We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the Vatican” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Candia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Candia to your Saves list
Residence Candia
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Via Candia 135 B, 00192 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Laval, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Close to the Vatican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel offers small but well equiped rooms.
Very close to the Vatican and metros.
The staff is friendly and speaks multiple languages.
I would recommend it to people who wish to cook meals during there trip to Rome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    116
    43
    10
    9
See reviews for
78
99
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Our family of 6 stayed here at the end of a two week tour of Europe. Its combination of location, private space and service were fantastic. I would definitely recommend to a friend.

One note on the Metro, it is much closer to the Cipro stop than Ottaviano -- our mistake to think otherwise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quispamsis, New Brunswick, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Residence Candia in the middle of July 2012 on a business/pleasure trip with ~20 other people. We were there with a wedding group as the professional photographers. Check in was quite quick and straight forward and the front desk agent was helpful and spoke english well enough to communicate with minimal confusion. We checked in at 9:00 am which luckily was no problem, they were able to get us all in right away.

When we were brought up to our room, along with almost everyone else who were all staying in building #4 which sits on the right side of beautiful courtyard, where breaskfast was served in the morning and many a night of laughs and great food were shared. The elevator was broken when we got there but was quickly fixed by maintenance and worked for the rest of our week long stay. We were a little shocked by how small our room was, but if you count the "loft" area above the bunk beds (which my husband and I got a laugh out of) there is quite a bit of square footage.

There was also a very small "kitchen" which you could touch the stove and fridge from while still sitting on the bed. We only used the fridge but there was everything you could have needed if you wanted to cook your own meals, which some of the people we were staying with did. They even flew in a chef from Toronto, Canada who used one of the very small kitchens to prepare an amazing Italian feast for their reception of their rooftop terrace(which was stunning by the way).

My only complaint about the room other than the size was that the shower didn't drain very well and it only took a minute or two before you were ankle deep in the water. Also if you weren't up early enough in the morning, housekeeping didn't come back to clean later on. Also, you only get your towels changed every few days instead of every day. Which didn't bother us at first because we always reuse our towels anyway. But once we missed the housekeeper for the 4th day we were hoping to get new towels but didn't.

The location is very close to the vatican. You are only a 5 minute walk to the vatican walls and about a 15-20 minute walk from St. Peter's Square. You are also only a 5 minutes walk from the Stazione Cipro for the Metro. There are great restaurants around the area and there is little to no street noise at night, which we experienced later in the week when staying closer to Piazzo Republicca.

If you are going into this hotel with North American standards of hotels you will be disappointed because of its age and size but as far as European/Italian hotels this place is a great deal at a great price in a great location.

Room Tip: Room 442 is VERY small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The room is huge and has a complete kitchen, if you like to buy stuff at the supermarket and prepare your own meals it is perfect. Location is also nice, 5 minutes walk from the Vatican museum. The atmosphere is almost like a hostel, lots of young people hanging out at the courtyard. Free parking inside the hotel.

Room Tip: I took the room for three people, although we were just a couple. This room was very nice and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Just came back from our Italian vacation. We stayed at Residence Candia for two nights and loved the location. After reading other reviews, I am sure you realized you will not be staying at a five star resort, but the rates are reasonable and the apartment was able to house four of us. I will also add that our unit had a great air conditioner along with a new washer. The staff was very helpful and was able to find us a unit when we arrived early in the morning(allowed us early check in) and very helpful in printing some documents for us. The apartment is small for US standards, but but was clean (in terms of size, I felt like I was living in an IKEA apartment). To comment more on location, the Vatican is a stone's throw away and the Residence Candia is in walking distance to the Metro and extremely close the Rome's best Gelato at the Millenium. Be prepared at check out to pay 2 euro's per person per day in CASH for city tax.. Also want to add that even though they let us reserve the apartment with an American Express card, they claimed that they only take Visa/Mastercard.. was disappointed with that piece of our transaction.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My family and I just returned from a 10 day stay at the Residence Candia. We were very happy overall with our stay. I needed two bedrooms for the five of us so our small apartment was ideal. The staff was very friendly and eager to help with our every need. If you are looking for luxury, this is not your place-but if you want a clean, comfortable apartment in a great location then the Candia is for you. The only negative is that the area was noisy (scooters, cars, sirens) at night so it was hard to leave the windows open. This is probably not unheard of, however, for being in a large city! Air conditioning would of been nice, our unit did not have one. We were comfortable but probably would not have been in the warmer summer months. Overall a wonderful taste of Rome!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Pros:
Facilities are good
Rooms are very spacious
kitchen was good
cons:
Apartment is old
floors are not mopped regularly

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Candia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Candia

Address: Via Candia 135 B, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Candia 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Candia is within the sound of the Vatican bells and just a five minute stroll from the Vatican Museum (and the Sistine Chapel). Located in a quintessentially Roman neighborhood complete with cinemas, restaurants, cafes, an open-air market, and shops of all sorts. There is convenient access to city buses and the subway just a few hundred meters from the Residence Candia. Residence Candia consists of apartments that have been recently renovated and provide all comforts for a pleasant stay for just a few days or a few weeks. For the same price of a Bed & Breakfast Residence Candia provides regular hotel-level services, such as daily cleaning and weekly changes of bed and bath linen. Apartments are available with one(studio), two three or four rooms with the larger apartments accommodating up to eight people with multiple bathrooms. The top floor also boasts a number of penthouse suites with a beautiful view of the dome of St. Peter's Cathedral. Each apartment has its own bathroom and is equipped with kitchenette, TV(SKY), and air conditioning. On-premise parking is available free of charge for hotel guests until spaces are full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Residence Candia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Candia Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Candia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.