We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tuscolana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tuscolana to your Saves list
Hotel Tuscolana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tuscolana, 185, 00182 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #174 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Shrewsbury
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Would highly recommend this hotel the room is reasonable size and very clean and towels are changed every day. The breakfast is excellent and the staff are more than helpful and friendly. The are itself leaves a bit to be desired as it is mainly residential and there is a lot of graffiti, although this seems the norm in Italy. There is not much in the way of restaurants around the immediate area except one recommended by staff called the Osteria Caveleria, which was excellent family run and very Italian we went twice during our 4 night stay. Also remember to get a local train from Fuminci airport that stops at Tuscolana station. The hotel is just across the road about 400 meters. This aves going to termini and then having to get back to hotel (some distance) and it is also cheaper ticket prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your compliments, which are always nice and thanks to have choose the Hotel Tuscolana for your holiday in Rome. All the staff always try to do the best to make you feel at home and we are open 24 h give you all the information that you need to live Rome in a good way. The materials in the room are all made in Italy. Especially the bed has the special feature that stores the shape of the body for a proper rest. The Hotel Tuscolana is situated close to the metro that connect the city center and all the main tourist attractions, such as the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona, Piazza del Popolo and the Vatican Museums.
The breakfast is complitely home made from our pastry chef and the coffies are served at the table upon the request.
Best Regards
Giuseppe Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    99
    17
    1
    6
See reviews for
36
101
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Good hotel with excellent breakfast.
The neighborhood it is in seemed a little rough and there was nothing there to speak of but we had no problems, and it did have good access to Tuscolana station, which goes straight to the airport, and to underground stations.
The bed was very soft and the pillows thin, but this is par for the course in Europe. The shower was a little odd- it had a hose attachment but water only came from the fixed mount up top. The staff changed the towels (which not all European hotels do), spoke English and were friendly and helpful.
There was a coin laundry (lavanderia in Italian) near the hotel, which was also helpful.
The best part about this hotel was the breakfast buffet, which was plentiful and delicious. This really fortified us for the heat of the day walking around the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear guest
We are happy about your choice in Rome. We always try to do our best to give to you an unforgettable stay in Rome. The staff is always at our disposal to give to you all you need to live Rome in a good way. The breakfast is home made from our pastry chef and you can find : Hot bread, Cereals, Fresh fruit, Homemade fruit salad, muffin, plum cakes, pies, biscuits, cookies, cheese cake, Croissant and mini Croissant, Eggs, Bacon and hot dogs, ham, parma ham, salami, roasted turkey, Cheese, Salt cakes, Homemade yogurts, Fresh juice and Excellent Italian coffee served at the table upon request. Also he location is perfect to visit the city. In fact nearby you can find the underground that connect the city center in less 10 minutes.
We hope that you can come back as soon as you can.
Best Regards
Giuseppe Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, Zuid-Holland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

What a treat! This hotel is located next to train station Tuscolana, which is great because there's a direct connexion from and to airport Fiumicino. Within 45 minutes you're there. We arrived way before check-in time and asked the huge favour to check us in already so we could explore the beautiful city of Rome. The lady at the desk smiled and checked if there was a room ready. We were in luck! We even got an upgrade, because there weren't standard rooms ready. The room was clean with a safe, airco, tv (which normally wouldn't have been on, but friday Spain-the Netherlands #wk14 was on and we had to see that) and small fridge. Enough storage space for two people.

Breakfast was fresh with fruit, croissants, yoghurt and even pastry. Great cappuccino's! The juices weren't fresh but that is usually the case in 3 star hotels.

Travelling from and to the centre was easy. We took the metro to the major sites. It didn't take us longer than 20min.

Overall, I definitely recommand this lovely hotel with the best service I ever had. The reason that I "only" gave 4 stars is because of the location, but we knew that when we booked and so we knew what we where getting into. But it's good to realize that you need to include travelling time into your itinerary.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest.
First of all thank you very much to have been our guest having choose the Hotel Tuscolana for you stay in Rome. The location is very good to visit the city, because nearby there is the train station and the underground that connect the city center in less than 10 minutes. In this area, that is not the city center of a big city like Rome, there are lots really good restaurant and shops. All the staff is always at your disposal to give to you all you need to live Rome in a good way, even if you need a bigger room, or reservations of restaurant, concert, cars and much more. The Hotel Tuscolana is recently renovated and into the rooms there are all important amenities: like A/C, safe box , free wi fi connection a courtesy line. The breakfast is always included and it is prepared with fresh and genuine product ever day from our pastry chef. The hot drinks such as cappuccino, espresso, te and caffe latte, are prepared upon request and are served at the table.. We always try to do our best . We hope that you can come back as soon as you can.
Best Regards
Giuseppe Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The hotel is very basic, not really nice looking, but is very clean and the personnel is very nice and helpful.

