We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't need a golf course when you're visiting the Vatican.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vatican Holiday

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Vatican Holiday to your Saves list
Vatican Holiday
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Andrea Doria 36, 00192 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,642 of 2,893 Rome B&B and Inns
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“You don't need a golf course when you're visiting the Vatican.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Hotels in Rome can be very expensive and many are not what we have come to expect (facility wise) in England or the USA, Most places in Rome calling themselves hotels are actually converted apartments or Bed and breakfasts, where you're presented with keys to your door and the main door to the street and left alone....Unless you pay a fortune you can expect to have next to no facilities and in lots of cases no restaurant or bar, this is one such case...but now the bad news is out of the way, here's the good; This little place is immaculate,The beds in this hotel are the most comfortable we've had in our 24 visits to Rome, slept like a log (which is very unusual for me on holiday) the staff are happy to help and the rooms are small but very clean. It's five minutes walk from the Vatican and the local restaurants are just that far enough away from tourist-land to cater for the locals (excellent food and value). Don't expect the Ritz and you won't be disappointed. Not for kids but couples should enjoy their stay...Think of it as renting a nice room... and that's it.

Room Tip: It's a very small place, only about 6 rooms so it's very quiet. Ideal for couples but not fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    23
    27
    11
    22
See reviews for
25
33
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The room was ok though a bit small. Don't expect to find big signboard of the place but look at the small numbers and name on the door. We called and in 20 minutes the staff come and show the room and the key. They let people check out one hour late from 10am.the wifi connection was great. Walking distance from Vatican City.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The B&B was very hard to find, and when we did find it, we had to stand in the crowded street for half an hour because no one was there to open the door. Travelling with my parents and our 3 children, it was most distressing to find out that there was no breakfast even though we had paid for it and even more distressing that we could not have a room in the same building!!! My parents and the two eldest of our children got a room in the Building we were suppose to be in but my husband, myself and your youngest had to walk 10 minutes to another Building across a busy road, down another road and again another until we at last got to our room. We lost a whole day just trying to solve the logistic problem. The don't speak very good English but even if they did it wouldn't make that much of a difference since they were so hard to get a hold on let alone get to talk to them. This is definitely not a place I would recommend to anybody but least at all to people with children. I will never forget that I had to walk 10 minutes to get to another building in order to see my own children. It was the worst start to a vacation ever!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a Europe vacation (4/23/2013-5/6/2013) that included a visit to Rome. We booked a reservation in the "Vatican Holiday Hotel Rome", located in Via Andrea Doria 36, Rome, 00192 IT.
According to what the pictures of rooms and hotel in general were posted in the Internet, and the price, it was a really deal.
But,....... yes!!. But NO!!!!
When we got there, it was not a thing. It was not the really hotel we saw in the Internet. It was a Bed and Breakfast, with no services at all. To finally get in contact with the person in charge, we waited for over 15 minutes, standing up, in a middle of a filthy patio with our luggage, to come from who knows where. Thanks God it was not raining. Final answer there was no room available, regardless our reservation made on 2/23/2013 (two months ahead) and instead of, the so called hotel room, it was offered us a room in that B&B facility. A 100% total and complete different deal of what my original deal was. The person in charge, a young lady, was very uncomfortable with the situation. She was going back and forth talking to the owner by phone, while we were waiting in the patio. She told me that she held this job for just one month and was looking for another one, due to all these things going on.
So she, acting of her own, looked in the Internet for another hotel for us, when we refused to stay in that location.
We landed in a beautiful place called Excel St Peter, located in Via Catone 34, 00192, Rome, phone +39 06 39735082. Excellent service, include continental breakfast, and the most friendly, 24 hours front desk, willing to really help. Tip Advisor gave recognition for a good service in 2012 to them. They proudly show this document in its lobby, I took a picture. I highly recommend this place and the price from the "Vatican" 319.52 dollars to 372.00 dollars was a really deal.
My advise, if you can only do the reservation thru, Orbitz, as we did, and not be able to get in contact with the hotel directly, think twice, you may land in a place as we did.
By the way, if this information is correct, the name of the owner that was given to me was Maximiliano D'Aguallo. Who knows if such specimen exists or is just another alias?

Room Tip: Please don't use this place. You can find excellent deals without any risk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here in November and I paid just 28 pounds a night.

The guy who runs it is immensely helpful and practically created my itinerary for me on my map. The rooms are quite big, clean and the beds are comfortable and the place is really close to the subway station and about 10 minutes walk from the Vatican.

The only downside is that the showers could do with an upgrade but for 28 pounds a night one cannot complain because at least they work and have hot water.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vatican Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican Holiday

Address: Via Andrea Doria 36, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,642 of 2,893 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vatican Holiday 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A favor in the heart of Rome. From September 20, 2014 Stefania and Carlo began this wonderful adventure! The B & B is located in a beautiful ancient, quiet and sunny building. There are 5 rooms, eachone with private bathroom, shower / bath tub, hair dryer, air conditioning, WI-FI, TV SAT, fridge, safe, iron and ironing board (on request), cot (on request). In the morning you can have a tipical italian breakfast in a small living room where the guests are as well as in their home. Vatican Holiday is located in a strategic position. In a few minutes you can get anywhere! Walking for 10 minute you can go to St. Peter Square and in a little more to the center of Rome (Piazza Navona, Piazza di Spagna and so on...) Vatican Holiday is located 300 meters from the underground stop Ottaviano and Cipro. Carlo and Stefania await you at the Vatican Holiday, your B&B. They will make for a pleasant and peaceful stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Vatican Holiday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vatican Holiday Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vatican Holiday, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.