We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Funny Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Funny Palace to your Saves list
Funny Palace
Via varese 33/31, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,037 of 2,884 Rome B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Enjoyed my stay here. Everything was working perfect. Loved the including breakfast. Met some really nice people on the hostel. Thank you! Would definitely recommend this place for anyone who wants to stay near the center.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    40
    14
    5
    9
See reviews for
5
34
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Angouleme, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I spent a week in Rome staying at Funny Palace and was really happy with my time at the hostel, and of course in the city!

The team; Eric, Mabri and everyone else were really accommodating and helpful! :) I was actually meant to change room several times as I was staying there 7 nights, but Eric kindly arranged it so that I could have the same room and bed the entire time :)

The room was surprisingly nice, much better than I expected having booked the dormitory with the most people possible, but I was welcomed to a nice 3 bed mixed room :)

It was really in a good location, and super convenient to have the free internet down in the laundromat - which was a much more comfortable set-up than I'd anticipated, and of course the free wifi in the rooms which were just around the corner.

We had a free map and explanation of bus routes, tourist attractions, practical advice, free nice breakfast around the corner at Caffetteria Spinelli, and also a free meal (I think it was a free meal, I didn't actually end up using the card) at a restaurant also nearby :D The team takes care of your laundry and is open convenient hours so you can leave it and pick it up as you please.

The only little issue I had was the locker not working very well, it's a combination lock so I was relieved as I'd forgotten to take a padlock, but had to ask to get it fixed, but Eric happily helped fix it!

Free hire of towels and hair-dryer, and accommodation cleaned and sheets changed everyday.

The free bottle of nice red wine was the icing on an already wonderful cake!

I met some awesome people staying in the hostel too, and I highly recommend it, I will be back! :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

A rock solid hostel in a very central part of Rome right near the main train station which give easy access to the airport, the metro and buses all over the city. The highlight for me was the large wooden doors at the entrance; such a stately feel. The staff were incredibly helpful and did everything they could to help me get the most out of my time in Rome. The rooms and bathroom was were clean and tidy. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgis, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The staff was amazing! The guy stayed late because our flight was delayed and we couldn't get in until 11. He was very understanding and even told us some cool shortcuts for the city. A complimentary wine and free breakfast. The breakfast is amazing and really nice. My friends and I split a 5 person room and were amazed at the size of it. It was really spacious and we only had to share the bathroom with another room. The only bad thing was the shower and lack of hand soap but other than that great place. It was right next to the train station.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Bed bugs! Was told to either stay in same bed or go to another hostel when i asked for help. The "owner" was utterly unprofessional, he kept on denying the problem. I only got bitten after second night, clearly from this hostel. When i finally found another hostel coz i had enough of his hostility, he only refunded me 27 out of 37 euros i paid for the night. The way they (mabri) deal with issues is simply wrong.

He simply rudely shushed me away.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

My two friends and I stayed at the Funny Palace for 2 nights. The hostel is near the train station, and within close proximity of several restaurants. Our room was upgraded, we were given towels, and a bottle of wine, all free of charge. Within moments of arriving we were briefed of the entire city with a map, color coated with highlighted paths, where to go and what we needed to see. We also got a discount on laundry, which was clutch after hand washing for 10 days. The accommodations were the best of our 3 weeks abroad, and I would 100% recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The rooms were comfortable , it was a little odd at the beginning since the check in is in a laundromat and the rooms 1 block from there, not sure where the other rooms were. Once we were in our room we felt comfortable. The location was fine, there were some good places for eating. Termini is not a beautiful place for me ,specially at night, I can't say it was safe or not, we did not have any problems.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Funny Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funny Palace

Address: Via varese 33/31, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,037 of 2,884 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here you will find really spotless, safe, and low cost accommodation in the center of Rome. Whether you are looking for Hostel accommodation in dorm beds or for comfortable private rooms in a hotel, the Funny Palace is the ideal place to stay to enjoy the wonders of Rome. Every thing you need is close by, from tours, restaurants, internet, and laundry service to air tours above the ancient city. Stay as long as you want, we guarantee your stay to be a joyful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Funny Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funny Palace Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funny Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.