We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giulia, 62, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #160 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Charlottetown, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel, quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here for the first 3 days of our honeymoon. Hotel was clean, staff were friendly, helpful and informative. Breakfast was included and was spectacular. A lot to choose from. Our room was clean, bed was a little hard and floors were scratched up a bit. Location was prime. Via Guilia is one of the most beautiful streets in Rome. A 10 minute walk to the Vatican. Spa was nice, small pool, turkish bath, and sauna. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Jennie_533
On behalf of the St. George Roma, congratulations for your honeymoon!
I would like to thank you for taking the time to highlight your experience during your stay with us, and happy to know that your impression about the location and the cleanliness of our hotel were good.
Regarding our beds we are putting more sponge in our mattress toppers in order to be less harder, thank you for let us know regarding the scratch on the hard floor the housekeeper has already solved the problem
In addition I am also very pleased to learn that our staff was very attentive, friendly and helpful. I will surely share your comments with them. Thank you also for mentioning our Spa and I’m happy you enjoyed it.
No need to say how much we would love to see you returning to stay with us again very soon.
With warmest regards. Paolo Falchi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    161
    52
    28
    14
See reviews for
76
330
27
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week for the second half of our honeymoon. Most staff are really friendly. Breakfast is great, food in the rooftop restaurant is overpriced and not that great. Bar is nice for a pre evening drink. We were given a free upgrade which was lovely, but the room was still very small and in need of a refresh. All in all a great week in a clean lovely hotel with a brilliant location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Klouise13
Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your stay at the St. George Rome.
Although we have noted that in general you enjoyed your stay with us, the friendly staff the breakfast ecc.as I am sure you have noticed the St. George Hotel is housed by a 15th century building which gives the hotel great character and charm, but at the same time we are unable to modify the shape and size of any rooms and this is the reason why some of them may not provide generous space.
Regarding our roof top restaurant the rates are in the average of hotels having same categories, but your comment is very useful to us and we will do our best to comply with all our guest needs.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you again soon!
With warmest regards,
Paolo Falchi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were going to Rome with friends for our silver wedding anniversary and wanted a special restaurant for our celebration. I booked in advance as we wanted to be sure we could get in as we wanted to eat outside overlooking Rome. Unfortunately we couldn't see anything as there were pots of hedges all around the terrace.
We ordered our meals and waited, they sounded delicious. My husband and I ordered prawn spring rolls on a bed of octupus. When it arrived it was a ball of screwed up soggy pastry with a bit of white sauce in with a hint of prawn on a bed of cold rubber with various bits thrown on. This was €18. My main was sirloin steak which was inedible - twice!! Overall very disappointing. The meal with drinks for 4 was €240.00 which was not good value at all. Unfortunately it was the day of our anniversary so we will always have an unpleasant memory of that evening in what was a fabulous weekend in Rome!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear ChelleBelle59
Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent experience in our restaurant, I truly apologize if you were disappointing regarding our menu bur sometimes some local dishes can be different from any other local dishes even if the ingredients may seem the same, in this case you had salmon mouse spring rolls ( we do not have prawn spring rolls )on octopus salad and grilled potatoes with wild mint sauce, maybe this type of sauce very common in the Mediterranean area is not very known elsewhere and may have a special taste, believe me this is one of our most sold appetizers, sorry for the sirloin steak I believe there was a misunderstanding regarding the cooking procedure.
We all due respect € 240 for 4 people ,€ 60 per person included the wine, considering the location is below average of any other hotel same category in downtown Rome, of course our Roof Top Restaurant has different views: from St. Peter’s , Castel S.Angelo, P.za Venezia that can be seen from all our seating tables.
We are sorry for having disappointed your expectations and we hope we will have opportunity to welcoming you gain soon and restoring your faith in our restaurant.
Your sincerely.Paolo Falchi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

A friend and I shared a room for 4 nights in this lovely hotel in this excellent location in this beautiful city.
As soon as we arrived we were greeted by the friendly staff who told us that our room had been upgraded (very nice news). While we waited for our room to be ready, we went upstairs to the terrace and enjoyed a fabulous lunch where the water and coffees were complimentary. The staff were once again charming and even gave us small Italian lessons.
Needless to say the room was great. The bed was huge and comfortable and the bathroom and amenities very good.
I particularly enjoyed the great breakfast selection and the opportunity to eat outside with the little fountain.
Would definitely recommend!
We managed to enjoy the rooftop terrace on more than one occasion!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Maria M
Thank you very much for your lovely review and thank you for choosing to stay at the St. George Roma.
I was delighted to read your comments and especially pleased that you enjoyed your accommodation.
I’m also proud that you found our staff friendly e charming.
Happy to learn that enjoyed our breakfast in the outside courtyard, I am very pleased you enjoyed also the view from Rooftop Bar and Restaurant.
Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience and I sincerely hope to see you soon again in Rome.
Paolo Falchi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We will definitely be returning to Rome an some point, and when we do, we will almost certainly be staying here again. The decor was lovely, the breakfast lounge/courtyard was serene and the rooftop bar and restaurant was just spectacular. The staff were friendly and helpful, and we even got an upgraded to a deluxe room, which was beautiful.

The neighbourhood was perfect as well - convenient walking distance to absolutely everything, but nice and quiet.

We ended up at the roof bar every night after an evening out. It is wondeful up there, with a view of the city and some dangerously good cocktails.

I cannot say enough good things about this gem of a hotel. The only thing I would suggest to anyone staying here is to bring your own hairdryer. The ones there are pretty useless if you want your hair dried within the week!

