We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Although staff were were helpful after the maid stole much medication, including my OxyContin tablets, which are not available i” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Relais dei Papi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Relais dei Papi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Relais dei Papi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Via dei Gracchi | 3rd and 4th Floor, 00192 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #335 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Although staff were were helpful after the maid stole much medication, including my OxyContin tablets, which are not available i”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 8 nights. On the final day we were asked to leave room for cleaning. I have undergone spinal reconstruction, and use OxyContin tablets. More than 20 blister packs containing medications were stolen from the bed side table by the maid. They were neatly stored behind other personal effects. It took us a few hours to realize the medications were missing. The maid claimed she thought they were rubbish and had thrown them out. A blatent lie! The only bin in the room is in the bathroom. For 6 days she had made no effort to tidy or clean anything in the room, and never even tidied the bedside tables.. She claimed she accidentally threw 20 blister packs of tablets away! We inspected the hotels rubbish, and found some of my tablets but all the morphine tablets were missing. We wasted out last night in room going to a doctor and then several phamacies, only 4 or the 20 drugs were replaced, after a 6 hour ordeal. OxyContin was unable to be replaced, as unavailable in Rome.Management paid for those tablets that were available(£80), but I was left to suffer withdrawal symptoms and the remainder of my holiday was ruined. Hotel did not want to involve police, inspite of my insistence to do so. Perhaps more staff than just the maid were involved in the theft? Blankets and bed covers dirty, when I asked for replacement I was given even more dirty ones.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    133
    26
    7
    9
See reviews for
55
142
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zanzibar
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

When we arrived at Relais dei Papi and got shown to our room we were a little bit worried as on our corridor there was a lot of maintenance going on and you could see they tried renovating the 3rd floor too. However we didn't need to worry. We had an absolutely fantastic stay here. The location is great for people who are in Rome to see the Vatikan however not as central to the other sights in Rome as I have wished for. Daniel from reception was extremely helpful with all our million questions. The room was clean and spacious enough. We loved the breakfast even though a bit crammed when busy. We definitely can recommend the hotel for a Vatikan base Rome visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were a party of 7 staying three nights in 3 rooms during peak season in July and not one major complaint from anyone. The newly renovated rooms and breakfast room were just great. The theme maybe a little Asian but the feeling was that you were in a hotel in a cosmopolitan city. The staff couldn't have been any better. I've stayed in Rome several times before and I cannot remember staying in a quieter location. Good restaurants are just everywhere and reasonably priced. The A/C works great but the beds may be a bit hard for some but not for me. Daniel had a driver waiting at the airport for us and made a dinner reservation for our first night. Thank you Daniel. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel with no hesitations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A hotel in the middle of an apartment block is different from my general experience of hotels. The introduction to Hotel Relais dei Papi is intriguing as one travels to the fourth floor on a lift that is over 100 years old - and that worked quite efficiently while we stayed here. All the staff we met were all very helpful with good English and able to give excellent directions. Each of the rooms is decorated differently making this an interesting hotel to stay in. The hotel is over two floors and the lower floor is newer and much more modern in style and layout. It is within walking distance of all the main tourist sights in Rome, St. Peters, Fountain of Trevi, Spanish Steps, Navona Square, etc. The only slightly negative thing was breakfast, although plenty of food was available for a continental breakfast it lacked fibre, a better choice of cereal would have sorted that out!
All in all to be recommended if your stay in Rome is primarily for sight seeing purposes and a restaurant, bar and other entertainment on site is not a requirement.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, DE
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here in the beginning of July for two nights with my partner. The rooms were very, very clean, the beds were comfotable, and best of all, it was air conditioned!!!! The staff was friendly and spoke excellent English. The continental breakfast was delicious, and of course, they had espresso! It was a great location to walk every where...Vatican City, the Collosseum, the Trevi Fountain, etc. We did not take a cab once. It's conveniently located just two blocks off the metro...I can't remember the stop but it was comthing like Octaviano. There is also very quick and easy access to the river path if you like to run. Overall, it was the perfect place to stay and well worth the reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Cozy and comfortable. We were greeted by helpful, bi-lingual staff. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Yes, the shower was tight but we had been advised that is typical throughout Europe. We loved the central location and were able to walk everywhere we wished to go. Breakfast afforded an opportunity to interact with other guests and cheerfully start the day. Having been advised by our driver that the best gelato in Rome was a block down the street, we waited in their line to partake each day of our visit. Once home, we watched Anthony Bourdain's No Reservations make the same claim.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We were there 3 nights 6 adults, 3 rooms. Some of us styed in old stylished rooms and one couple in the modern stylished. Bathroom was better in the modern one, i.e bigger a lot! Welcome to the hotel was friendly and helpful, rooms ready soon in the late morning. Breakfast room interesting but still working and enough to eat for the beginning of the day.
People working at the hotel were fantastic, anything you needed they organized, any problems, they solved immediately.
Location is so good to Vatican area and others and it is quiet to sleep there in the nights, no noisy nightclubs or no big streets next to hotel.

Room Tip: In the older side of the hotel the bathrooms and shower are very tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Relais dei Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais dei Papi

Address: 161 Via dei Gracchi | 3rd and 4th Floor, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#168 Business Hotel in Rome
#281 Family Hotel in Rome
#296 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais dei Papi 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Relais dei Papi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Dei Papi Rome
Relais Dei Papi Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Relais dei Papi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.