We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room with excellent price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Versailles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Versailles to your Saves list
Hotel Versailles
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso d'Italia 92, 00198 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #349 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice room with excellent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The hotel is around 10-15 minutes walk from the Termini station. Good if you are travelling in the summer morning as the weather is cool and the walking was not that difficult even with huge luggages. Watch out if you arrive in the afternoon like I did, as the 15 minutes walk seemed forever!

The hotel is located in a building with lift but you have to walk a few steps (like 10) to reach the lift. The owner is nice and very helpful in giving instructions around the city. There is a super cheap supermarket and local bakery and eateries nearby. It's also close to pizza and ice-cream places rated top at tripadvisor!

However if you are a metro person, don't stay at this hotel as it's far away from the metro. There is a bus stop around the corner of the block tho which takes you to most places within half an hour. Walking to the spanish steps takes 20-25 minutes (slightly uphill and downhill).

The room itself has an en-suite bathroom with shower and a fridge (a huge plus especially it's so hot and dry in the summer). The bed is ok and the blanket is a bit on the thin side. That matches with the air-con which isn't very strong, but it's ok as the summer is chilly at night and you can still sleep well without the air-con.

Overall an excellent value hotel. Totally satisfied with the EUR58 per night I paid. Would definitely stay at this hotel again when I come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Owner at Hotel Versailles, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hello,
Hotel Versailles staff thanks you very much for your nice review and we all are happy to know you had a beautiful time in Rome and at the Versailles.
Just one thing in case you'll be back, the metro station Castro Pretorio is only 400 metres from the hotel but we usually suggest to go around taking one of the 20 bus line few steps from us because taking the metro means not being able to see around you. Rome is a historical city and in every corner there could be something to be seen and busses helps to see what under the ground you coulden't!!
We hope to see you again in Rome and wish you a Great 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    43
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
53
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

This was not a hotel with the typical meaning of the word. It consisists of two floors in an old building. Rooms were modern decorated and the staff was friendly, especialy their map of Rome was very useful. Across the hotel there were a number of bus stops with good city center connections. A good stay in Rome.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Owner at Hotel Versailles, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hello Ant7676,
Thank you so much for your kind feedback.
Hotel Versailles is one of that 75% hotels in Rome that are part of building.
Hotel Versailles is a small family run structure in the city center, part of a historical building coming from XVIII century.
We all wish you a Great 2014 and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaca, Larnaca, Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Well, where can I start, what a lovely long weekend we had in Rome to celebrate our wedding anniversary belatedly. Right from the start everything went smoothly. I prebooked onto the SITBUS shuttle online, this was a 16 euro return altogether for the two of us. These buses stop right outside arrivals at the middle Bus Stop of 3, which helps if you arrive at night in rain, also it would seem that the Ciampino Airport promote these Shuttle Services, rather than herd tourists off into extortionate taxis when they arrive. The Taxi Park is placed well enough away from the terminal should someone want to use one though. The staff who represent the bus companies are also helpful as well in getting you on the right bus and their English is good. I would highly recommend SITBUS as their buses appear to be less crowded and the queues are minimal at the Bus Stop as opposed to the Terravision Shuttle Service at the stop next door. Both Bus Companies charge the same though, 4 euro per person one way to Rome's Central Bus and Train Termini Station. Once at the Station you can either walk, if you're brave, to Hotel Versailles, around 15 minutes, or catch a Taxi at between 10 and 12 Euro's.

As other reviews have said on here, the hotel can be a little difficult to find, blink and you miss it, but once in the door downstairs you walk towards the left and then up a couple of steps to the first floor where you will be greeted by a very obliging and helpful Signor Roberto on Reception. He will get you checked in and ensure you are fully versed on the different bus and train services to use in Rome for various attractions, where to eat nearby, and ensure that you take a free street map of Rome to guide you, this became our bible for the 2 and a half days we were there. The Hotel itself is very modern, clean and tidy, and all you need to spend a relaxing weekend or few days in Rome. Roberto is very good with his English, I wish my Italian was as good as his English, and the Cleaning staff try their hardest to help where possible, with the little English that they speak. The Room also was quite pleasant and comfortable, towels changed daily, bed made, and room given a light clean around everyday. Breakfast is not served at the Hotel, but there is a Bakery next door where they serve Hot Paninis with various fillings at a reasonable price, the girls who work there don't speak English, but they try their hardest to serve you and get you what you want. The surrounding area of the hotel appeared to be quite an exclusive neighbourhood of Rome on the outskirts of the city, away from the tourists, but close enough to access the heart of Rome with a bus ride of around 15 minutes. If you don't fancy venturing into the heart of the city and have a bit of buck to spend there is the famous Rinascente Italian Department Store a few doors up from the Hotel, and an array of Restaurants and Cafe Eateries catering for locals around the Hotel. One Restaurant and quite trendy place we ate at twice during our stay was Mokarabia, a couple of doors up from the hotel. This place unfortunately doesn't have very good write up's on here, but we thought it was a good place to eat serving Roman Cuisine and fairly reasonably priced and the staff try hard to make you at home and explain to you the dishes that they do, maybe it changed hands recently? I had the Saltinbocca (Veal with Sage and Proscuitto) twice, I recommend this dish, I also tried a bit of my wife's Roman Burger Meal, this was good value for money for what you got as well. They also have a highly recommended Gelateria next door on here, belonging to them, L'Caruso, the Ice Cream there is homemade and very nice also.

For High Street Shopping in Rome it seems to be concentrated along the Via Del Corso a long road running off of the Coliseum area. Behind Via Del Corso you have the Trevi Fountain and going further up the road away from the Coliseum the Spanish Steps, where there is a Metro Station. I was quite surprised for a capital city how Shopping is not Rome's strongpoint compared to other cities in Italy such as Bologna, where there appears to be no end of High Street Shops.

