language such as myself all staff spoke perfect english and were very helpful with every query we had. They provided stamps and a taxi back to the airport on request, for example.

Hotel Artorius is located on a narrow cobbled street which seems a bit of a short cut for some speeding traffic - our taxi included, so I fear it MAY be noisy for those in the front rooms. I could be wrong on this point.

I did like the cleanliness of the rooms and the security of the hotel. But just don't expect the four or five star facilities. I will use this place again definitely.

Room Tip: 102 the room I was in doesn't really have a window...but it is really quiet, and with Rome being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Artorius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artorius

Address: Via del Boschetto 13, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#120 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Artorius 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Artorius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artorius Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Artorius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.