We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel stay at Relais Dei Papi in Rome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Relais dei Papi

Best prices from these 11 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Relais dei Papi to your Saves list
Hotel Relais dei Papi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Via dei Gracchi | 3rd and 4th Floor, 00192 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #300 of 1,265 Hotels in Rome
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hotel stay at Relais Dei Papi in Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and went out of their way to help you. The decor was beautiful. The rooms are a little small, but for a few nights you only really sleep there. There was a fair bit of noise in the room we stayed in from up above and people coming in and out. overall I would stay here again as it was in a great location for the Vatican and staff were great.

Room Tip: Get early for breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    141
    27
    9
    9
See reviews for
62
154
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My partner and myself recently stayed at Hotel Relais dei Papi for three nights. The hotel was conveniently situated close to the Vatican and other tourist attractions.

We found the standard of the room to be very good for what we paid and the staff were friendly and approachable. The bed however was very hard. Unfortunately, we were located on the fourth floor close to reception and as a result of the paper thin walls we heard everything - best to avoid if given the choice. The breakfast area is small and the breakfast in comparison to other European hotels we have stayed in, leaves alot to be desired.

Overall, we were pleased with our choice of hotel for staying in Rome, and would recommend to our family and friends.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms beside reception desk on fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had 4 nights here prior to a cruise. The entrance is just a door on the street and the hotel is actually on the 3rd floor accessed via a quirky ancient (but well preserved) lift. Daniel was waiting downstairs to meet us and had annotated a map with places to see, buses to get etc etc. He and all the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Our small, spotlessly clean room on the back was modern with a large flat screen TV and with a good bathroom and powerful shower . Breakfast is a self service buffet in quite a tiny purple room, but we never had any problems finding a table. The food is fairly standard continental fare and more than adequate. What makes this hotel so good is its location. A mere 10 mins walk to the Vatican, it is in a safe neighbourhood beside a large supermarketand and there are some really good restaurants nearby - notably the 3 Quarti and Taverna Varrone. It is 100m to the main road with loads of shops and easy bus access to all parts of Rome. Slightly further to the metro but it depends where you're going. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the modernised, refurbished part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

On our way to the hotel our taxi driver informed us that we were staying in a relatively safe neighbourhood in Rome. The staff were quite lovely, very helpful and attentive. The room we stayed in was exactly as pictured in the photos, it was very purple! It was clean and comfortable, although the bed was a little hard for our taste. It is also located near many of the cities main attractions and near some excellent restaurants.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have large suitcases you may not fit in the lift with them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescara, Italy
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The entrance of the Hotel it's a bit wierd, looks like you're entering a house. In fact you have to go up to the 3rd and 4th floor to arrive at the hotel desk. The room was ok, big enough and clean, the furniture chosen it's weird too, it's made on purpose, everything looks cheap and weird. I didn't feel this like a problem, I cared about the other things. First of all the position, we had to stay for one night only and visit the Vatican Museum and St. Peter the day after and the hotel was right there, it took barely 10 minutes to reach those places, there were also plenty of shops and restaurants in the area, it's also close to the underground which is good if you need to visit the city. Room was clean and very comfortable. I'm not giving five star because there was no vent on the bathroom, or at least not at night because of the noise. Apart from that I can recommend the hotel without hesitation. Breakfast was ok too, there were many things to choose, from classic croissants, to jam, some ham, eggs, cheese and many other things. I felt I paid the correct price for what I was getting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Idea location with Vatican city being a10 min walk. Close to the metro which gets you around. When you walk into the hotel they guide you well on where to go. Breakfast bread was slightly bad and the size of the room was small. But for what you pay its brilliant. Great staff, great location!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed on the renovated 4th floor of the Relais dei Papi and truly enjoyed the experience. The staff was extremely helpful in pointing out the various transportation options available to visit Rome's tourist destinations. Gianluca was also very responsive in organizing an airport pick-up for us. The staff was also very helpful with local restaurant recommendations, including vegetarian options. There was a computer with a printer option on the 3rd floor which was quite convenient for making train reservations the day before travel. The relatively quiet location and proximity to the Vatican, San Angelo Castle, and a Metro stop made the Relais dei Papi a fantastic choice for tourists. The elevator to the 4th floor was quite small, but OK to deal with if you only had carry-on bags. The room for breakfast was very intimate, but it was easy enough to take your breakfast back to your room, which included a small fridge for drinks and yogurt. The supermarket around the block was also extremely convenient for snacks and bottled water at non-tourist prices. Overall I would highly recommend it for visitors who want a launching pad to see Rome, but who don't want to be "downtown" in the hustle and bustle of a capitol city.

Room Tip: The renovated rooms on the 4th floor were quite nice and the showers were quite modern.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Relais dei Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais dei Papi

Address: 161 Via dei Gracchi | 3rd and 4th Floor, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#181 Business Hotel in Rome
#230 Family Hotel in Rome
#284 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais dei Papi 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Relais dei Papi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Dei Papi Rome
Relais Dei Papi Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Relais dei Papi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.