We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent....Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suite in Rome - Residenza Cola di Rienzo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Suite in Rome - Residenza Cola di Rienzo to your Saves list
Suite in Rome - Residenza Cola di Rienzo
Via Cola di Rienzo, no 133, 00192 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,184 of 2,893 Rome B&B and Inns
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent....Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

I stayed in Rome at Residenza Cola di Rienzo in February 2011.
The neighborhood is just amazing. SItuated at a 6 minutes walk to the Vatican City, Residenza Cola di Rienzo is a couple of rooms in a very classy and elegant roman building. Even though it is situated on the street Cola di Rienzo, one of Rome's shopping areas, this residenza has sound proof windows so that sleep problems do NOT exist.
There are two metro stations (Lepanto and Ottaviano) both situated at (3 and 5) minute distance. The bus station is just across the street (bus number 81 which leads to other attractions such as the Colosseum).
The rooms are very clean and pleasant. The staff cleaned the room everyday, give us new towels, soap, bath gel and everything we needed. There is a fridge in the room full of food and drinks.
The staff is amazing! They helped us with everything we wanted, they gave us maps, advice and they smile all the time.
Breakfast is included and it's served in the room. It is just amazing (I've posted some pictures with the breakfast): Italian Coffee, Cappucino, Cafe Latte, Tea, Fruit Juice, Salami, Cheese, Croissants, Milk, Yoghurt, Cornflakes, Fruit Salad, Jem, Honey, Butter.
The Wi'fi was free and having high speed.
Amazing holiday at Residenza Cola di Rienzo.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    25
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
30
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed at this place having had it recommended to us, and it was also appealing for a short break to Rome as the rates were very cheap compared to a hotel.

We found it ideal for what we needed which was basically a base from which we could do the tourism thing in Rome. The location is very good, it is at most a 10 minute walk to the Vatican, and maybe a 30-40 minute walk from the furthest point of interest which was the Colosseum. That said, if you're not into walking the metro is a 5 minute walk away and it's very easy to navigate there.

As for the b&b itself the staff are very helpful and friendly, giving lots of advice on where to go and how to get there. They bring breakfast to the room (basic contiental effort) in the morning at the time you specify. I would recommend getting the airport transfer they offer to arrange for you, takes the worry and hassle out of finding the place and delivers you straight to the door.

Clearly given the rate this is not going to be the lap of luxury or anything, so don't be expecting too much, but I found the rooms reasonably clean, a decent size and functional. I wasn't bothered by the road noise and the air conditioning seemed pretty good (though it was only February). It's true some aspects of it are a little dated and the bed is quite hard.

Overall I was pleased we stayed here and would use it again. It's very good value for money, comfortable and a convenient place from which to explore the city.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELFAST
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

First and foremost I would like to say that the staff in the Residenza were excellent and couldn't do enough for us but overall, I'm sorry to say that, I was actually quite disappointed with the place. The location was excellent for the Vatican but we had to rely on the subway, which broke down one of the days, and the buses to get us to the rest of the tourist attractions. If you are going to use the public transport please, please ensure that you have a pre-paid ticket or you are going to end up with a 50 euro fine - you have been warned. As for the B&B itself, we had a room at the front of the building and the noise from the busy street was horrendous even in the middle of the night. As the air conditioning wasn't great we were forced to keep the window open and suffer the noise. If that wasn't keeping us awake the rock hard beds were instead. I don't mind a firm bed but it felt like I was sleeping on a brick for four nights. The room was clean, tidy and a good size but was a bit shabby and needed a touch of paint. Sorry Residenza but I won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

We stayed for 5 nights 6 days. Been to Rome many times, but this is the first time I had to pay to stay somewhere. Normally stay with girlfiend but this was a wonderful find.
Excellent service, rooms very clean, safe, perfect little breakfast. We arranged to have airport pick-up and drop off. Very much worth it so you don't have to drag your luggage around town. Located on one of the best streets in Rome. Only 5 rooms but very personalized service when you arrive, cozy rooms, clean, a/c, sat. t.v., mini-fridge, Italian style breakfast brought to your room in a.m. Room was little bit small but we managed perfectly. Great price, location, service, nothing fancy, but just right! Perfect stay!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

I have no complaints about this place. It delivered what was advertised.

