We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Relais dei Papi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Relais dei Papi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Relais dei Papi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Via dei Gracchi | 3rd and 4th Floor, 00192 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #358 of 1,263 hotels in Rome
Pescara, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The entrance of the Hotel it's a bit wierd, looks like you're entering a house. In fact you have to go up to the 3rd and 4th floor to arrive at the hotel desk. The room was ok, big enough and clean, the furniture chosen it's weird too, it's made on purpose, everything looks cheap and weird. I didn't feel this like a problem, I cared about the other things. First of all the position, we had to stay for one night only and visit the Vatican Museum and St. Peter the day after and the hotel was right there, it took barely 10 minutes to reach those places, there were also plenty of shops and restaurants in the area, it's also close to the underground which is good if you need to visit the city. Room was clean and very comfortable. I'm not giving five star because there was no vent on the bathroom, or at least not at night because of the noise. Apart from that I can recommend the hotel without hesitation. Breakfast was ok too, there were many things to choose, from classic croissants, to jam, some ham, eggs, cheese and many other things. I felt I paid the correct price for what I was getting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    121
    23
    7
    8
See reviews for
47
131
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Idea location with Vatican city being a10 min walk. Close to the metro which gets you around. When you walk into the hotel they guide you well on where to go. Breakfast bread was slightly bad and the size of the room was small. But for what you pay its brilliant. Great staff, great location!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed on the renovated 4th floor of the Relais dei Papi and truly enjoyed the experience. The staff was extremely helpful in pointing out the various transportation options available to visit Rome's tourist destinations. Gianluca was also very responsive in organizing an airport pick-up for us. The staff was also very helpful with local restaurant recommendations, including vegetarian options. There was a computer with a printer option on the 3rd floor which was quite convenient for making train reservations the day before travel. The relatively quiet location and proximity to the Vatican, San Angelo Castle, and a Metro stop made the Relais dei Papi a fantastic choice for tourists. The elevator to the 4th floor was quite small, but OK to deal with if you only had carry-on bags. The room for breakfast was very intimate, but it was easy enough to take your breakfast back to your room, which included a small fridge for drinks and yogurt. The supermarket around the block was also extremely convenient for snacks and bottled water at non-tourist prices. Overall I would highly recommend it for visitors who want a launching pad to see Rome, but who don't want to be "downtown" in the hustle and bustle of a capitol city.

Room Tip: The renovated rooms on the 4th floor were quite nice and the showers were quite modern.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, England
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent....just a 10 minute walk from the Vatican. In fact you can walk to most of the places you want to visit in Rome from this hotel. We did just that, walking everywhere.....well OK we used the nearby Metro a few times....but we did do a great deal of walking. In fact our feet and legs still ached days after we had returned home, but it was well worth it. What a wonderful city is Rome! The hotel staff were helpful with information and our one criticsm was that the breakfast room is too small, with only about eight tables for a hotel that comprises about 23 rooms. After the first morning, when we had to wait a while for a table to become available, we solved the problem by making sure that we were at breakfast promptly at 7am each morning for the rest of our stay. It did also mean of course that we were out nice and early to explore Rome. The lift in the building that includes the hotel is wonderfully old and full of character. The free wifi was great for my Blackberry and the free use of a PC made the internet easier. One small disappointment was that when we booked we requested a third floor room, which was confirmed and which would have been more modern than the fourth floor room we were given on arrival. Oh well....it was still a very nice stay anyway. We would recommend the 3Quarti Restaurant just a few steps away from the hotel. We ate there several times.

Room Tip: We read before we booked that the 3rd floor has been refurbished more recently than the 4th floor, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful staff lovely hotel. Excellent location would recommend this hotel without a doubt. Only complaint was we didn't stay longer. I would like to thank the staff for all the trouble they went to to sort out a problem when we arrived. Due not to the hotel I must say but to the booking agent. They offered massage chairs and drinks to us while we waited. Great service.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Booked for 2 nights months in advance. When we arrived found that reception is on the 4th floor so need to walk up a flight of 20 steps to get to the first floor lift. Lift is an antique so 2 trips needed to get baggage up there. Only to be told that they could only put us up for 1 night as work was needed on the room. We were told that they had an hotel for us to stay on 2nd night so suggested we stay there for both nights so we moved to the Vatican Garden Inn which was OK

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitburn
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The staff were so friendly, the room was clean and tidy, the breakfast was excellent just what we needed. Ideally located for all of Romes sights and within ten minutes walk of the vatican and St Peters we could not have hoped for better.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor and was more old fashioned, with the more modern rooms being on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Relais dei Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais dei Papi

Also Known As:
Relais Dei Papi Hotel
Relais Dei Papi Rome
Relais Dei Papi Hotel Rome
Address: 161 Via dei Gracchi | 3rd and 4th Floor, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#175 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#184 Business Hotel in Rome
#270 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais dei Papi 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Relais dei Papi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Relais dei Papi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.