We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Capannelle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Capannelle to your Saves list
Hotel Capannelle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Siderno 37, 00178 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #554 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just arrived home after a two night trip to Rome with my boyfriend, his sister and his mum. The hotel was very clean, spacious and the staff (although some didn't speak very good English) were very helpful and polite. The rooms were also very spacious, clean and had large comfy beds! The bathrooms were also very clean although in one off our rooms we woke up to ants in the bathroom on the first morning. We informed the maid who cleaned them up almost immediately and thankfully they didn't return. The wifi was working the two days/nights we were there. We didn't have breakfast included for our stay however we did eat in the hotel resturant on the first night and it was lovely! There was even something on the menu for my very fussy eater boyfriend :)
Location wise, the hotel is out of the city centre however the staff are extremely helpful and when we arrived they provided us with a map of the city so we knew where everything was and explained how to get into the centre. The hotel provide a free of charge mini bus to the nearest metro station every morning and evening at specific times however if you miss the timetabled mini bus they explain how to get there via public transport. I know no Italian and am awful with directions and even I found it easy to get into Rome. There is a public bus stop round the corner from the hotel which you catch the 664 bus from. You get that bus to the metro station (there are two near the hotel, Colli Albanian or Arco Di Travertino) then you hop on a metro - they make it very easy to understand which metro to get on at the station and then you head into the city :) we brought a 24hour unlimited travel pass at the station which inckuded the use of all buses and all metros for €7 each!
So so so glad we chose to stay at Hotel Capannelle in the end as I was so nervous about the travelling into the city on public transport but as I said it turned out to be so easy and think of all the money you save on accommodation prices AND with the hotel being away from the city it means you get a good peacefulnights sleep :)

Room Tip: The hotel rooms do provide a hairdryer however it's not the most powerful so if like me you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    541
    235
    82
    75
See reviews for
205
473
33
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for two nights at the end of our tour of Greece and Turkey. The room was pleasant and clean, but the WiFi was "down" most of the time we were there. Soap bars were very small and lasted only through two showers and there were no wash rags, which appears to be a trend in European hotels. The hotel seems to be in a residential area, far away from the city center. Although staff were helpful, only a few of them smiled. Breakfast buffet was O. K. and coffee was good. However, the evening meals were a disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Big large beds and a clean and big room. Good staff and delicious breakfast for few bucks.

The only thing that is not as good as the hotel is the local. It is far from the downtown and the touristic spots. If you want to stay here, be prepared to take buses and metros to get to your destination.

Besides that, I recommend them.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Hotel Campannelle during our family vacation to Europe in June 2013. We arrived late in the evening so we had missed the hotel shuttle from the airport (which in the days we were there we never saw at all). We arrived and had to wait a long time to check in. We get to the room and it was a comfortable king sized bed. The room was spacious as well.

Breakfast was included and they had a large variety of options. But the breakfast room was where the turnoff began. The carpeting in the breakfast room was filthy from high traffic throughout the years and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. I don't know if it was replaced but my husband and I commented daily on it during our stay there. The flushing of the toilets was tricky and required many times of us pushing a large button above the toilet. The lighting in the hallways was poor and dark at times. The wifi the whole time we were there was not working and the pool was out of commission as well.

We took the local bus and transportation throughout our stay there and adapted pretty quickly. It took a day or so to figure out the route since the hotel is not in the city center but in the suburbs but we did it with ease and soon became locals in a short period of time taking the buses and metro to and from all of Rome's major attractions. We ate the lasagna and spaghetti at the hotel one night and it was so delicious really authentic Italian food (at least to my American palate).

Would I stay here again probably not although it wasn't bad it wasn't completely as advertised either.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesford, Nova Scotia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

This was an older 4 star hotel that have been greatly updated, so of course a few quirks, but we loved our stay here. Everyone on staff was greatly pleasant and very helpful. Several times we took the local buses into town to shop and visit with no problems at all. We usually took a cab into old town Rome to spend the day site seeing and shopping. Do take a ride on the double decker tour bus, it's well worth the money and you see and hear so much more than on your own. We had breakfast included and I rate this as one of the best we had on our whole trip. We definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

We LOVED this hotel from the very beginning. Even though we didn't know very much Italian, there was always someone English speaking enough on duty to understand our requests. The hotel service was excellent, clean comfortable room and very classy touches , it really looked and felt like a 5 star hotel to us. We were traveling with our six year old son who was bouncing off the walls from exhaustion by the time we got there and they graciously sent us up a complimentary glass of warm milk to help him settle down. The food was amazing as well. There was a little playground around the corner that the locals welcomed us to for our son to play at on the days we wanted to take it easy, and a short walk to the 664 bus to take you to the closest Metro Station . It was very easy to get around Rome on the Metro subway from there. The staff was very kind to us with our son and his needs offering complimentary snacks . There is a little grocery store on the corner where we bought our milk to keep in the little fridge in our room. The housekeeping would open the doors to our private balcony to let in the fresh air during the day while we were out sightseeing . I believe most of the rooms have a balcony. It was a very quiet hotel on the outskirts of the city so we got to sleep very well with only a distant faint hum of the occasional train to lull us to sleep. The bathroom was beautiful with an oversized bathtub, a bidet, marble countertop, very elegant. We felt like this hotel is a very good value. we had a wonderful experience and we give it 5 stars !!

Room Tip: Tell them if you have kids. When we confirmed our reservation and told them there were three of us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

This hotel is not close to the Rome Center, but it is easy to reach it. The Hotel is new and there is parking (charged separate). There is a free van service that drops (and picks up) the guests in front of Colli Albani subway station. From there you can reach any touristic point by subway. The breakfast is amazing. There is a large variety of breads, croissants, cereal, juice, coffee, hot chocolate, etc. The rooms are large and very clean. If you want to visit Via Apia and the Christian Tombs (including San Sebastian tombs) the hotel is very close.

Room Tip: The hotel has free Wifi in the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Capannelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capannelle

Address: Via Siderno 37, 00178 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#229 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capannelle 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
250 guest rooms. Located just 9 km from downtown, 30 km from FIUMICINO airport and 4 km from CIAMPINO Airport, Shuttle bus service available. Complimentary off site car and pullman parking, on site parking for 280 cars available with a fee, 9 conference rooms with 2000 sqm of total meeting space, outdoor swimming pool and 500 sqm roof with a breathtaking city and Castelli Romani’s view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Capannelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Roma Capannelle Rome
Domina Roma Capannelle Hotel Conference

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Capannelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.