We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Galatea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Galatea to your Saves list
Hotel Galatea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Genova 24, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #467 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice rooms and baths (newly refurbished), very friendly and helpful staff, very good location next to main (shopping) street, bus and subway, train station, meters away from national gallery etc. Excellent lunch restaurant in the same building and excellent pizzeria next door. Supermarket on main street. If anything, the - sweet only - breakfast could use some (salty) bread. An excellent hotel for an excellent price. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms to the inner courtyard are very quite but also very dark in winter, though cooler in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    180
    47
    15
    8
See reviews for
46
201
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel, close to all the main places in rome just walk.the stuff very kind help with every question, the breakfast is simple but nice, the hotel is clean and the room also, when we arrived to the hotel It was little difficult to understand which floor and which building to go ,and the elevator old but very nice experience, the thing that I didn't like we're that we got room with shower and not with bath as we saw in pictures, we ask to replace it and all the room were full so it was little disappointed but except this every thing was great we enjoy and definitely will come back

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Rome is like no other city. It has incredible architecture that just needs attention. Unfortunately for people who like their hotels affordable and modern - you're out of luck. Like most hotels Galatea is incased inside an old building that has been converted to a hotel.

Location: - 15/20 min walk to Spanish Steps and other big sites. Vatican is further and Colliseum isnt far at all. Not a bad location if you like to walk but if you want to be at the heart of the city this isnt for you. We often left in the morning and would only return in the evening. The list of restaurants around the hotel isnt great either though there is one 50 feet away which was superb.

The hotel is located on a side road and a little hard to find at first. Its through a communal door and then its the second door to the left. Then 3 floors up. If the lift isnt work and you have luggage? good luck.

Room: - Not impressed. It was very large def not tight but it lacked any character. Walls were bland, dirt marks in some places (typical of wear and tear), the bedroom was a double but it had 2 singles pulled together. Think thats normal in some places so just to be aware.
The TV on the wall was 17". The bed is quite far back so its almost funny how they chose such small screens. But at least its a tv right? I'm being too harsh. The room had little light as they windows had shutters installed. Lights on the whole were limited and it often felt darker than it should be.
The bathroom had 2 light spot lights. The shower had none so you really were showering in a shaded part of the room. The toilet seat was wobbly so it shifted each time you sat. The sink would fill up if you had the water running on high. But the bathroom was spotless. So that was good.

The room had no mini bar but there was a vending machine by the reception desk. The internet didnt come far into our room so we had to go sit near reception to pick up any signal.

Breakfast is included so thats a cost saving. Choices were limited to croissants and bread. I didnt mind this.

The staff were very helpful and im sure they did the best job they could. With the great price you have to sacrifice a few things so if you could live with the above i would recommend this. Would i stay again? Probably yes.

Room Tip: Nearest to the reception for the strongest internet signal!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel location itself is off of a major avenue so its convenient in terms of walking to and from. It doesn't have the quaintness of the Roman neighborhoods at all. The hotel is on the 3rd floor of a buildings in courtyard - a little hard to find.

Unfortunately the lift was broken from the ground floor so had to deal with carrying the luggage up by hand. The lift did work from the 1st floor but wasn't always reliable. If you are with a lot of luggage, I'd consider this point as it looked like the lift had been under construction for a while but I could be wrong?

The rooms itself were very basic but spacious and clean. Unfortunately very dimly lit which was a bit of a pain. The bathroom was clean and new.

Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was basic but good.
Overall, decent for the price we paid.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Springs, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Galatea offers a comfortable room, simple but good breakfast, helpful staff, and best of all, a location that puts many of the major sights of Rome within easy walking distance. And all this at an affordable price! The elevator is currently under repair, but can be used from the second floor. For refreshments, a bakery is next door, and in the other direction next door, a pleasant restaurant with sidewalk tables.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Staff were fantastic at this hotel and very helpful for information and maps etc. the rooms were comfortable with good cleanliness standards. It is locates near the main train station and metro lines so you can get to the Vatican City easier. All other places of interest are within walking distance from the hotel as it is so central. It's also by a street with lots of shops, restaurants and also opposite a newsagent which was handy. The breakfast was standard continental and the eating area was very small which is probably its only downfall. Other than that you get a good accommodation for the price!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edegem, Belgium
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We knew that we were not going to stay in a 5 star hotel, we didn't pay for that. I was in Rome for 4 days with my 12 year old son. We mainly came to this city to explore the ancient Roman culture. For that purpose, the location was perfect.
Breakfast was simple and without variation, but good enough for a few days. We got a twin room, it was clean and quiet. I had read before that some tourists complained about the beds, but I slept like an angel. Bathroom was spacious.
The only thing that I missed was WiFi.
Mu advise : great hotel if you want to spent a short vacation in Rome and you don't want to spend too much money. Very friendly staff, always helpfull.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Galatea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galatea

Address: Via Genova 24, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #467 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galatea 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Galatea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galatea Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Galatea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.