We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mary treats you better than family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gulliver's Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gulliver's Lodge to your Saves list
Gulliver's Lodge
Via Cavour, 101, Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #646 of 2,888 Rome B&B and Inns
Atlanta
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Mary treats you better than family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

This is an excellent place to stay while exploring Rome. It is close to the Coliseum, the Forum, several beautiful churches (including St. Peter in Chains where Michelangelo's Moses is located) and Termini Station. Mary is a consummate hostess and will orient you to the neighborhood and the amenities. You feel like a part of the neighborhood rather than just an anonymous hotel visitor.
The price is very reasonable and a great deal for Rome. The charming rooms are clean and quiet and a DVD library is provided as well as several books, including guidebooks. Instant coffee and tea are available and breakfast is provided at a charming cafe just down the street. In addition, there is a refrigerator in the room.
Air conditioning and internet access are provided.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    25
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
71
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This B&B located near the Roma Termini Station, didn't spend much time to find it...

There are 2 rooms there, 3 of us stayed at the first room which spacious enough even with our luggages.
Washroom definately clean and big enough for me!

Euro 90/night with LCD TV, DVD, FOC high speed internet (connection really good), breakfast (simple), and a lovely host do add extra value to this B&B!!
Good job Mary!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011 via mobile

Mary is a wonderful hostess, the information she gives u on rome and getting about u cannot beat!
Whats more its in a great central location,
Perfectly clean, decorated nicely, has a safe, fridge, wi-fi, flat screen and dvd player, as well as a good selection of movies. All included. This place was an absolute steal and I feel like somebody should tell her she should increase the rate! Would definately stay again and I highly recommend to all!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Very clean and convenient stay. Maria is an excellent hostess and helps you plan your stay. She does not reside at the facility, but answers her emails and cell phone calls. The Inn has large rooms but, doesn't really have the facility to serve breakfast. Coffee is available 24 hrs/day. Maria will present you with a coupon to a local "bar" where you get a croissant and cappuccino as early as 7 AM.

Considering the excellent location, we found our stay for three nights very reasonable.

We departed for Fiumicino at 6:45 AM, and Maria had arranged for a private car service for €45. This really paid for us because when adding the cost of taxi, rail, finding check-in at FCO along with the hassle of luggage and extra time.

We would definitely return to Gulliver's when in Rome.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Gullivers is a small B&B with a big heart. The rooms provide plenty of space and are well-appointed. There was a refrigerator (which is always a nice amenity) as well as a safe. The street noise can be a bit much, so earplugs are suggested.

The common space is comfortable for hanging out and working on the complimentary computer. There is also a free hot beverage station and free DVDS to view in your room. There are complimentary coupons for breakfast at a cafe across the street.

The proprietor, Mary, takes genuine interest in making sure her guests have a great time in Rome. We would definitely recommend Gullivers if you're looking to stay in that part of Rome.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

We loved this B&B. Maria was a fantastic host. The location is very good - convenient to Termini and the Colosseum. Our room was large, spacious, well decorated, and it had a bathtub!

We had TV, DVD access, Wifi, local telephone calls, and could come and go as we pleased. A top notch find.

We will indeed be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010 via mobile

Since my arrival i had a friendly and familiar welcome from Maria (the owner). She gave me all information about rome and how to get around the city. She is LOVELY!!!! Rooms Are fantastic everything is Made to let you feel at your own home Also if you Are far away. Cleaning is a must for this b&b. Superb location in the heart of rome . I recommend this b&b and i will book again on my Next visit to rome

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gulliver's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulliver's Lodge

Address: Via Cavour, 101, Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #646 of 2,888 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting alternative to typical hotels in the centre of Rome,Gulliver's Lodge offers a family run setting and a cosy, intimate atmosphere, perfect for families and couples on holiday in Rome.The Lodge is located only a few minutes away from the main attractions of our city, which include the magnificent Colosseum,the Palatium Hill, The Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia, Trevi Fountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gulliver's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulliver`s Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulliver's Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.