It is very easy to access from airport - straight train that leaves you next to the hotel. And the metro station is 5min walking from the hotel (on the red line from which you directly access most touristic sites).

The area is actually quite ugly looking, dirty and it doesn't seem totally safe (at night), but if you're not alone and you use the hotel only to sleep and shower, it should work just fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest.
First of all thank you very much to have been our guest having choose the Hotel Tuscolana for you stay in Rome. The Hotel Tuscolana is recently renovated and into the rooms there are all important amenities. The breakfast is always included and it is prepared with fresh and genuine product ever day from our pastry chef. The location is very good to visit the city, because nearby there is the train station and the underground that connect the city center in less than 10 minutes. In this area, that is not the city center of a big city like Rome, there are lots really good restaurant and shops. All the staff is always at your disposal to give to you all you need to live Rome in a god way. We always try to do our best . We hope that you can come back as soon as you can.
Best Regards
Giuseppe Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mevaseret Zion, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and had a great time. Rooms were clean and very quiet. Breakfast was very good and tasty. Very location is great with easy access to both the Metro for getting around and to a train station for arrivals from the airport. We're coming back for our next visit to Rome.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you very much to have been our nice guest. The location of the Hotel Tuscolana is good to visit the city because with the close underground you can go in the city center in less than 10 minutes. Nearby there lots of good roman restaurant and all the staff is always at your disposal to give to you all the information and reservation to live Rome is a good way. The breakfast is homemade and the hot drinks are served always at the table and we prepare everything with fresh and genuine product. For the next time don’t hesitate to contact us directly.
Best Regards
Giuseppe Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed for 6 days at this Hotel in May. The Hotel is very accessible for Rome city centre Metro stop only 5 mins from Hotel. The main reason for writing review is the outstanding customer service we received whilst staying in the Hotel. We would like to say a big thanks to the team at Hotel (especially the two ladies on reception) nothing seem too much trouble especially when we asked to change to another room. We always seemed to be asking for things whether a train time, a place to eat, borrow a charger for the phone and more...all I can say is the service exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: ground floor room next to reception very noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you very much to have been our nice guest. The location of the hotel Tuscolana is great because you can go to the city center with the near underground and also because is full of roman restaurant and nice shops . Thank you to understand that we work with passion and love every day and for us is a pleasure to help you to live Rome in a good way. Our Hotel is always open and it is part of our job suggest you. We hope that you can come back as soon as you can.
Best Regards
Giuseppe Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afula, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

we stayed in this hotel 4 nights in May. the main advantage of this hotel is the location, it's located 5 min walk from Punto Lungo Metro station which is 15 min from the city center, and 2 min walk from the train to the airport (cost 8 euro).
when we arrived there was some problem with our room, but the lady on the front desk was very nice, make as a great cappuccino and gave us some tips for the city.
the room was clean but small, but as budget hotel it was more then enough. the breakfast was ok - as i said before great cappuccino, with croissants and fruits salad.
one disadvantage was in our first night after getting stuck in a massive rain we arrived back at 01:00 AM to the room and wanted to shower but there wasn't hot water.
for conclusion we were enjoyed our stay in the hotel, the staff were nice and helpful, combined it with the location - we will defiently come back to this hotel in our next's visits

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear guest,
first of all thank you very much to have been our nice guest. The Hotel Tuscolana is always open 24 h and we always help you to live Rome in a good way for you need, thank you to understand it. The location is good because nearby there is the subway that connect the city center in few minutes, also the train station must be connect you with the airport in a few minutes. The breakfast is home made with genuine product every day and the hot drinks, such as cappuccino, espresso and something like that are served at the table upon request. We are really sorry about the inconvenient that you found during the night with the shower , we really apologies. However the morning after you had the hot water.
We hope that you can come back as soon as you can.
Best Regards
Giuseppe Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tuscolana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tuscolana

Address: Via Tuscolana, 185, 00182 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tuscolana 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and familiar 2 star hotel, near piazza san giovanni in laterano, is in a strategic location, near the tuscolana and casilina train stations and fiumicino and ciampino airports. The hotel is an excellent and economic solution for your stay in rome, thanks to comfortable and well accessorized rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tuscolana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tuscolana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.