We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Relais dei Papi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Relais dei Papi to your Saves list
Hotel Relais dei Papi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Via dei Gracchi | 3rd and 4th Floor, 00192 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #304 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We loved this hotel. When we arrived we got a giggle out of the sign on the elevator, it was a very nice way of saying that the elevator is slow and to be patient. The welcome we got was lovely and he walked us to our room which I thought was a nice touch. The room was really modern and extremely clean. It wasn't huge but had absolutely everything we needed, including a fridge which we got great use out of. The bathroom and particularly the shower were wonderful. The hotel is in an ideal location. There was a supermarket next door which was extremely useful. All the attractions were within walking distance too.
The first morning we were there we were woken around 6:30am by very noisy people, we assumed they were preparing breakfast as the dining area was directly across from our room. We mentioned it in reception the next evening, he said they were fully booked but to pop down after breakfast the next morning and he will get us a room. He was extremely sorry and seemed confused by the noise, he said he would mention it to the night porter. As it turned out it was just noisy people leaving the morning before. We had 3 very peaceful nights after that. Reception even called to let us know that he had a room prepared for us before breakfast but we didn't need it. We also found the breakfast very good. I would definitely highly recommend this hotel. I feel we got great value for money.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room away from reception as the breakfast room is close to this too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    145
    27
    10
    9
See reviews for
64
155
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Uniquely and fashionably designed, we must say we had a great stay at Hotel Relais dei Papi (http://www.hotelrelaisdeipapi.com/en/) when we visited Rome in February 2013.

Front Desk: The front desk team were friendly, helpful and went out of their ways to accommodate our requests and questions (on everything!).

Breakfast: Breakfast was sufficient, all items are very fresh

Location: The area is very safe! 5 minute walk to piazza near the Vatican, Supermarket and Via Cola di Rienzo (loads of stalls and retail outlets). Have fantastic restaurants nearby... and i have to highlight 3Quarti Ristorante (http://www.3quarti.it/) again.

Room: Room size was enough to accommodate our travelling needs. Bathroom was the right size, has hot and cold water. Both were CLEAN! :)

Great team Hotel Relais Dei Papi has.. Giuseppe was just fantastic! He contributed to our great stay in Rome. :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, Wales, Gods Country
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A strange eclectic mix in this hotel. Breakfast was adequate (if you got there well before the cut off time). The hotel was spotlessly clean. The dissapointing feature was the bathroom, in particular the shower which for me was a bit claustrophobic. A great location very close to the Vatican city. I would stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 4th floor appear better than those on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The staff was great to us. The room, while rather small compared to hotels in the United States, was very clean and comfortable. We made the quick, 5 minute walk to the piazza near the Vatican for an evening festival. Being our first night in Rome, we were late for breakfast and checkout but the staff graciously accommodated us. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and went out of their way to help you. The decor was beautiful. The rooms are a little small, but for a few nights you only really sleep there. There was a fair bit of noise in the room we stayed in from up above and people coming in and out. overall I would stay here again as it was in a great location for the Vatican and staff were great.

Room Tip: Get early for breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My partner and myself recently stayed at Hotel Relais dei Papi for three nights. The hotel was conveniently situated close to the Vatican and other tourist attractions.

We found the standard of the room to be very good for what we paid and the staff were friendly and approachable. The bed however was very hard. Unfortunately, we were located on the fourth floor close to reception and as a result of the paper thin walls we heard everything - best to avoid if given the choice. The breakfast area is small and the breakfast in comparison to other European hotels we have stayed in, leaves alot to be desired.

Overall, we were pleased with our choice of hotel for staying in Rome, and would recommend to our family and friends.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms beside reception desk on fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had 4 nights here prior to a cruise. The entrance is just a door on the street and the hotel is actually on the 3rd floor accessed via a quirky ancient (but well preserved) lift. Daniel was waiting downstairs to meet us and had annotated a map with places to see, buses to get etc etc. He and all the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Our small, spotlessly clean room on the back was modern with a large flat screen TV and with a good bathroom and powerful shower . Breakfast is a self service buffet in quite a tiny purple room, but we never had any problems finding a table. The food is fairly standard continental fare and more than adequate. What makes this hotel so good is its location. A mere 10 mins walk to the Vatican, it is in a safe neighbourhood beside a large supermarketand and there are some really good restaurants nearby - notably the 3 Quarti and Taverna Varrone. It is 100m to the main road with loads of shops and easy bus access to all parts of Rome. Slightly further to the metro but it depends where you're going. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the modernised, refurbished part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Relais dei Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais dei Papi

Address: 161 Via dei Gracchi | 3rd and 4th Floor, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#189 Business Hotel in Rome
#266 Family Hotel in Rome
#278 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais dei Papi 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Relais dei Papi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Dei Papi Rome
Relais Dei Papi Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Relais dei Papi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.