We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in February” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Capannelle

Save Saved
You added Hotel Capannelle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Capannelle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Siderno 37, 00178 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #473 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A week in February”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend last week for one week and have to say the stay was very pleasant. The hotel was good value and I'd happily stay again.

The hotel is out the way from the centre from Rome, but we knew this in advance. Wasn't really a problem most days as it's possible to get a 663/664 bus then jump on the metro at Colli Albani for example. The busses and metro both run until late at night but are usually on time. A lot of Italian restaurants don't open until 7pm (at least the ones the locals generally visit.) We tended to use the busses and metro quite a lot. Sometimes not returning until about 11pm.

Housekeeping was daily and excellent.

Our room was a double. The amenities were very good. Especially the double bed which was huge!

Breakfast was good and there were plenty of options. We went every day as this was included in the cost.

We stayed in room 144. In general it was very good but I got the impression it could do with some minor maintenance.

There is a paid for TV service which we tried to use, but this didn't work despite persisting for an hour or so. Staff were helpful, eventually giving us the option to change rooms, but this would have been more hassle than it was worth near the end of our stay.

Some parts of the bath weren't well sealed which might be a problem in future. Not a problem for us on our stay, though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    353
    647
    225
    89
    59
See reviews for
168
397
29
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Capannelle hotel for 4 nights. Our room was very clean and good sized. The Service was always friendly and helpful. At first we tought that the hotel is to far from the Center but we were wrong...with the hotel shuttle bus you will be at a center metro station! Very useful! Breakfast war good. Lot of cakes, sweets, fuits and drinks. They also served bacon, egg, bread,cheese, ham, kellogs and lot if other stuff. The free internet was a big plus! We would come back again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is very good in everything except the location. Staff are freindly , helpfull and very good English speakers...Room is wide by far than Europian rooms type , clean , good bath with bidet , active house keeping.....Breakfast was amazing , everything you may need...fresh and tasty with good variety....Area is so quite and safe , but not much shops arround only a good restaurant and a coffe shop 3 minutes walking....Location is far from city center and attractions but they have a time table chuttel bus to Metro and bus stations.....taxi to city center will cost you about Eu 30 or less to Termini square....All in the all this hotel is good value with regard to low rate of room....I would like to thank the manager and all staff member for their kindness and help....I would recommend this hotel for all travelerts who use the public transportation and do not mind to change from bus to metro or vise versa....for those who use only a taxi , i say stay away , you will pay a lot of money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have to say the room we stayed in was absolutely amazing- the size, the design, very clean etc- we had a very relaxing holiday! The breakfast also deserves mentioning- very fresh and tasty. Wifi is also free. However the location is less than ideal, and what we would suggest to all travellers if you choose to stay at Capannelle hotel and you want to use the shuffle as the transport check the timetable first- especially from and to the airport- there is literally few and the cost of the taxi is horrendous as they have fixed prices so no matter it is only 6km you will pay 30euros for the transfer. We would definitely recommend this hotel.
Tip: from Capannelle to the City Center you can catch buses: 663 and 664 and from Coli Albani you can either take the bus 85 or a metro which will take you to the main attractions

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is a little gem, it was really nice, very clean, not too far from the airport and a big plus is the free shuttle bus to and from the airport! We didn't know about this on way in and paid e30 for a taxi! Gave bus driver a big tip on way home, it's a great service, hotel very handy for buses and trains to city, really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Hi!

OK- here's the skinny on this hotel. Yes- it is true that it is hard to find, and yes it is true that it is far away from the city center. Having said that, this hotel was amazingly spotlessly clean and very nice. I am so sorry and I broke my own rule and didn’t take a single picture of this place but I was so excited about being in ROME I forgot. But all the pictures on the website other guests have posted are completely accurate.
Get a balcony room and you can pull your little chairs out there and drink some wine in the evenings. Trust me. For security reasons they have to send a bell hop to open it but it is really fast and no big deal.
Location wise- this place is SO HARD TO FIND. So- don’t be dumb like my husband and I were and read all these reviews about how hard this place is to find and then just go and think you are going to find it because you looked at Google Earth a million times. Trust me you will not find it like that. Print a map of just the surrounding area off of the main freeway so you can get there if you are driving or if you are taking a taxi. But really don’t take a taxi- they are notorious for driving you all over and charging you up to 75 Euro for a 30 Euro ride. So you can be a little more in control if you DO have to take a taxi if you have your little printed map. We had a car but, I digress.
So, yes there is a shuttle that runs and what you do is - wake up at the break of day and go down stairs to eat some great breakfast. And- yes they have a very nice breakfast selection; I will get to that in a moment. After your breakfast, run back up to your room brush your teeth in the cleanest restroom you will probably see all day and go back down stairs to catch the shuttle

