We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rosetta

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Rosetta
Save
You added Hotel Rosetta to your Saves list
Via Cavour, 295 scala B/1, Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Clean, comfortable room & very friendly, welcoming, helpful staff (family run and available 24 hours). Very close to ancient Roman sites, could even walk to the Colosseum at night for a moonlit view! Near restaurants, cafes, short walk to downtown. Quiet at night and felt very safe. Had everything we needed and at a very reasonable price. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    63
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
72
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Great value in a clean and comfortable room. Family owned and operated. Friendly staff, helpful. Near to Colliseum, Roman Forum, excellent restaurants and subway. Definitely recommend for families and couples alike.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

After a 15 night transatlantic cruise from the US, we needed a comfortable, reasonably priced, conveniently located place to spend three nights in Rome before flying home.

Hotel Rosetta WAS that place!

We ARE more than just a little biased after our visit to Rome last year, when we arrived at a DIFFERENT hotel, only to find THEY had sold our reserved room to someone else.

Francesca, the WONDERFUL owner of Hotel Rosetta, rescued us from disaster then, and once again this year, treated us like royalty.

Just like last year, the hotel, rooms, and bathrooms were SPOTLESSLY clean and well maintained. Francesca, and the rest of the incredibly friendly staff, were always available and very helpful. The ONLY area that prevents a 5 star rating is the beds, that are a little more firm than I would prefer.

The location is absolutely INCREDIBLE, only a two minute walk to the Roman Forum, which is visible from the front door, just a block from the hotel. The Colosseum is a 5 minute walk, and the most delicious gelato in the world is just across the street! DOZENS of wonderful restaurants are within a 5 minute walk.

I can highly recommend Hotel Rosetta, and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel was wonderful, especially for the price. The room was clean with a comfortable bed and pillows. The bathroom had good hot water. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We felt safe at the hotel. The hotel's location on Cavour was conveniently close to good bistros, gelato shops, the Colosseum, the Forum, and the Metro. We would stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Mississippi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

My husband and I discovered this Inn in a Rick Steves Rome book and I am so happy we did. The rooms were great with private bathrooms and location. We requested a quiet room away from the main street and we had a room with a window facing the courtyard. You are only one block away from the colosseum and ancient Rome. There is a great little Piazza around the corner with a fountain and wine shop in the square where you can share a bottle of wine and talk about your day. We did this every night! I would also like to recommend a great place to eat near the colosseum called Hostaria da Nerone a couple of blocks away form Rosetta Inn. We used maps and had to walk around a little to find it but it was my favorite. I ordered the Linguini with Clam Sauce every time. I would definitely recommend getting the Rick Steves Rome book because our trip would not have gone as smoothly with out it. If I went back to Rome there is no other place I would stay then The Rosetta Inn. Great price, great location and nice staff!

P.S. When you tour the colosseum please pay extra and get the guide who takes you underneath the colosseum into the passage ways... 12 Euro extra but priceless. Learn about the ROMA PASS and get it. Worth every penny to pass the lines. Also look into Borghese Gallery (Will need to make a reservation and take a cab ride but my husband and I walked back to Inn) to see amazing art. There is beautiful art and sculptors everywhere. Last thing.... Best church to visit is San Clemente to go underneath into the layers of Rome and Gesu Church. In the Gesu Church just look up at the ceiling at your breath will be taken away. There are also two beautiful Bernini sculptors.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room and if you tell them you leaned about the Inn from Rick Steves Rome (Which you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed at Hotel Rosetta last October for 4 nights during our first visit to Rome, Italy. Hotel Rosetta is conveniently located near Colosseum with easy access to other tourist attractions in the city as well. It is a small humble place run by a family, not fancy but, neatly maintained that is good enough for a tourists to have a comfortable stay. The best part of our stay other than convenient location was the dedication this family has to help out their guests. They really made us very welcome and comfortable and always forthcoming to help us out with museum reservations or any other information we needed about sight seeing or commute etc. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Highly recommend Rosetta for tourists.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

stayed 2 nights here and it was a great place to stay. Little ways from the train station (we walked) and i would not recommend that. The room was small but clean and the bathroom was nice. Beds were comfortable and the staff was great. The Location is walking distance from the Colloseum, restaurants and shopping. Had to take a taxi to the Vatican however. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rosetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosetta

Address: Via Cavour, 295 scala B/1, Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Hotel Style:
#219 Family Hotel in Rome
#332 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Rosetta Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rosetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.