We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique hotel, perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Palazzo Taverna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Palazzo Taverna to your Saves list
Relais Palazzo Taverna
Via dei Gabrielli 92, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #298 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming boutique hotel, perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We loved our stay at Relais Palazzo Taverna. The location could not be more perfect...it is situated in the most picturesque little Roman side street. It is about a 5 minute walk to Piazza Navona, and less than 15 minutes to the Colosseum, Campo de Fiori, the Vatican, and all the major sites. The hotel was very charming, extremely clean and quiet. The staff were courteous and accomodating, took time to point out directions on the map and give us restaurant recommendations. The rooms are cozy, for a hotel situated in the heart of Rome, more than enough room for 2 people. The bathrooms were very clean and functioned perfectly for us. They serve breakfast in the room at your requested time, and you can fill out your choices (croissants, pastries, cereal, yogurt, coffee, eggs, etc). The breakfast was warm and filling, a great way to start the day! We loved the charming feel of this hotel, and would come back again and again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    78
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
119
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights at this Relais hotel, principally due to a local recommendation. Getting around to see the sites from here is a doddle, situated on a long, narrow picturesque medieval street in 2 minutes you are on the river or 10 at the Vatican.
My room was clean, rather compact. Breakfast is served only in the room (no extra cost!). Bathroom rather basic but everything worked, enough hot water, clean and good pressure.

There are only a few minimal public facilities - small internet point, gallery library and loos. Thats it.

WiFi works but was slow - except at night, maybe when receptionist wasn't using it! I would recomend & stay here again

Room Tip: I suspect WiFi is stronger the closer you are to reception. Don't forget to put in your breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The location is perfect for walking to most of the main sights and very quiet. Good places to eat nearby - our favourite was the Tre Archi, with simple, proper Italian food at a reasonable price. We loved the decor, if not the plumbing. If we wanted perfect plumbing, we would go to a modern corporate hotel, but would miss out on all the other virtues of this lovely hotel. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and saved us a lot of trouble by ordering a fixed-price taxi to the airport for us. And it was quicker and no more expensive than going by taxi to the station and then express train. We now know what to do next time - when we will definitely stay again at the Relais Palazzo Taverna.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

First time in Rome a group of 6 friends stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in march and it was perfect. Location is great, it is in a walking distance from every where. Rooms are in very good condition and well equiped, you can't hear any noises from the streets and defenetly you pay value for money. All staff at the hotel were very nice and welcome. We will defenetly stay at this hotel again any time we go back to Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Awesome location in a nice little street that is a short walk to piazza Navona and all major sites, and rooms with newish modern furnishing in a renovated palazzo, although they should spring for a new toilet seat as it was broken and had weird stains on it. Also, a decent breakfast brought to your room. The let down was the moody service, we felt we were intruding whenever we needed to speak to the staff. First, we were checked in by a guy who seemed unsuited to hospitality, very rude he simply gave us the key and told us to check boxes on a form if we wanted breakfast. Next, we asked that a restaurant be booked and had to ask 3 times before it was finally done. This was probably due to poor communication between the 3 staff that were switching shifts throughout day. However when we checked on the whether the booking had been made, there was no apology for failing to make the call or even an offer to book another restaurant. Same when we booked the taxi to the train station, we needed to remind the staff a few times and there was never an apology.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a wonderful gem in a great location just a short walk to Palazzo Navona, the Pantheon, and the Vatican. It is off of a nice walking street with many stores and great restaurants. The room is large with a nice bathroom. The bed is very comfortable and the room is spotless and cleaned daily. The breakfast is served in your room and is plentiful with juice, cereal, eggs, coffee, and wonderful pastries. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There are buses just a short walk away. There are only 11 rooms which is nice. It was a very quiet place. There is no elevator but it is only 3 stories and the stairs were no problem. We loved our stay and would hightly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here October 20th - 28th 2012.
Very nice room, with two large windows (double glazed so quiet when closed) opening onto a side road in Rome, 2 minutes from Palazzo Navona, so easily walkable to the main sights.
The reception staff were very helpful, organising a Taxi from Ciampino Airport (55 Euro) and back (40 Euro) - the difference is because on arrival the taxis have to pay to park, white cabs don't but they refuse to use those as they are dishonest (thieving gits really), as we experienced.
Breakfast was simple the usual euro affair of toast, coissant, yogurt, orange juice, delivered to the room on a tray at the time requested, between 8 and 10. Actually better than a dining area, as it's a wake up call too, meaning you get out and about quickly.

We would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Palazzo Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Palazzo Taverna

Address: Via dei Gabrielli 92, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#232 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Relais Palazzo Taverna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Palazzo Taverna Rome
Relais Palazzo Taverna Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Palazzo Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.