Overall a good break in Rome, highly recommended, you'll want to go again, which is not often something that can be said of a visit to Italy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Proprietario at Hotel Versailles, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Hello,
Thank you very much for your kind review, we all are happy to know that you had a plesant stay in the "Ethernal City" and at the Hotel Versailles.
We do hope to see you again soon.
We wish you a very Happy Christmas and New Year!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed for 7 nights. We really loved the hotel, I can find no fault for us personally. The hotel staff and management were very friendly and helpful, they were full of recommendations for places to eat, and gave us a map and showed us where we were etc... The room itself was comfortable, clean, and quite spacious and had everything we needed. The wi-fi was quick, and free as well. The location suited us well; although it feels a but further out from all the main touristy areas, we really enjoyed this as most of the restaurants in the area felt quite local. The prices for meals in this area was very good. The hotel is a couple of doors down from a VERY VERY good Gelato place called L'Caruso. We went here for a treat several times during the week and it was the best artisanal ice cream we had in Rome.

The hotel is admittedly on a busy, loud, road, but for us personally, this was not a problem and the double glazing kept most of the sound out anyway. The noise was a very small price to pay for such a great value place to stay!

We felt very bad as we accidentally , somehow managed to break the toilet-roll holder in the bathroom. We tried to explain to the maids, but our Italian and their English was minimal so they didn't understand. When we told the hotel management they were fine didn't ask for any payment or seem annoyed.

Overall our stay was great, we felt very well looked after, safe and comfortable. Would reccommend to anyone who is looking for a great value for money hotel!

THANKYOU VERSAILLES!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Proprietario at Hotel Versailles, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello,
thank you so much for your kind feedback, we are always happy to know our customers had a good stay in Rome and at the Versailles.
A small unintentional damage can happen, don't worry about it, we have already repaired it!
We wish you all the best for your life and hope to see you once again i Rome!....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just had a citybreak in Rome, staying in Versailles! The place is worth every penny, can only recommend it to anybody looking for a nice place for a reasonable price! Fantastic Roberto owning the place certainly knows how to look after anybody along with his always friendly and helpful team. First could seem a bit difficult to find but as soon as you are there you realize what a great location it is! Bus services literally a few steps away from the hotel to main attractions, main railway station. Restaurants, bars are plenty in the area. Rome is incredible, Versailles is perfect to stay at! Wish I could go back tomorrow! Can`t thank enough!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Proprietario at Hotel Versailles, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!
We all are so glad when we receive a good review like yours, we all do our best to ensure that guests' stay is comfortable and reviews like this help us to do always better!
Of course Hotel Versailles staff will be very very happy to see you again in the Ethernal City!
Please accept our best and kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. The hotel uses rooms on the 1st and 5th floors of the building. The desk on the 1st floor is staffed most of the time, but not 24/7. Using Google maps on my smart phone, we had no problems walking to and finding the hotel from the Castro Pretorio Metro stop (B line). The walk was ~700 meters/10-15 min. At check-in, we think the staff was cleaning rooms when we arrived, so it took a little time to gain entry to the building. Another tenant or guest let us in as they exited. The room was clean and good sized for a European hotel - it fit my wife and I comfortably. The bathroom had a small shower stall, good size sink/counter and std toilet + a bidet. The complimentary Wi-fi worked great. The closet was a stand-up cabinet. Although our Italian is minimal, we had little difficulty communicating with the staff in English. The hotel is located just outside the old (Aurelian) wall across the street from the Porta Pia. Many embassy's are nearby including the British (across the street), Villa Bonaparte (a branch of the French embassy - several blocks) and the US (1 Km). The Villa Borghese was an easy 10-15 min walk. Walking to Republica, Spanish steps & Trevi fountain is a bit further, but easy as well. A short bus ride took us to Piazza Navona. There were many busy restaurants & cafes in the area filled with Romans - not too many tourists. We really liked the cafe/piadini shop next door (open for breakfast/lunch only). We would definitely stay again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Proprietario at Hotel Versailles, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello,
We all thank you for the good review, we just like to explain that metro in Rome is not very confortable as well as there are only two metro lines. They try to make new lines but, unfortunately, every time they dig the ground they find roman ruins and have to stop! The best way to go around the city center is by bus. Within 100 metres we have 5 bus stops with more than 20 bus lines, coming from main railway station Termini is very easy by bus, not more than 5/7 minutes and bus stop at 50 metres from the Versailles...
Thank you again and we hope to see you again in Rome!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here three nights and it was great. Being only a 15 minute walk from the main train station it was easy to find, keep in mind they have a very small sign which is near the door. The room was very clean, spacious and tiny. The bathroom was nice and clean and spacious. The bed was really comfortable and they also allow pets which was perfect for us. The staff were very friendly, helpful and approachable. There are great cafes and restaurants near by and all of them didn't let us down they were great. The location from the city centre is around a 20 minute walk but a great way to see more of Rome and there is also a beautiful big garden near by. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Versailles, Proprietario at Hotel Versailles, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review!
Hotel Vesailles staff will always do its best to make customers stay pleasant and unforgettable.
Ciao.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Versailles

Address: Corso d'Italia 92, 00198 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Versailles 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Versailles is a small, elegant, beautiful and very confortable hotel in Rome center. All rooms are air conditioning provided, they all have TV, free internet wi-fi connection, safe, airdryer, electronic locks. Hotel Versailles is close to Termini railway station, to Galleria Borghese Museum, to the Spanish Step and perfectly connected to all the rest (Colosseum, St. Peter's Basilica ....). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Versailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Versailles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.