We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient to the vatican” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Relais dei Papi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Relais dei Papi to your Saves list
Hotel Relais dei Papi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Via dei Gracchi | 3rd and 4th Floor, 00192 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #299 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Pacifica, California
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“convenient to the vatican”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

the hotel was a short walk from the Lepanto metro stop which was nice and it was so close to the Vatican that it made it easy to get to our morning reservation. the hotel was 4 floors up on an elevator that was really hard to get in and out of. the welcome was nice and we were able to get a recommendation for lunch and store our luggage until our room was ready. nice.

the room had a window on a teeny light well so the room was really dark. i had to turn my mattress over and remake my bed so the springs wouldn't be in my back all night. the hotel was the smallest of any on our trip. it also protruded oddly into the bathroom so we nearly tripped over the corner of the shower and fell into the sink.

the breakfast was underwhelming at best. they didn't have a great variety of foods and the yogurt supply was lacking. we used the breakfast room to have a glass of wine and talk about our plans for the next day so we wouldn't have to be in our dark room. it was nice to have that option but i would rather have had a window and a nicer room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    149
    29
    12
    10
See reviews for
65
168
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights when i went to Rome this fall. I arrived late at night, the hotel arranged someone to pick me up at Fiumicino airport. When i got to the hotel, staff went out to welcome me and help with the luggage, which is sweet. And he quickly showed me the location of main attractions on map and asked if i need recommendation for dinner. The hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood, 10 mins walk from metro station and 15 mins walk to Vatican City, which makes it perfect for sightseeing. The room itself is not big, but its common in Rome. And the shower is good. The only downside will be the breakfast, it is very basic, and everyday is the same, and the boiled eggs come late in the morning, so i misses it twice. And there is no hot water in the daytime.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We only stayed one night but wht a great location very easy to walk to the Vatican and other places of interest. The hotel has an interesting lift to the rooms ancient but lovely. The rooms clean and tidy and the staff most helpful. Breakfast very good too.Good value all round.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 8 nights. On the final day we were asked to leave room for cleaning. I have undergone spinal reconstruction, and use OxyContin tablets. More than 20 blister packs containing medications were stolen from the bed side table by the maid. They were neatly stored behind other personal effects. It took us a few hours to realize the medications were missing. The maid claimed she thought they were rubbish and had thrown them out. A blatent lie! The only bin in the room is in the bathroom. For 6 days she had made no effort to tidy or clean anything in the room, and never even tidied the bedside tables.. She claimed she accidentally threw 20 blister packs of tablets away! We inspected the hotels rubbish, and found some of my tablets but all the morphine tablets were missing. We wasted out last night in room going to a doctor and then several phamacies, only 4 or the 20 drugs were replaced, after a 6 hour ordeal. OxyContin was unable to be replaced, as unavailable in Rome.Management paid for those tablets that were available(£80), but I was left to suffer withdrawal symptoms and the remainder of my holiday was ruined. Hotel did not want to involve police, inspite of my insistence to do so. Perhaps more staff than just the maid were involved in the theft? Blankets and bed covers dirty, when I asked for replacement I was given even more dirty ones.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

When we arrived at Relais dei Papi and got shown to our room we were a little bit worried as on our corridor there was a lot of maintenance going on and you could see they tried renovating the 3rd floor too. However we didn't need to worry. We had an absolutely fantastic stay here. The location is great for people who are in Rome to see the Vatikan however not as central to the other sights in Rome as I have wished for. Daniel from reception was extremely helpful with all our million questions. The room was clean and spacious enough. We loved the breakfast even though a bit crammed when busy. We definitely can recommend the hotel for a Vatikan base Rome visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were a party of 7 staying three nights in 3 rooms during peak season in July and not one major complaint from anyone. The newly renovated rooms and breakfast room were just great. The theme maybe a little Asian but the feeling was that you were in a hotel in a cosmopolitan city. The staff couldn't have been any better. I've stayed in Rome several times before and I cannot remember staying in a quieter location. Good restaurants are just everywhere and reasonably priced. The A/C works great but the beds may be a bit hard for some but not for me. Daniel had a driver waiting at the airport for us and made a dinner reservation for our first night. Thank you Daniel. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel with no hesitations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A hotel in the middle of an apartment block is different from my general experience of hotels. The introduction to Hotel Relais dei Papi is intriguing as one travels to the fourth floor on a lift that is over 100 years old - and that worked quite efficiently while we stayed here. All the staff we met were all very helpful with good English and able to give excellent directions. Each of the rooms is decorated differently making this an interesting hotel to stay in. The hotel is over two floors and the lower floor is newer and much more modern in style and layout. It is within walking distance of all the main tourist sights in Rome, St. Peters, Fountain of Trevi, Spanish Steps, Navona Square, etc. The only slightly negative thing was breakfast, although plenty of food was available for a continental breakfast it lacked fibre, a better choice of cereal would have sorted that out!
All in all to be recommended if your stay in Rome is primarily for sight seeing purposes and a restaurant, bar and other entertainment on site is not a requirement.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Relais dei Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais dei Papi

Address: 161 Via dei Gracchi | 3rd and 4th Floor, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#263 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais dei Papi 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Relais dei Papi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Dei Papi Rome
Relais Dei Papi Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Relais dei Papi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.