We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome & nice stay !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pensione Barrett

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pensione Barrett
Save Saved
You added Pensione Barrett to your Saves list
Via Di Torre Argentina, 47, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm welcome & nice stay !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Next to tram 8 terminal (ideal from Trastevere station!) you are in Roma's heart. Few minutes walking to every interesting site is a key point of this friendly place !! The owner will guide you (on map..:-) in your monument's quest revealing the ignored details of those treasures. One week is not enough and we certainly will come back to enjoy this Rom'antic arte di vivere !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    128
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
105
257
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Just returned from a 5 night stay. Booked this on the personal recommendation of two friends and are so glad we did. Charming with friendly and helpful hosts, we got invaluable local information and booked our sightseeing tickets with Michele and Cinzia. The hotel is an experience, quirky but with excellent facilities. Breakfast/snack options were great and I enjoyed the back massager and foot massager after trekking through Rome's streets. Location simply could not be bettered. If you want a spacious bland (could be anywhere) place to stay this hotel is not for you. If you want a memorable experience then study the reviews on this site.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked street which we enjoyed but if you wish a quieter room ask for one overlooking i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I recently travelled to Rome with 5 family members and booked 3 rooms in this hotel. What an experience ! The location is second to none, right in the heart of the historic city.
I have been to Rome about forty times and stayed in a wide variety of hotels but this stay was special. This hotel is not for you if you want a huge spacious room, but if however you just want a great base,super location, superb service, cleanroom,excellent bathroom very clean and well equipped, then this is great value for money. There is also a foot spa,a foot massager and a back massager in each room a welcome treat after a long day walking in Rome. The staff are all excellent and very friendly we sat in the lobby each evening planning our next day and they were always very pleasant. The owners Michele and Cinzia have perfect English and offer every assistance to you during your stay, in fact they make you feel like a most welcome guest in their home. This for us made our stay very special I have stayed in many 5 star hotels in Rome and can honestly say this Hotel had more character then any of these. The rooms are small and full of stuff but somehow this did not take away from our enjoyment of this place. Michele is a font of knowledge on Rome and is delighted to share it with his guests, this is really charming. I will return again hopefully in the near future .

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our stay at Pensione Barrett was great. We really appreciated the location because it was so central to everything. It was really easy to get around by foot or by bus. All we had to do is look out our window to see some Roman ruins...take a short walk to the Palatine Hill and Coloseum and other sights...and take a short bus ride to the Vatican City.

Our room was comfortable, clean, and it's obvious the owner's Michele and Cinzia put a lot of thought into what guests would need... such as the foot and back massager. Definitely used them at the end of each day. The Roman streets are definitely hard on the feet, so it was nice to come back to our room and get my feet and back massaged.

Michele and Cinzia, the owners, were terrific. They were so nice and they as well as the rest of their staff were very helpful. Michele is an art lover and knows his Roman history, so it was really helpful and special when he sat down with us to give us some ideas of what to see (the not usual places for tourists) and places to eat. We followed as many of his recommendations as we could in the little time that we had (4 days) and we thoroughly enjoyed all of them. A couple of restaurants that he recommended, which was very close to our building were great. Loved the food and we ate our dinners there. Cinzia was wonderful in helping us make the necessary reservations and getting tickets that we needed.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent four nights here in a three bedded room. The location of the Pensione is perfect - right on Lago Argentina, it's a few minutes to Campo del Fiore for breakfast, a short walk to the Pantheon, just across the road from the Ghetto with its wonderful Roman-Jewish restaurants - ideal. Which is good, because to be honest we would not want to linger too long in the room. For two people it would be cozy, for three - ourselves and a 14 year daughter - it was cramped. The decoration - red walls with Faux-Classical decoration applied over the top - was fun, but all the nick-nacks advertised as extras - massage chair, coffee machine, trouser press - cluttered up an already limited space. We had a room facing the courtyard - still noisy from the trams out the front so we had to close the window at night, hence the need for air con. The owners could not be more friendly and helpful and their list of good, affordable restaurants in the City is worth following. For the Collisseum, book online (get the Underground tour) at the oficial site. For the Vatican Musems, the hotel offered us "skip the line" tickets but we joined the line and there wasn't a line! (this in October however). Much cheaper - or again book online. Overall - at £630 for four nights, a bit expensive for a small room, but Rome is expensive and the location is a huge plus. Oh - big tip: do not get a taxi from the main airport. Get a regular train from the airport that stops at Trastavere station (every 15 minutes, about a 25 minute ride, much cheaper than the Leonardo Express to Rome's main station). Right outside Trastavere Station, get a tram number 8 that final-stops on Lago Argentina, at the door (literally) of the Pensione. Under an hour door to door.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

First trip to Rome and the Pensione Barett for 4 days. This accomodation enhanced our true experience of the city. The accomodation itself was an experience of roman living with its ornate and classical bedroom to the lobby which extended this experience.Of real value was Michele's obvious knowledge and love of the city which allowed us to obtain the maximum from our stay. The accomodation is family run and the couple were helpful in every respect which reflected the best of roman hospitality. The accomodation is well located to explore the city on foot and there was a lovely balance of interest in your stay with allowing you privacy and space to do your own thing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just returned last night from a very pleasant 4 day stay in the Pensione Barrett, Rome. The hotel had two USPs that made our stay particularly enjoyable and relaxing.

The first was its great location in the city. Just a short stroll from both the Pantheon and the Victor Emmanuel Monument and within walking distance of virtually all the key attractions as well as having both a tram and bus stop right outside the door.

The second was the hospitality of the owners and their staff. They were only too glad to book tickets or advise on any restaurants, attractions or days out. In particular, Michelle the owner was an amazing ambassador for his city, sitting us down on our first night and informed us, with great passion, of the many interesting sites we must see.

In conclusion, I will definitely stay here on my next visit to Rome and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a well priced and warm, family run hotel in Europe's most beautiful city

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pensione Barrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Barrett

Address: Via Di Torre Argentina, 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#17 Family Hotel in Rome
#112 Business Hotel in Rome
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Pensione Barrett Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensione Barrett, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.