Thank you again for making our trip to Rome as wonderful as it could possibly have been. We'll look forward to returning, both to the city and the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Vickylouise87
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We really appreciated it.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to highlight your experience during your stay with us and we are happy to know that your impression about our hotel was so good. In particularly we really appreciated your positive feedback on our morning breakfast and our Roof Top Bar & Restaurant; thank you! And thank you also for your kind comments on our staff!
Your suggestions are very usefull to us we are planning by the end of the year to change all our hairdryers to 2000W.
I once again thank you very much for not keeping St. George Roma as a secret but instead sharing your experience with Tripadvisor.
I hope to see you soon in Rome.
With best wishes. Paolo Falchi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was a bit apprehensive about booking this hotel for the last three nights of our five-day visit to Rome after reading some of the negative reviews on Trip Advisor. But when I was able to snag a discounted deluxe room from the Hotel’s website that offered the opportunity to stay at five star hotel at a four price, we took a chance and the deal was done – and what a deal it was!

First, the negative (which is actually a positive): There was an issue with the HVAC in our room. These things sometimes happen in older buildings that have been renovated to modern standards. Management was extremely attentive to the issue and in a few hours, the maintenance crew had resolved the problem. The negative turned into a positive experience and the rest of our stay was wonderful.

Now the positive: The Hotel is located on the cobblestoned Via Giulia in the residential area of Rome’s historic district within walking distance of the Piazza Navona, Campo dei Fiori, Pantheon, Castel Sant’Angelo, Trastevere, St. Peter’s Square, the Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel. The immediate neighborhood includes a number of bars, cafes, osterias, trattorias, ristorantes, and small shops that seem to cater to the locals as opposed to the occasional tourist, but nevertheless, were warm and welcoming to outsiders like us.

Although our room was a bit tight by American standards, it was by no means small or uncomfortable. Our spotless, second floor room faced a center courtyard that sheltered us from the street noise, but exposed us to the occasional sounds of people enjoying the outdoor area well into the evening. (This was not a problem for us.) The room was nicely decorated with a small desk and sitting area that included a comfortable chair for reading. The public areas in the hotel were also spotless, well-appointed, and “classy-chic” as opposed to eloquent. The staff at the front desk and at the wine bar was at all times professional and while they didn’t volunteer to suggestions with respect to our stay or the surrounding area, they were very helpful when we asked for information.

Unfortunately, we were unable to enjoy the rooftop bar and restaurant due to weather related issues. We did have a tasty and nicely presented dinner at the hotel’s indoor restaurant, but with so many great places for food in the area, eating in-house is not a “must-do” experience.

If you are looking for a five-star boutique hotel that is centrally located, but away from the crowds, then I highly recommend the St. George Roma, particularly if you can book a room at a discounted rate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear HVNY
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback and to have chosen the St. George Roma.
I was delighted to learn you appreciated our location: this is one of our strengths and I am happy you enjoyed it.
We really appreciated your positive comments on the design of our public areas, on our rooms as well as on the professionalism of our staff.
I hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you again at the St. George Roma.
Best regards. Paolo Falchi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in a very convenient location to see all the sights, you can walk to Vatican City in minutes & are conveniently positioned for all the other top attractions. Very smart hotel, great staff, nice bar & a beautiful roof top terrace to enjoy the sun setting over Roma ( & the Vatican ). Rooms were perfect too, very clean & beautifully presented. They discovered it was my birthday during our visit so presented me with a lovely bottle of wine, which we thought was a nice touch. There were couples, families & business people in the hotel so suitable for all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear DMW228
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the St. George Roma.
I was delighted to learn you appreciated our location: this is one of our strengths and I am happy you enjoyed it.
I am especially happy you found our hotel elegant and that you appreciated your accommodation and the cleaning of the room.
Thank you also for your positive comments on our Roof Top Terrace.
I sincerely hope we will have the chance to welcoming you again at the St. George
Yours sincerely. Paolo Falchi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George

Address: Via Giulia, 62, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Rome
#63 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#122 Business Hotel in Rome
#144 Family Hotel in Rome
#153 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George is a superb starting point to explore all the wonders the Eternal City offers. Located right in the heart of the historic centre of Rome, the hotel it is just a short walk from Piazza Navona, Campo dei Fiori, Trastevere, Castel Sant'Angelo, St. Peter's Square, the Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel. The hotel offers 64 elegant and modern rooms between Standard, Executive, Executive Suite, Family Deluxe and 2 bedroom Suite. Each room type has its own character and a strong personality, some rooms are inspired by the greatness of the Renaissance with details of the paintings of Caravaggio and works of Bramante, others feature one of the icons of Italian '60s, the legendary Fiat 500. Dining experience at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George reflects the identity, the roots and the culinary tradition of Rome. I Sofa restaurant prefers typical and local products for a genuine and authentic experience. The Wine Bar, with its intimate atmosphere, favors Lazio's wineries and craft beers in addition to classic drinks. The Roof Top Bar & Restaurant operating during summer and weather permitting, offers a breathtaking view over the Eternal City, while sipping a cocktail at sunset, tasting romantic dinner or having a quick lunch with view. Access to the St. George Spa with large hot tub, sauna, Turkish bath and mini-gym is complimentary for all hotel guests. Soft atmospheres, enveloping essences and fine notes allow you to find harmony and balance after a long sightseeing day in Rome. Customized beauty treatments and a range of different massages complete the offer. Free WiFi Internet connection throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George Roma Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.