We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Villa Laetitia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Laetitia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Laetitia to your Saves list
Villa Laetitia
Lungo Tevere delle Armi, 22/23, 00195 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Cookham Berks
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fabulous Villa Laetitia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

I stayed at Villa Laetitia with friends in May and it was superb. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the rooms were brilliant. It was great to have the fridge and the small kitchen facilities. We found a supermarket in the basement of Coin department store on Via Cola di Rienzo, 4 streets south of Lepanto metro station.There is also a fab cafe/ gelateria on Piazza Cola di Rienzo called Portofino where we had the best chocolate ice cream of the whole stay. They also do great Campari spritzers and have free bar snacks in the evening. 'Cafe Mary' on Via Guiseppe Avezzana round the corner from the hotel was great and very popular with the locals. This is a fantastic area of Rome, not at all touristy but very easy to get to the central area and close to the Lepanto metro station.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    28
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
55
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

Villa Laetitia is a beautiful hotel set back from a busy street. It is a bit tricky to find, but once my husband and I got all checked in, we were extremely pleased with our room. They were kind enough to upgrade us from a superior room to a senior suite (the Round room), and we could not have been happier with our suite. It was absolutely gorgeous - a home away from home. After settling into our room, we awoke the next morning to begin sightseeing. It's about a 10 to 15 minute walk to the nearest metro station. Once you get on the metro it's a fairly quick ride to anywhere you want to go. Now, at first glance, this may not seem like much of an inconvenience, and for some, it may not be. But we found that we were much less likely to take those much needed small breaks in the afternoon at the hotel because of its distance from most of the major sites. Instead, we found ourselves feeling that once we were out and about, we were out to stay, which meant that by the time we headed back to the hotel, we were exhausted, and what seemed like a short walk in the morning seemed very long after a long day of sightseeing. That being said, the neighborhood is adorable, and the accommodations are fantastic, so you have to choose for yourself as to how important it is to have easy access to the main attractions, but it's definitely something to take into consideration, and we found it to be the only drawback of the hotel. The staff is extremely helpful. Ava's dinner recommendations were perfect. We never would have found the places she suggested, but after eating there, we wouldn't have chosen to eat anywhere else. All in all, this was a fabulous experience. One final word, we came back to Villa Laetitia for one night before we flew back home, and we stayed in the Hoffman Room. Definitely pay the money and splurge for a suite. It is absolutely worth it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

We stayed in the Garden Suite for 4 nights in March for a long weekend in Rome and had an absolutely wonderful time. Plans to get out and about early in Rome fell by the wayside when faced with the option of lounging in the morning sunshine on our private terrace having breakfast (which frequently turned into lunch before we managed to get moving). The Villa Laetitia has inspired us to completely change our hotel selections for all future city breaks, having the private terrace and tiny kitchen made the holiday feel like a relaxing villa holiday as well as a glamorous city break.

The building and the grounds are beautiful and completely private. The hotel is wonderfully quiet given how close you are to the city centre and you are only a five minute walk from the nearest metro stop which is very cheap, frequent and efficient. The staff were wonderfully helpful, everything from advising on transport to getting reservations in local (fully booked) restaurants at short notice. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

The taxi dropped us off at the hotel at about 6 pm, and I immediately worried that I had screwed up in my choice. We couldn't see the hotel. We could see only a big gate that we couldn't see through. After a couple of minutes, we figured out to push a buzzer, and the gates swung inward. Still, I didn't feel much better because we then had to drag our luggage through a driveway filled with pebbles.

The payoff came a minute later when we came upon the hotel in the back. The friendly clerk at the counter directed us to our room. It was cozy but nicely designed. We learned that each of the rooms had been designed differently.

The Villa Laetitia did not look like your normal hotel. It is hidden behind an old-fashioned villa. But the uniqueness provides much of the charm.

We liked the location. The hotel is located on an street that winds alongside the Tiber River. You can't actually see the river because of shrubbery where the hotel is situated. But you can walk in either direction, get clear of the shrubbery and cross the river. The hotel is also near a neat cafe where we ate breakfast and a restaurant where we ate tasty pasta. The hotel was not close to any of the main tourist spots. But that was ok since it gave us the chance to explore on foot.

