We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed blessing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adagio Rome Balduina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Adagio Rome Balduina to your Saves list
Adagio Rome Balduina
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Via Damiano Chiesa 8, 00136 Rome, Italy (Formerly Mallia)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 40 %
Ranked #149 of 632 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Gaspereau, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mixed blessing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The good news was location, - right next door to Balduina train stop...so access from airport was not a problem, and travel to the Vatican was just a few train stops away. Further good news - rooms clean and breakfast sufficient and best news - Capperi Restaurant immediately next door was great - we ate there three times within one week. Cost was relatively good from what we compared it to. The bad news was our room on the 5th floor that required a very steep stair climb AFTER opening the guest room door (we already climbed 5 flights to our floor...there is only a small lift and claustrophobic me. That was a challenge considering suitcases to carry and not being a mountain goat. Our second room one week later was on the main floor and that was much better. The front desk staff were hit and miss - two were cranky and despite as polite a Canadian behaviour as we could muster were not helpful but one young man working there the second time we stayed (two stays before and after cruise) was wonderful....and without him our Hop on and Hop off bus adventure might not have happened. We had construction noise right outside our patio due to the pool complex being erected and I envision that will be the case for the next year or so. Note: there is no pool now even though the brochure shows one.
With it being clean and decent value and so near the train station we may return, but more consistently helpful staff (that did not look at us like tourists are by definition an annoyance) would have made all the difference.

Room Tip: If you are not a mountain goat make sure your room is not on the top floor or you will have quite th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    78
    28
    22
    10
See reviews for
56
68
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

On arrival we were told that there were no standard rooms left and so we were given a superior room. The room was clean and in good condition with a power shower with more options and buttons than we knew what to do with.
The balcony was sunny into the evening and was in need of a good sweeping and tables and chairs which needed a clean. I think this was due to the building dust that was coming from the hotels latest development of a pool and seating areas. The artists pictures of the finished development shows a very nice edition to the hotels facilities.
Pros
Good continental breakfast
Clean rooms
Reasonable value restaurant next door
Friendly staff
Next door to train station

Cons
Not central to Rome
No Bar
No tea/coffee facilities in rooms
30 Euros to use the small kitchens in each room

More pros than cons - would use this hotel again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Sorry, but the ratings on this one were entirely off in my experience. Granted, you will always pay a bit more and get a bit less in a city like Rome. But during this trip I stayed at another hotel, and visited friends at a third. This was the worst value for money that I saw. The facility is old, furniture and fixtures all in poor condition, and the staff was downright unpleasant from the very entry. Furthermore - while it's not their fault - the hotel appears to be right next to a transit stop, but it's in fact a regional rail which doesn't connect well to the rest of Rome. There is nothing along the street, and it feels quite isolated. Cabs are hard to find in this area too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while attending a conference at Cavalieri and found everything to be average but perfectly acceptable. The room was kept clean, the internet was fast enough and breakfast was good. There is a restaurant right next to the hotel that was very good value, I got back to the hotel at 8pm most nights and needed to carry on working so ordered takeaway, which they were happy to do.

Note the hotel charges €30 for using the kitchen but if you've just used a couple of plates that you wash up yourself you can explain it to them at checkout and get them to knock it off your bill.

Room Tip: Suites aren't really worth the money, I stayed in a superior double which was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I had a package shipped to the hotel for my arrival. The host did not know about it, but did not need to as it was already in my room for me - Bonus! I was pleasantly happy with this.

The beds were soft, but in the "spring"y sort of way. I slept well enough, but it certainly would not hurt to update the beds.

My wife had some issues with the hot water in the showers. I faired fine with this.

Breakfast was outstanding. I looked forward to it everyday as I had issues finding food I enjoyed in Italy. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, yogurt, fresh meats, cheese, fresh bread, a good selection of coffee styles, cereal, milk, juice, and some fancy pastries.

Rooms have a kitchenette, but you'll pay 30 euros to use it. They don't do dishes or clean it during your stay. Considering they don't provide any cleaning materials (dish soap, sponge, etc) it's a little pricey, yet convenient.

My major complaint was the price of parking. Parking was approximately 20 euros a day, which was painful to pay as hotels.com implied (though not stated) that parking in the garage was free. It's not.

The hotel is conveniently located around the corner from a train station that takes you to the metro in two short stops. We rode the train for free the first couple of days as there is no place to buy tickets at the station by the hotel. Watch out for the ticket personnel on the train who is happy to fine you 10 euros without a ticket.

The staff was very helpful and pleasant.

Hotel was quiet which was very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tongeren, Belgium
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

... and must attend a conference there HR Mallia is an excellent alternative. You can walk to the congress-centre (I am 62 and overweight and needed less than 20 minutes, my fit daughter less than 10) but taxis in Rome are not expensive. If you want to visit Rome there is bus 913 (5 minutes walk): every 10 minutes it passes near the Vatican Museum and goes all the way to the other side of the river, near the Spanish Steps. Rooms at Mallia are spacious and clean. The buffet breakfast (the usual Italian pastry + cheese, ham, salami) is served in a nice room on the ground floor with interior and exterior sitting. The price is a bargain : we had an apartment with 1 bedroom, 1 livingroom with 2 large sofas, table and 4 chairs, flatscreen, a kitchen (you pay extra if you use it) with a large fridge & freezer, a complete but rather old fashioned bathroom and a terrace for only €85 per night breakfast included. Also very fast WIFI.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Nice hotel in the outskirts of Rome. Staff isnt that service minded and we had to ask for toliett paper and more towels. Did get paper but not towels. They dont clean the room every day , just makes the bed. AC doesnt work in every rooom. The breakfast is poor and they run out of different things every morning. The pool area is nice. You have to wear a cap in the saltwater pool ( 3 euros) and the sun bed is 4 euros a day. Nice bar that serves cold drinks and fruit. The trainstation is around the corner but the Metro in Aurelia was down for service so we had some difficulties gettting into the city and back. Nice restaurant at the hotel with good pizzas but the meat was dried and grilled to long and they served me a worm in the salad aswell... ( just an excuse).

For the price the hotel is OK but wouldnt stay there if it wasnt for the pool. After a warm day in Rome the pool is an exellent place to be..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adagio Rome Balduina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Rome Balduina

Address: Via Damiano Chiesa 8, 00136 Rome, Italy (Formerly Mallia)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 632 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adagio Rome Balduina 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adagio Roma Balduina is located in the green area of the Balduina district, not far from the shops and the Gemelli Hospital, and just 2.5 Miles (4 km) from Vatican City. The Aparthotel has 107 air-conditioned apartments, ranging from studios for 2 people to 2-room apartments for 4 people, a meeting room, a breakfast room and a private garage. The Balduina Metro station is close by and provides easy access to the main tourist and business areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Adagio Rome Balduina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Mallia Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adagio Rome Balduina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.