We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good hotel with perfect location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giugiu

Hotel Giugiu
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Giugiu to your Saves list
Hotel Giugiu
8 Via del Viminale, 00184 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #598 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quite good hotel with perfect location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

After being in Europe 3rd week in a row I accepted that the hotel rooms and bathroom sizes are small comparing to North America which Im used to. But this hotel had quite a big room size. Bathroom was tiny but it's Europe, what i can say. The whole our stay was good, the location is so convenient for both sightseeing and catching the train at the Termini station. The only issue was that we had no idea how to control air conditioning with that remote control so I ended up with freezing during the night. But it was our fault. I was pushing all those buttons trying to make it warmer and suddenly TV was turning on (have no idea why).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
22
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Thanks, we had a pleasant stay at Giugiù Hotel. Very nice location - close to Via Cavor and Termini station, Basilica Santa Maria degli Angeli, WALKING DISTANCE FROM TREVI FONTAIN
HOTEL IS SMALL, BUT CLEAN

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This hotel was a nightmare and don't deserve even 3 stars from trip advisor. We chose this hotel from the good reviews and nice pictures. But during our stay, the light at lobby never on. The hotel was dark and cold especially inside our room. We never see the bright and nice lobby as in the pictures because of no light. It was rain and about 10 c outside, we asked the owner to turn on the heater because it was uncomfortable chilling in room that we had to put our sweater on. But they refused with the excuse of season and offered more blanket. How can we walk around with the blanket especially after the shower. There was no soft towel provided but something like table clothes..4 pieces..in the bathroom. The room is big though but considered too big if compare to an old 14" box TV hanging up on the ceiling. The hotel is on 2nd floor and we can clearly hear the noise from the street below. There was no breakfast provided at the rate we paid. Luckily that we can book a much nicer 4 stars hotel nearby - even closer to the main station - with full breakfast line at the same rate on the next day. We almost had to pay for one night without staying at this Hotel Giugiu as they had cancelled our booking when we just asked for cancellation policy. However, they were still kind enough to give us a room for a night that they already charged to my credit card after long negotiation. And they still said "it was not our mistake but we manage to book a room".. ..Thank you Sir!!! but we will never stay at your hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgiugiu, Direttore at Hotel Giugiu, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Dear Customer,

I want remind to you that you have booked a 1 star hotel through the portal venere.com .... unfortunately it was you who failed to interpret the evaluation of TRIPADVISOR and not our staff, on our official website has reported 1 star hotel and APT (Azienda Promozionale per il Turismo) is 1 star hotel. Also you have not respected the cancellation policy and for this the first night has been charged.
In April 2012 the climatic temperatures were around 22 ° ... unthinkable to turn the radiators.
The next time, you need to read more information on the web before you accuse a disservice.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We highly recommend this nice hotel. The room was perfect. The staff/owners are fantastic.
Stay here if it is available.

Örjan och Eva Sjölin
Hjo
Sweden

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Staff is friendly but the room facilities is poor. Cold with temperature less than 10 celcius at night!! Small shower place. The basic facilities sockets only have two [one is in the bathroom & one is sharing with the small (14') tv near the ceiling]..

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgiugiu, Manager at Hotel Giugiu, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Dear Customer,

we're really sorry you did not you felt comfortable in our hotel.
We want to remind you that in the month of April / May in Rome there were about 25 ° and then was unthinkable turn on the radiators (unnecessary power consumption and environmental pollution). Our receptionist has given you some blankets as soon as you've reported the problem.
We want to remind you that in your room there were fewer than 2 power sockets, if you wanted more services you could book a 5-stars hotel, we want to remind you that we are a 1 star hotel standard.

Sincerely,

FERRARO CATERINA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Thank you very much for the nice, comfortable stay in your hotel. The staff was reliable and friendly and available and willing to help at all times. They gave me very good information about the city and also had a helpfull tourist map that they gave to me.

The price level is very good, definitely competitive, with a good sized breakfast included.
Compared to the price level in Rome, I actually found it quite reasonable. The central location in Rome makes it a very good starting point to wherever you want to go. There is a supermarket only about 100 meters from the hotel. The hotel is also located away from any high-traffic streets, making it a relaxed, peaceful place to stay.

The hotel offered everything I needed for an enjoyable city trip to Rome and I would certainly recommend it to anyone else.

Best regards,

Stephen

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Giugiu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giugiu

Address: 8 Via del Viminale, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #598 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Giugiu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giugiu Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giugiu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.