We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel In Heart of Rome, Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pensione Barrett

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pensione Barrett
Save
You added Pensione Barrett to your Saves list
Via Di Torre Argentina, 47, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hotel In Heart of Rome, Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Charming Rooms with many amenities. Beautifully decorated with art work and statues in lobby and individual rooms. Staff was extremely helpful and responsive in recommending our itinerary while visiting all the sights in Rome. An exceptional facility at reasonable daily rates in the heart of Rome. We did walk to every site. All guests must be able to walk up 42 steps but staff handled all suitcases and bags. My wife and I would be disappointed if we could not get a future reservation at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    130
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
109
261
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I'm not sure what to add. All the reviews are correct. Rooms on the street side are noisy, but alive with the sounds of the city, and a view of the architectural dig. We loved our stay. As others have said, the owners advice really makes this pensione stand out from all the others. On their advice we went to places we would never have found. The location of the hotel allowed us to walk to almost all these locations.
On Michele's advice, we took the tram to Trastevere train station and the local train to the airport.
It was very easy, even with luggage. The local train is half the cost of the Leonardo Express and takes less time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our 4 night stay at this hotel was amazing. The owners are lovely people, always willing to show you the best things in the city or the best places to eat. The location is perfect - we walked everywhere. We will definitely return to this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Rome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We - my wife and I in our fifties, and my parents in their late seventies - stayed three nights in mid October. The owners are very friendly and considerate as well as being mines of information on everything to do with Rome. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to advise us on where to go and how to do things (they even lent us two guide books as we had fogotten our own). The only drawback is the stairs that you have to climb at the end of a long day of touring, but the rooms while fairly small (as are all the hotels in our price range in capital cities in Europe) are delightful, comfortable and fun. The foot and back massages are welcome and the shower, once you realise that it is a vertical jaccuzzi is terrific (if a little startling until you get the hang of it). We enjoyed making our own breakfast from the varied supply, and the coffee machine produced better coffee than the cafes on the street.
The hotel is three minutes walk from the Ghetto and the Kosher restaurants. Most of these are terrible and overpriced serving small portions of junk food or small portions of Italian kosher food. The exception is Yotvata - just outside the Ghetto but again very close to the hotel - we ate two very good meals there.
We walked to most of the sights as the hotel is so well situated, and if we needed a bus or tram they went from outside the door of the hotel. There is a very large book shop at the end of the street.
I have just read a very negative review of this hotel which surprises me. I want to stress - we are experienced travelers with a keen eye for appropriate and value for money accomodation. We had a great time at this hotel, we were greeted by friendly people who helped us in every way possible, and provided a clean and well maintained establishment. The rooms are very unusual - but that added to the charm. We will return and recommend the hotel to anyone who can climb the stairs (approx 30 in four sets - my parents managed and I am no superman.).

Room Tip: There are rooms on the first floor of the hotel - may parents stayed there - we climbed an extra fli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The reviews we read were totally justified. The location is ideal and you're well placed for several of the main locations.......Pantheon, Trevi etc. It's possible to eat really well around these attractions too....the tourist menus are excellent value . The hotel gives you some guidance on this as well. The hotel owners and staff are extremely courteous and helpful and Michele sat us down and pointed out some hidden treasures of this amazing city about which he's clearly well informed. The rooms are amazing.......so much effort has gone into their design and my daughter and partner both loved the back massage chair......a serious bit of kit! Breakfast making facilities are in place as well as a mini bar. How many hotels do you stay in where you can get a beer in your room for under a pound and a prosecco for just over? The reviews are correct. This place is superb. Book without hesitation. You'll love it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

If you want a central location in Rome, an extremely knowledgable host that is generous with information and assistance, a clean room and bath at the end of a long day touring, and a reasonable price then Pensione Barrett is perfect.

If you are juggling work demands requiring seamless Internet and cell phone coverage for working in your room this is not a good option. (unfortunately, I found myself in this frustrating situation - I know, stupid to take work on vacation but it was an emergency requiring privacy) Also, the lack of an elevator will limit guests to those who can climb stairs.

The hotel, including the rooms, are decorated in a heavy boroque, quirky style that is very charming.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were welcomed with a map and an introduction by our most gracious host he showed us where to go to check out art work and sculptures hidden by most of the tour guides. Fantastic information, we also managed to pick up tickets for the coliseum in the no wait line. When we went there was over 500 people in line, we zipped right by. The rooms are decorated in the roman fashion and overlook a dig in the centre of Rome dating to 700 BC . We watched from our window. Even though our room was on the main drag after closing the shutters and the windows it was dark and quiet. A great place to stay when you want to walk everywhere, nothing was father than15 minutes very central, good restaurants right near by. Room are little small but we were only there to sleep.

Room Tip: If you want more quiet you can ask for an inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pensione Barrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Barrett

Address: Via Di Torre Argentina, 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Rome
#17 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#216 Business Hotel in Rome
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Pensione Barrett Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensione Barrett, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.