We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay at Hotel Tuscolana in Rome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tuscolana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tuscolana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tuscolana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tuscolana, 185, 00182 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #133 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good stay at Hotel Tuscolana in Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I went to Rome for a quick 5 night trip, mainly just to see the city. We stayed at the Hotel Tuscolana, and were not disappointed. The hotel is well located near Ponte Lungo metro station which enables one to go anywhere in Rome very quickly, and near Tuscolana train station from which you can ride to/from FCO airport for 8 Euros. It is also possible to walk to the Colosseum in about 35 minutes, and the San Giovanni cathedral is along the way. There are several good Roman and Sardinian restaurants in the area, which we walked to for dinner each night. The hotel breakfast is certainly adequate and nicely presented, and the hotel staff do try their hardest to ensure you have everything you need. The room was very quiet and the bed very comfortable; it's the first time I have travelled to Europe from North America and did not experience jet lag! Only two complaints about our room: the in-room safe did not work, and the shower was not very good either (I did alert the front desk that they probably need to have it checked as the water did not come out properly). I would stay at Hotel Tuscolana again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Tuscolana for your holiday in Rome and for writing this nice review.
Our service informations and reception is available 24 hours and it is really a pleasure for us to help you to live Rome in the best way and make you feel at home.
Thanks for the compliments. I will pass your compliment to the staff. This meke us happy because the customer satisfaction is important to us.
The rooms have different sizes depending on the type. For the next time do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will advise you more details.
The breakfast is homemade by our pastry chef every day with fresh and genuine products.
Our location is good because from here you can arrive in city centre in less that 10 minutes.
We always try to do our best and i hope that you come back and see us again.
Best Regards
Giuseppe Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    87
    13
    1
    5
See reviews for
30
83
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is near subway underground, and also Tuscolana station railway by which is possible to reach Fiumicino airport. It is easy to get all famous places in Rome from the hotel, even on foot. The area around the hotel is quite. The staff was friendly. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfast, there was plenty of choice and something for all tastes. We would stay here again and recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Rome for whatever reason.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest
thanks for choosing us. The Hotel Tuscolana is situated in a convenient location less than 50 meters from the subway that connects the center of Rome in less than 10 minutes. I know the area where the hotel is located is quiet, with many shops and restaurants with delicious Roman Cuisine.
The rooms have been recently restructured and feature amenities that can be found in higher categories, while the breakfast is varied and all home made. I hope you come back to visit us again, and do not hesitate to call us directly.
Best Regards
Giuseppe Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hommersåk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A very great value of price for this hotel! It is like 2 starts hotel but I would say it looks like 3-4 stars hotel! First of all location - just 5 min. from Metro station and u can reach all famous places in Rome. All hotel and rooms are very new, clean and nice to stay. Hotel service, a big special thank to a man in reception, was very polite and helpful. I would stay in Tuscolona for future trips in Rome:)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing us and for having written these beautiful words.
The Tuscolana Hotel is a small property located in a nice neighborhood and how did you see the center of Rome is easily reached .
We care about our guests, so the hotel is equipped with every comfort and the breakfast is homemade with fresh and genuine products. Thanks for the compliments that I'll pass to my collegue.
I hope to come back and see us again.
Best Regards
Argentina Giuseppe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telsiai, Telsiu Apskritis, Lithuania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just returned from Rome, for 5 days stayed in the hotel. The service was wonderful, polite, helpful and friendly staff, very comfortable rooms and the best rest after a day out. Very comfortable location, not far from the main bus stops, metro line, possible to walk on foot even to the Colosseum or other places of interest.

Room Tip: Family suites are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks you very much for choosing the Hotel Tuscolana for your stay in Rome. We always try our best to give to you a good travel in our city. The Hotel Tuscolana is situated in a really good area, beacuse from here you can go everywhere in easy way. In fact the underground station is situated just a few meter from the hotel. Nearby is full of roman restaurant. The rooms are well rinnovated and they have alla kind of comfort.
We hope that you can come back to Rome and visit us again.
Best Regards
Argentina Giuseppe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Tuscolana Hotel is one of the best budget hotel in town. Strategically located near Ponte Lungo tube station, it is possible to reach easily all the major points of interest. The rooms are nice, very clean, and the bathroom pretty big. I stayed in a single room, but I had a king bed. The shower had also a kind of chrome therapy light and I spend 67 Euro/night in June (high season in Rome)

Morning breakfast was ok, but the waiter doesn't how to do a good cappuccino. In any case is plenty of good bar just across the street.

The personal was very kind.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind words,
This will encourage us to continue to do our best to satisfy the needs of our clients.
Best regards,
Giuseppe Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tuscolana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tuscolana

Address: Via Tuscolana, 185, 00182 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tuscolana 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and familiar 2 star hotel, near piazza san giovanni in laterano, is in a strategic location, near the tuscolana and casilina train stations and fiumicino and ciampino airports. The hotel is an excellent and economic solution for your stay in rome, thanks to comfortable and well accessorized rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tuscolana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tuscolana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.