Now- the shuttle. It won't be hard because there will be a ton of people down there to catch it too, just don't lolly gag around and miss it. Get on the shuttle and you are going to take it to the Subway station closest to the hotel which is a very short distance. And you will know you are there because all the young people will be getting off too. So basically in essence in this case it is good to just follow the big crowd. The subway you initially get on is not a crowded one because of it’s location but do not be fooled, they get much busier the closer you get to the city center.
You can buy a ticket for about 1.50 Euros and it will last all day I think or like 8 hours. Honestly- we couldn’t get the ticket thing to work at the first stop so we just walked on. You can get away with this only at this stop- other places you are going to have to pay.
You can ride the subway all the way to the Termini if you want and you will be right smack dab in the middle of everything. However if you have more time and have some good walking shoes, I would really recommend taking the metro to the “Re Di Roma” stop and getting out and just start wandering. Really we did it and it was so beautiful and amazing and you will not regret it! Hey you’re in Rome right? We walked the entire city and went from that stop all the way to the Coliseum, everything is so beautiful you won’t care.
So getting back to the hotel is tricky but it is kind of exciting really. You really have to have a good sense of adventure and just go with the flow and you will have so much more fun. But to get back to the hotel you have to take a bus. I know I know, but it’s fine. After your fun filled day (get a tour guide it is well worth the money and you get to skip the lines) and you have taken a thousand photos, you are going to take the subway on the A line to a place called Subaugusta- it is a major stop that hooks you right up to the busses. You go and wait on for the bus that is going to Anagnina- and when you get on the bus you tell the bus driver you are going to Hotel Cappanelle, and it’s free. Or at least we never paid- and they take you right to the hotel.
So breakfast and more on the hotel- I really had to tell you guys that info because it could really help you. The breakfast is good. There is a huge variety and the you can have better coffee from this little machine than ANY Starbucks on the planet. There is also hot teas, water in cold glass liter bottles, juice milk the whole works. There’s a lot of fruit and pastries, they eat kiwi like no ones business over there – so eat a kiwi. Really good stuff. I liked they yogurt. There is some meats and cheeses and they put something in their eggs that looks very cheesy but they are ok, just don’t get them first or they will be cold and unappealing.
What else, hmm- oh yes, google how to use a bidet unless you already know of course. The tubs there are very long and deep and every room has a tub. It’s the good kind of tub (not all plastic) so if you take hot bath you might cook yourself if you stay too long!
Oh man I could tell you guys so much- but this is good. Bottom line, print and take a little map of at least a turn by turn direction to the hotel, and I would recommend this place. It is clean, neat, there’s a bar, free parking, free wifi (we never had a problem with connectivity), the restaurant there is very good for dinner, the lobby is nice. You will like it!

Safe Travels!
Sarah P. Leslie

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Capannelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capannelle

Address: Via Siderno 37, 00178 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#165 Business Hotel in Rome
#194 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capannelle 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
250 guest rooms. Located just 9 km from downtown, 30 km from FIUMICINO airport and 4 km from CIAMPINO Airport, Shuttle bus service available. Complimentary off site car and pullman parking, on site parking for 280 cars available with a fee, 9 conference rooms with 2000 sqm of total meeting space, outdoor swimming pool and 500 sqm roof with a breathtaking city and Castelli Romani’s view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Capannelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Roma Capannelle Rome
Domina Roma Capannelle Hotel Conference

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Capannelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.