  • Liked — cozy, hidden hotel
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

We stayed at Villa Laetitia in late September 2008. We found it a little difficult to find at first as, because it is a private villa, there are no big signs out the front and is easy to miss. Once located, a little trouble getting buzzed in which was abit off putting seeing we had just arrived in Rome and were feeling displaced anyway. However, once these issues were sorted, we found the staff friendly and willing to please. We stayed in the Garden Room which was lovely, however, no real place to sit comfortably besides the bed. There was a wrought iron bench seat and a wrought iron chaise lounge, but without cushioning, not very comfortable. The Garden Room had direct access onto the shared garden terrace which was lovely. I found the kitchen very basic and lacking in a range of utensils...I wasn't expecting every type of gadget, but basic things...eg. tongs, veg peeler, were missing and lots of improvising had to be done...I think this could be improved on. It was a 10-15 minute walk to the nearest metro, Lepanto, which we enjoyed, and a supermarket between the metro and the Villa where you could buy pretty much anything you need. If you want to stay somewhere "in the action', this is not the place, however a good place to stay away from the hustle and bustle of the city where you can relax and unwind. We found the room very clean and it was serviced every day. Relatively good value for money and would consider staying here again.

  • Liked — relaxing place to come home to
  • Disliked — kitchen was very basic
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

My wife and I just completed a week in Rome at the Villa Laetitia, in the Prati area of Rome. The staff at the hotel, especially the cleaning staff, were terrific, and made up for the shortcomings of the hotel. The weather/ humidity in Rome was brutal, but the A/C at the hotel had been turned off a week earlier; you open the doos and windows for releif, and are invaded by mosquitos, and although the bed and sheets in the suite was comfortable, the mosquitos also found the room comfortable. Every available place to eat is at least 2-3 blocks away (if you don't get run over by the motorcycles), and the closest Metro stop is at least 5-6 blocks away. Most of the metro stops and trains have no air conditioning, so after a day in the swealtering humidity in Rome, you return to a hotel room/ suite that had no air movement for hours. The hotel staff was so attentive and courteous, and the cleaning personnel left the rooms spotless every day; these few people did all they could to make up for deficiencies that were out of their control. We may never return to Rome, and would certainly need to know in advance if the hotel A/C is operating, but the staff at the Villa Laetitia will make you feel good about staying there.

  • Liked — the hotel staff were very helpful
  • Disliked — the lack of air conditioning
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

The hotel is a beautifully renovated Villa in the suburbs (about 20 minutes walk from the top of Via del Corso, and about 30 minutes walk from Centro Storico) of Northern Rome; Anna Fendi has done a fabulous job of decorating each room individually and making it an absolute pleasure to call 'home' while you stay in this amazing city. The hotel is not traditional in the sense that it doesn't really provide any meals (it is possible to have breakfast provided, but at 20euros for tea and croissant, and 30euros for tea, croissant and ham/cheese/etc. it's better to do breakfast yourself), but the rooms are extremely comfortable and beautifully furnished. We stayed in the Garden Suite, which has it's own private balcony and kitchenette. The room has a mezzanine with a chaise longue, a compact but fully kitted out bathroom (jacuzzi bath, shower, bidet etc.) and comes with all the 'extras' you'd expect from a high end hotel (robes, slippers, nice toiletries etc.). The kitchenette has a kettle, fridge (with small freezer compartment), hob and all the utilities you'd need for preparing a decent breakfast, and there's a small supermarket just round the corner for the essentials (though the markets in Rome have some fabulous fresh fruit and veg). The staff at the hotel could not have been more helpful; they booked a private transfer from the station to the hotel on our arrival (they also arrange these from the airport) and for the return (bit more expensive than a taxi but nice to have someone waiting for you when you arrive on the overnight train from Paris!). They are knowledgeable, and will book anything you need locally, as well as advising on the best way to get around. We (my wife and I) loved this hotel, and think it's possibly one of the best city hotels we've stayed in - highly recommended if you want to be close to the city but like a bit of peace and quiet at night. We will be going back.

  • Liked — Location, comfort
  • Disliked — Can't fault it
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Laetitia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Laetitia

Address: Lungo Tevere delle Armi, 22/23, 00195 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Laetitia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Laetitia Hotel Rome
Laetitia Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Laetitia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.