We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character, location, service - has it all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pensione Barrett

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pensione Barrett
Save
You added Pensione Barrett to your Saves list
Via Di Torre Argentina, 47, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Character, location, service - has it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Should we return to Rome we would look no further than this quaint and charming hotel. My goodness - the big hotels can keep their sterility and sameness. Finding Pensione Barrett was like finding a unique gem in a treasure chest! Michele and Cinzia and their staff were so very gentle and caring with unending patience in offering assistance with anything and everything from beginning to end. If you want 'minimalistic' then do not stay here. If you want character and interest and an experience - then look no further. The price was reasonable, the location perfect, cleanliness impeccable, service above and beyond. Thank you Michele and Cinzia - Pensione Barrett is impressed indelibly upon us. Sandy and Jim Downes

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    130
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
109
261
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

When in a super busy city like Rome and its hot and bustling and in your face, you need a place to retreat to at days end . Well that place is Pensione Barrett. It is a work of art this hotel, amazingly complemented by super clean well appointed comfortable rooms.The owners and staff are courteous efficient and super helpful. They are proud of their city and know it backwards.They worked so hard to accommodate our large our large and multi functioning family and friends who had arrived from every corner of this world to attend a wedding in Tuscany. The accommodation was 1st class. their attitude even better! The rooms were a picture and the hotel is in a brilliant location.Good restaurants are all around close by. This was a memorable stay for me and I will be returning. Thank you to Michele, family and staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Central location, close to transport and attractions.Beautiful Roman room design, though small. Very personalised and attentive service from owner, discounts on Rome Pass etc. In room snacks very reasonably priced. Back and foot massage very welcome after a long day in Rome. No free internet and steps (3 levels) only downside.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a small family run hotel with an ambiance that exudes Rome. The location is fantastic, within walking distance of the Colosseum, the Vatican and the old town and is just a few minutes walk from the Pantheon.
The proprietor, Michael, has an encyclopaedic knowledge of Rome and its treasures, and was very helpful in planning an itinerary for our visits. He even keeps a library of different guides in many languages that he lends guests during their stay.
The room was very comfortable. There is no breakfast room, rather, everything that you need is provided on an a-la-carte basis in the room, complete with a fridge, an espresso coffee machine and a mini oven. The en-suite bathroom was immaculately clean and well equipped.
The hotel is quiet, and a nice touch, the TV has personal headphones for each person so that the TV doesn't disturb other guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

my new wife & myself spent 3 days/nights in Rome on our honeymoon. We have to first of all thank Michele and Cinzia Sacco (the owners), they were unbelievably pleasant & helpful, and we can't thank them enough for their hospitality. The hotel itself couldn't be better located, we were within a 15 walk all of the major sites in Rome. Inside it's cluttered with art, books & sculptures which encapsulate what Rome is all about. It's small and very unique and the rooms likewise. The amenities in the rooms are excellent offering the best valued & varied minibar/fridge I've seen in a hotel, wonderful views over the ruins across the road, and best of all, after a long day walking around all the sights, a jacuzzi shower, foot spa, foot massager & back massager are all included in the rooms which was so needed to rejuvenate the body. If there was one negative, it was the sound of the regular trams in front of the hotel, but that is the only negative in an otherwise wonderful pensione, and the fact that Rome is a very busy & noisy place, then that has to be expected if you're staying in the city centre. Thank you very much Michele & Cinzia, if we ever return to Rome we will certainly stay here again, and we'll recommend it to anyone we know who visits Rome in the future...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

It's probably one of the best places to stay in Rome! The location is just perfect for every need. It is very central, and every great place in Rome is within walking distance:
Pantheon-7'/8'
Trevi fountain- 13'/16'
Vatican city (st Peter)- 23'/27'
Piazza navona-10'/12'
Campo erbe-8'/12'
For further places, the bus station is right by the hotel, not even 100 mts from the door!
The view from the window was amazing, I opened it and the spectacular scenery of the "area sacra" (the four oldest republican roman temples!!!) was in front of me!! Moreover, these temples belonged to pompeus, who governed with the célèbre Julius Cesar in their "triumvirate". The hotel is actually built on top of the place where Julius Cesar was historically killed: when you ask a guide where he was assassinated, they'll tell you "in the senate, in the forum". That's a lie!!!!! Julius Cesar was killed on the idea of march (15th). That day the senate was closed for reconstruction, thus the senators all went to the pompeus' Curia. The basement of the hotel still holds the place where Julius Cesar was killed!
I don't know your opinion, but that made my day!

As far as the hosts, they are such a sweet couple and they are si sweet! They gave me directions about what not to miss, where to go eat specialities, and they were so polite to help answer all my question! I'll definitely come back and I suggest everybody to to there! Only down part, the air conditioning costs 10 euros, but I slept perfectly even without it: just open your windows widely and the "ponentino"(a roman wind) will tranquilly pet you! Enjoy your staying!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esposende, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Very nice place to stay in Rome. Absolutely central Palazzo – walk everywhere - with genuine roman decoration and rooms. Very kind, friendly and helpful owners. Discrete available and efficient staff. A lodging to return to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pensione Barrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Barrett

Address: Via Di Torre Argentina, 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Rome
#17 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#216 Business Hotel in Rome
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Pensione Barrett Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensione Barrett, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.