We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far Far Away” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Mela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Mela to your Saves list
La Mela
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alessandro Stoppato 104, 00173 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #710 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
travelergirl08
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Far Far Away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

This hotel was very nice inside but was in a terrible part of town so far away the metro didnt even take you there! The cab drivers knew this so they hiked the price up for a 5 min cab ride to and from the metro stop. one on the metro it was a good 30min ride to the center of city.

The hotel itself was nice and did have a great breakfast, but unless you are willing to pay outrageously for transportation to the city I wouldnt stay here.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    17
    8
    9
See reviews for
14
24
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2007

Just returned from Rome with my family (30 Oct 07).
We stayed in Hotel La Mela. It is located around 10 min drive to the Metro station and 25 minutes to the city centre with Metro. The location of Hotel is really in the middle of nowhere. Not even good (or safe) to walk around the hotel.
Our room was at the top floor, good size and large balcony. But there was nothing to see in the surrounding area, except crowded motorways and industrial sites.
Hotel itself is OK, newly built, good furniture and clean, but the staff, Oh my God.
They make you forget who is paying whom. Except nice lady receptionists, and one of the helpers, the rest where really unhelpful, grumpy and bad tempered. In particular, the man receptionist was really terrible, he wouldn’t look at you when dealing with you and looked quiet irritated when you ask for the shuttle to metro. I really don’t understand why they put him in reception desk.
There were supposed to be pool and gym, but turned out to be shared with another building facility and receptionist didn’t know anything about it. So really there was nothing in the hotel.
The breakfast was OK, nothing flash though. There is a free and safe underground free car park.

I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to you based on two facts. Its location is terrible, and the staff are not that great.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — location - staff
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

we were so excited to be going to rome, having not been abroad for nearly 5 years since having our daughter, We picked hotel la mela having found it on a holiday website then looking through other websites, The pictures looked great, huge room, lovely reception and bar, and it had 4 stars, Compared to other hotels at the same price it looked fantastic and only 20 mins from the centre of rome! well..........20 mins my backside! Firstly u have to wait until the hotel shuttle (car) is available to take u to the tube station.....then once at the tube station add another 15-20 mins to find and queue behind a ticket machine that is working! All the while getting tutted and huffed and puffed at by locals in thier annoyance at your ability to use the ticket machine then its 20 mins on the tube into rome!

Anyway the hotel room itself is not bad........the room we got was about half the size as the picture the hotel uses as its advertisment But it was very clean and the breakfast was quite nice, coffee, selection of juices, cereals, croissants, rolls and preserves, Although we were gobsmacked to be charged 4 euros for a coke! airconditioning is absolutley not worthy of being called airconditioning! more of a fan that looks like air con
that circulates the hot air around the room! Also no hot water in the morning or the evening, we managed a hot shower the day we checked in at 2pm and that was it. The Location of the hotel is awful, it is just off a very busy main road, very noisy! The view from our window was on a dirty industruial estate with the road just behind it.

We didn't find the hotel staff helpful at all and felt we were bothering them when we asked for the shuttle car to the station, There was one receptionist that we only saw once that was very friendly, the others were NOT!
We were told if we wasn't back to the station by 9pm we couldn't get the shuttle car back to the hotel , we threw caution to the wind and decided to stay out late and then a taxi from the station cost us 15 euros for the 3 min trip!
Also the tube from rome into anangina stops running at 10pm which we wasn't told and we ended up getting a night bus back to anangina which took an hour and then we had to get taxi back to the hotel!
After speaking to other travellers on the way home that had actually stayed in the heart of rome we learnt that thier hotel staff had bent over backwards in trying to help them find thier way around and nothing was too much trouble. At the la mela there are no offers of excursions/ daytrips..........not even any leaftlets of things to do.

I feel disappointed at our choice of hotel and feel we should have realised that a 4* for the same price of a 3* in the centre of rome was for a reason. we don't even feel that the la mela was a 4*

If anyone reading this is thinking of booking this hotel...i would strongly advise u to take on board what we have written, if someone had been as honest as us i would definatley have thought twice!

On the plus side my partner proposed to me at the trevii fountain while we were then and i said YES...........so not all bad!!!!

P.S i will be adding photos very soon.

  • Liked — room was cleaned daily
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISRAEL
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2007

The hotel is magnificent !

I just returned from 8 day trip all over Italy!
My last 2 days were in ROME. I stayed at LA MELA HOTEL.
and now after 2 weeks I am comming again for 2 weeks at the same hotel! the rooms are big and clean, the stuff ar nice and helpfull. the location is very good. it is far from noise and 15 min by METRO ANAGNINA to anywhere . hotel buss nunber 500 5 stoops and you are at the metro. you take the metro to termini station and you are in the center of ROME. there is lovley breakfest far to be booring !

I will come again over and over again!

around the hotel there is big shopping center, and restorants

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mela

Address: Via Alessandro Stoppato 104, 00173 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#266 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mela Rome
La Mela Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.