We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms, GREAT service, close to Metro and upscale shops” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza Canova Tadolini

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residenza Canova Tadolini to your Saves list
Residenza Canova Tadolini
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via del Babuino, 151, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 2,892 Rome B&B and Inns
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms, GREAT service, close to Metro and upscale shops”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was our first stop in Italy as well as our last. Both rooms we had were lovely and had plenty of room as well as nice bathrooms. Room 101 was our first and it had a HUGE bathroom. Room 203 (across the street) was our last and the bathroom was quite a bit smaller, but still nice.

This hotel is run by two brothers and their dad. They are all very eager to help with any requests, suggest restaurants and even make reservations. One morning my husband woke up early and asked the dad where he could get a good cappuccino and he replied "Come on up, I'll make you one." !!

Breakfast is served in the room. The menu is pretty limited, but let me tell you that having a warm cappuccino and a croissant show up next to your bed after traveling from the US is about the most wonderful thing that can happen.

Beds are pretty hard (like most in Italy). Street noise was more noticeable across the street from the main hotel. Not sure why? Five minute (or less) walk to the Metro and an easy 10-15 min walk to Piazza Navona, Campo di Fiori, etc. Most of the shops nearby are Gucci, Prada, etc. You'll have to walk a ways to find "real people" shopping. :)

Great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    59
    12
    6
    8
See reviews for
70
121
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Rhode Island, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Matteo and the staff were VERY helpful from the moment we made our reservation until we left the property. All arrangements were exactly as planned. The staff at the Hotel were always there to help provide directions and advice for our tours in Rome. The room, as well as the rest of the hotel, was clean and well kept. The breakfast was delivered as requested and the cappuccino was the best we had in Rome. The location was ideal and within walking distance of many of the historic sites and the Vatican. The hotel is just a few minutes walk to the Spanish stairs and Piazza de Popolo. The neighborhood is safe and we always felt comfortable. We visited a different restaurant in the area each evening as there are many within just a few minutes walk. We can't wait to get back to Rome...We will be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing place to stay. Matteo and his family were unbelievable and nothing was ever a problem or too much for them to do.
Arrived at hotel at 9am after long flight from Hong Kong and our room was ready for us.....fantastic!
Our room for two adults and two kids was perfect and the outside terrace was a real godsend and a super place to have breakfast or to just sit! Great bathroom and traditional style decor.
Via Del Babuino is a great street in a great area to stay in Rome. Only 150 metres from the Spanish Steps and 100 metres from Piazza Del Popolo. We either walked when we could and when the kids were too tired to walk anymore, there was always taxi around. Spagna metro is only 150 metres and easy to use.
Compared to living in Sydney, Rome is very inexpensive, food and coffee especially and the people have such a passion in the way they live and seem to enjoy their life.
But easily the best thing about our stay at Canova Tadolini was Matteo and his family.....Do stay here if you can get in when you visit Rome....you will love the experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloníki, Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Don't worry with the word "Residenza", this is close to a 5 star hotel!!! Very clean room, with excellent services, friendly staff (Matteo and his team are so nice and helpful). Very quiet & safely neighborhood, close to Piazza di Spagna, 1 minute away), a great place to stay with your girlfriend-wife or family. 2' away you can eat pizza, drink a beer, or buy water even if its midnight. In 2' you are in Piazza del Popolo as well. 5' away there is a metro stop and the bus stop is in the opposite side of he hotel. Actually we only walked because everything is so close.
Moreover, they gave us many different choices about the breakfast (you can change it even everyday!), many helpful advices about which sights to visit including a map of Rome (for free). The hotel (or Residenza if you prefer) is placed in a fantastic area, where you will have the chance to walk all the city centre by feet. Via del Babuino street, is full of nice and expensive shops and in the same time is so safely that you don't need to care about if its midnight and you are still outside...they also have radiator for the cold nights. Finally the room has a safely door lock with card, and a money-laptop safebox.
The room has always wifi, hot water, air-condition, fridge with minibar. They clean it everyday, and they change the towels etc everyday. You can always ask (24 hours) for assistance or whatever you want in the reception. The breakfast is served in the rooms at the time that you declare. We ordered croissants, toasted bread, nutella, espresso, butter, honey, marmelada and you can have more choices for free. If you pay 1-5€ you might have eggs, orange juices, and other foods.
The room is always quiet even if it has a window to the main street.
I stayed 5 nights with my wife and I can't find anything negative. We are certainly going to visit Canova Tadolini again!

5 stars for the position of this hotel
5 stars for the cleaning of the room
5 stars for the roman excellent design of the room
5 stars for the friendly and helpful staff
5 stars for the services (towels, wifi, 24hour reception)
4 stars for the including breakfast

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The location was just amazing. We were minutes away by foot to the Spanish steps and Spagna metro station. As it was extremely hot, this allowed us to return to the hotel during the afternoon.

The service was excellent. Very helpful and they gave us some great tips. It shows that this is a family affair.

The breakfast they served was simple but sufficient. I would have preferred it got served somewhere other than in our room but its no big deal.

The decor is a little bit particular but the room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Their was daily housekeeping.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would return to the same place if I ever go back to Rome. It was definitely good value for the price.

Room Tip: We were in room 305 and stayed for 4 nights. We were a couple sharing it with two teenagers. They ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My daughter, husband and I stayed here on a two night trip to Rome. We had a triple room which was located across from the hotel. It was really quirky - had a double bed downstairs plus huge bathroom and then another double bed for my daughter on a mezzanine floor, air conditioning - very clean. Lovely room. We ordered breakfast the night before and it was served in a little outside area - breakfast was lovely, really really nice coffee, cereals, yoghurts, pastries, juice. The hotel is family run and they are such helpful people. Made us feel extremely welcome and gave us lots of tips of where and when to go to places and where to eat. Fantastic location. Would highly recommend. Cheers Matteo!

Room Tip: Our room was across the road from the hotel in another building, however, felt like you had your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a far cry from a franchise hotel, but that is the beauty of this family run establishment. There is somewhat older decor and slightly quirky rooms, without a lift. Now the positives: amazing service and fantastic location. The rooms were retro, but very clean and comfortable. Good breakfast as well. Room 206 had a spacious terrace overlooking a quiet pedestrian only street. I thought this was a very good value for Rome and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza Canova Tadolini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Canova Tadolini

Address: Via del Babuino, 151, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 2,892 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza Canova Tadolini 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residenza Canova Tadolini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Canova Tadolini Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza Canova Tadolini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.