ARRIVAL. We booked the airport car service that was offered by the hotel. It was 45 Euros which is roughly the same cost as a taxi ride. Since this was my first time to Rome, I wanted to avoid the airport arrival drama. Our flight arrived early, but we only waited 20 minutes or so for our ride. We enjoyed a drama-free Mercedes ride to our hotel. So far so good. When we arrived at the hotel (8am-ish), we were greeted by a very friendly and accomodating Romel. Since our room wasn't quite ready yet, we were allowed to leave our luggage and Romel pointed us in the direction of places to get breakfast.

ROOM. As advertised. It's not huge, but we didn't expect it to be. It was comfortable enough for two of us. It was very clean and we had our own (very clean) bathroom. There was a flat-screen TV mounted to the wall that had cable. Also as advertised, we had Wi-Fi access. The rooms are very quiet. We never heard noises from other rooms though I believe they were all occupied.

SERVICE. Excellent! The staff consists of Gabriel, Romel and Jun. They were all very helpful and friendly. Romel helped us check and get oriented by pointing out the must-sees on a map. Gabriel helped me book a time for the Borghese gallery. And every morning, either Jun or Romel brought our breakfast to us exactly at the time we requested.

BREAKFAST. More than satisfied. This is a small B&B with 5 rooms, so we were not expecting a full buffet spread a la the Four Seasons. Instead, during the prior day, they give you a slip of paper with options. You tick your choices for breakfast items along with your time. And they wheel it into your room right on time. Hot pots of coffee, salami and bread, etc. Great way to start the day.

LOCATION. Perfect! Outside the front door: 10 minute walk to the left for the Vatican and 10 minute walk to the right or straight-ahead for central Rome. Or, 3 minute walk behind the hotel for the Metro stop.

PRICE. We paid 488 Euros for 5 nights. No hidden charges! Our booking said 488 Euros and I paid exactly 488 Euros.

ADDITIONAL THINGS. They had a small fridge in the room with drinks. They do charge for these. But one thing I noticed is that the prices they charge is exactly the same as the prices in the convenience stores outside. In other words, they were not trying to make a few pennies off of the guests. This spoke volumes to the fact that they really take steps to make sure the guests are comfortable. These are the little things that make a great B&B hotel!

OVERALL. We were 100% satisfied with this choice. I HIGHLY recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

I have just stayed in the Suite in Rome along with my mother, who had never been to the city. The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was very handy - almost equidistant between the Vatican and the Piazza del Popolo. From the latter, it was walking distance to the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain; personally, I even found it a pleasant walk to the Pantheon and the heart of the city. A bus running along the street would also take you straight downtown. The Suite is on the third floor of a building with a thick wood door, and a safe in our room made us feel that our valuables were very secure when we went out. As for breakfast, yes, it was served in our room at the time of our choosing (between 7:30 and 9:30. a.m.) and was both generous and delicious. Jun, the man who brought it each day, was unfailingly polite, friendly, and eager to please. All told, we were very happy with this accommodation and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

What a nice place! It is very clean, very comfortable, and only 12 minutes walk to the Vatican and Sant Angelo! The staff of three guys - Gabriel, Jun, and one more - were VERY nice, very accomodating, very eager to help. We were provided with a map when we arrived and were shown the more popular sites and how to get there by bus and metro. Breakfast was very good and served in the room every morning exactly at the time you request.. We took the metro to Colesseum and walked to Roman Forum, Palatine Hill, Capitol, Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Spanish steps, and Piazza del Popolo all the way back to this B&B! We were very tired, but that's Rome - walking is the best way to see the sights! Lots and lots of upscale shopping on Via Cola de Rienzo as well as pizzerias and restaurants. This B&B had a private car service for 45 euros to and from FCO airport.. The car arrived 10 minutes early at the B&B both times we requested it, and we were very pleased with the service -- it was a good deal as it saved us time for our mornng flight departures.

  • Liked — very clean rooms, very nice staff
  • Disliked — small shower
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suite in Rome - Residenza Cola di Rienzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite in Rome - Residenza Cola di Rienzo

Address: Via Cola di Rienzo, no 133, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,184 of 2,893 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome in the Suite in Rome, residence in the heart of Rome historic centre inside a magnificent historic palace built in the 1800 a few steps from St. Peter Cathedral, the Vatican Museums, St. Angelo Castle, Rinascimento Square, Cola di Rienzo and Ottaviano streets. Our staff is professional yet friendly. The suite is equipped with private bath with shower, A/C, LCD TV, SKY SAT, internet wireless, and mini fridge. Breakfast is served from 7.00 to 10.00 am. Daily housekeeping provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Suite in Rome - Residenza Cola di Rienzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite In Rome - Residenza Cola Di Rienzo Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite in Rome - Residenza Cola di Rienzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.