We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Palazzo Taverna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Palazzo Taverna to your Saves list
Relais Palazzo Taverna
Via dei Gabrielli 92, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #299 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from a surprise romantic trip to Rome and stayed at this property. My wife and I have 6 year experience as holiday reps abroad, so know the industry well and were both blown away by our trip away.
Before we went I researched accomodation and like most I had a budget to work with. My biggest dilema was do I get somewhere further out with more to offer in terms of facilities, or somewhere more central. I cannot stress how happy I was I made the right decision to stay here. The location was perfect. We literally walked everywhere, with the exception of a taxi from the Termini station [be warned unlicenced taxi's tried to charge us 35 euros and I knew this hotel was only 4km away - so we binned him off and got a metered taxi and paid 10 euros]. Tucked away in the side streets of central Rome, surrounded by beautiful architechture, coffee shops and resturants, this quaint little hotel was ideal. Effectively it was like a managed building, rather than a hotel. The reception was open 6am-11pm and the staff were very polite and helpful when required, then its just up the stairs to the rooms. On arrival we were offered a choice of two rooms - both of which were tidy, large and were clean. Add in the tv, free safe, breakfast on a tray delivered to your room and free wifi, this offered us everything we wanted.. afterall it was only somewhere to sleep and base ourselves.
If you are not bothered about seeing anything of the city and want to lap up pure luxury of swimming pools, gym's, hotel bar etc, then this is not what you are looking for. If, like us, you want to see the Vatican [10 mins walk], Pantheon [5 mins], Colloseum [taxi 6 euros] and hundreds of awe inspiring landmarks around every corner, stay here its perfect.
Thank you to the team at the Relais Palazzo Taverna and to Rome in general - what a beautiful city and wonderful weather too.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    78
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
119
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

We stayed in the hotel in October 2014 and had a wonderful time. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Daniel was at the airport to pick us up, as he said he would be. The location couldn't have been better for getting into the spirit of Rome…narrow cobbled streets in the old central area near Piazza Navona, lots of restaurants and shops in the surrounding areas, as well as sites to see. Our room was large and immaculate. As with all travel, it is the people who make a visit. Daniel was an incredible conversationalist…witty, fun and interested in the world. Matteo was helpful in booking a concert for us. Peter was very knowledgeable of the lesser known churches to see in Rome. And then there was the dignified Adrian who delivered breakfast to our room at the appointed time every morning. Sweet memories of a lovely stay. Alyce and Patrick

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 201. Rooms 101 and 102 can accommodate a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

My husband and I recently had the opportunity for a short visit to Rome on very short notice. We found Relais Palazzo Taverna listed in a guide book for Italy and contacted them through their website one week before our arrival date. We had a response from Peter within 12 hours and by the end of that day had booked our room and they had arranged transportation for us from the airport. We had no trouble connecting with our transport at the airport and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Rome. Daniel, Peter and Matteo were all helpful whether it was calling for a taxi to meet up with our tour guide or providing information on the best way to get to the beach for a day. The room was clean and efficient. Located within easy walking distance to Piazza Navona; the Pantheon or Trevi Fountain, but far enough away to provide quiet for sleeping after a long day of touring. This was my first time travelling to Europe and they helped to make it a very pleasant experience. If the opportunity arises again, I would return here in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

This hotel was great. The location was perfect; you could walk everywhere within 15 minutes. The room was clean, and fresh. It was very quiet. You would never know that you were in the middle of a busy city.

My husband and I enjoyed many meals in the neighbourhood.

The only thing about this hotel was the fact that you had to go to the front desk to get Wi-fi.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Close to the Piazza Navona, on a quiet street, among lots of little antique shops. A tiny, modest boutique type hotel. Comfortable rooms, of a good size, with all amenities. Ours was immaculate but about ready for a paint job. We had good air conditioning which was essential as Rome was quite hot this September. WiFi, usually reliable, throughout. A generous cold breakfast (breads, yogurt, cereals, juices plus tea and/or coffee) is delivered to your room as there is no public space except for a minuscule reception area. The front desk staff is very pleasant and always helpful. Excellent location. Super quiet.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

I spent three days in this hotel and slept in three different rooms. The location is great and the staff very friendly, but it's quite expensive. There is no breakfast room, so they serve it in your room and there's not a lot of space, so from my point of view this was a bit disappointing. Also the last room I stayed in was separate from the main part of the hotel and had quite a mouldy smell, which was a bit unpleasant. However, it is quiet and very close to a lot of the main sights, with lots of small cafes and restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Don't accept the room that is not part of the main building. It has a slight smell of mould, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a few times, and have recommended it many of my friends who have also ended up staying here. The location and price CANNOT be beat -walking distance to Piazza Navona and Castel Sant' Angelo and several authentic eateries. The building is rustic from the outside, rooms are simple, modern and very clean - each one unique. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, willing to assist with baggage and transportation to the airport. When in Rome I wouldn't stay anywhere else besides Relais Palazzo Taverna!

Room Tip: ask for the room with the mini loft!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Palazzo Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Palazzo Taverna

Address: Via dei Gabrielli 92, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#232 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Relais Palazzo Taverna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Palazzo Taverna Rome
Relais Palazzo Taverna Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Palazzo Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.