We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WRH Trastevere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added WRH Trastevere to your Saves list
WRH Trastevere
Via San Crisogono 40, 00153 Rome, Italy (Trastevere)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Wrh-trastevere.com
Ranked #368 of 3,079 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Losanna
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I've spent a long weekend with my boyfriend at WRH Trastevere and we enjoyed very much the place and the hospitality given by the hosts: Maria sent us an email before our trip to Rome with all key information on how to reach the guest house from the airport. The room totally responded to our expectations and it was exactly how it looks and it was described on the website, clean and spacious. All the staffs were very friendly and always ready to help with advice and tips on restaurant and "must to see" in the city.
We also liked very much the given option (voucher) of having a full italian breakfast in the close bar: excellent coffee and cappuccino and yummy cornetti!
I would definitely recommend this place to both italians (I am Italian and fully satisfied) and foreigners (my boyfriend is English and he also is delighted by the experience).
Federica

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    78
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
47
217
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

WRH is solid on all fronts. If you want to stay in the Trastevere area this is an excellent location. I for one was a little turned off by the graffiti on the area buildings and doors. I mean really, have a little respect for some of the most beautiful architecture, woodwork etc. that is in the world. But that's not WRH's issue. They did very well with what they had control over. Clean rooms, adequate size, and great customer service. We only had a 2 night stay at the end of a 10 day run in Italy, but it was a good 2 nights. The bed was the nicest we had on the trip. It would be considered too soft by most people but it was perfect for me. We could have used alot more time to explore the nighborhood but what we did see led us to believe that you could really enjoy the restaurants and night life immensely. The location was good for the typical Roma sites. We walked to all of them from WRH. If this is the neighborhood you want, book it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is a wonderful small place to stay in Rome. The owners were very friendly, helpful and provided great information and assistance to us. They stored our luggage before check in and after check out. They gave us great directions and tips for getting around and a lovely restaurant recommendation. The room was clean and comfortable. The location is great for walking to all of the common tourist sites if you enjoy walking. We walked to the Vatican, the colosseum and forum, the Spanish steps, Trevi fountain and around Trastavere. (I really enjoy walking) There is also a convenient bus stop, though we only used it to get to the train station when we left Rome. Unless you know your way around Rome well, I would recommend using the shuttle service they offer from the airport. I would love to stay here again if I make it back to Rome and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I can only repeat what many other reviewers have said: this is a great place to stay. The guest house is in a very central location, and the neighborhood is quiet. We stayed in a triple room (the Marilyn room), which was bright, very spacious, and with a large bathroom. The common room, with coffee machine and refrigerator, was also practical. Guests receive vouchers for a continental breakfast (with freshly squeezed orange juice) at a café that is a 2-3 minute walk from the hotel.

As other reviewers have observed, the owners are extremely nice. After my daughter asked if there were any juices in the refrigerator, the owner went out and bought some for us. The owners also recommended a wonderful restaurant for our daughter’s birthday celebration.

It is hard to beat the price to value ratio of this wonderful guest house.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The WRH Trastevere guesthouse/boutique hotel is a gem!
Situated in Trastevere on a quiet side street, it is a perfect location from which to acquaint yourself with authentic Roman neighborhood life unencumbered by tourism. At the same time, you are only minutes away from Trastevere’s tourist attractions once you cross Viale Trastevere where you will find restaurants, cafés, shops, bars, etc. more geared to tourists but filled with locals too. To the east, it is a short walk to the Palatine and Roman Forums and Piazza del Campidoglio. Nearby busses will take you, for example to the Vatican, or as far as Villa Borghese on the other side of Rome. So you are well situated at WRH Trastevere.
Easy to get there from Fiumicino airport: from the airport you take the FR1 train (which leaves at 30 minute intervals) to Trastevere station (ca. 30 minutes). Tickets cost €8. From there you can take the no. 8 tram five stops (6 mins.) and you are 100 meters from the hotel. We walked (ca 40 minutes) to get acquainted with the atmosphere.
The real treat begins when you arrive. We were warmly welcomed by Fabrizio and Alex, both of whom have encyclopedic knowledge of Rome and helped us get oriented with directions, tips on restaurants, cafés, local sites of interest and transportation.. They made required reservations and ferreted out concerts for us to choose from. This was grade A service provided with unusual friendliness!
The room and bathroom were spacious, immaculately clean, and comfortable. Larger than the four-star hotels we have stay at in Venice and Florence. Free access to wi-fi is available. You get coupons for an authentic Roman breakfast at a local ‘bar’: freshly squeezed orange juice, the coffee of your choice, and fresh pastry. It was a treat to “do as the Romans do” and to be served by the friendly staff at the bar.
After our delightful stay there, we will definitely return to WHR Trastevere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

we went for a three day get-away and landed ourselves in the area with the greatest charm. WRH is wedged within the cobblestone magic. Fabrizio and Maria offered a cosy spot, in the heart of Trastevere. It was clean and comfortable with immensely wonderful hosts who greeted us with coffee on arrival and pointed us in the direction of some off the beaten track, rustic places. Just follow your nose in and around WRH and you simply can't go wrong for authentic food and fun. will return again!

Room Tip: the pop room is a great size. i was excited by the round bed idea, these rooms are smaller but see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis Tn
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a week in November of 2011 at WRH, We liked it so much, we just stayed 3 nights after our cruise that ended in Rome. Easy to find and a great area of Rome to stay. Great hosts and very clean rooms. You will not be disappointed if you stay here. I hope to return again one day. Thanks Alex, Maria and Fabrizio.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WRH Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WRH Trastevere

Address: Via San Crisogono 40, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #368 of 3,079 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guesthouse WRH Trastevere has been created on the idea of successfully fusing traditional hospitality with modernity and design. WRH Trastevere is located in Rome's Trastevere area, which is directly in the historical centre of Rome, and is often thought of as being one of the most typical and truly authentic Roman areas of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, T4B, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your WRH Trastevere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrh Trastevere Rome
Wrh Trastevere Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WRH Trastevere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.