We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly helpfull staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vatican Garden Inn

Save Saved
You added Vatican Garden Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Vatican Garden Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Germanico 201, 00192 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #909 of 1,263 hotels in Rome
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and friendly helpfull staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

spent 10 days there.. there is no main building.. seems they have rooms available in different building within a block of there office. first three days spent in small room but neat and clean.. asked if there was a larger room available and they gave it to us for no extra charge.. comes with breakfast that had all i needed.. have there own restaurant that was fairly priced and good with friendly staff.. i would recommend it and will use them again.

Room Tip: ask for one of the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    15
    7
    22
See reviews for
21
25
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I am we'll travelled and have never had such a terrible experience until now.Whatever you do, DO NOT STAY HERE.They advertise a whole lot of things that don't exist. I arrived with my family and there was a bell at reception that we had to ring several times before anyone let us in. Once I checked in, they told me we were not actually staying in the INN but we're across the street which is a two minute walk down the road. When we got to the room, it had two missing light bulbs next to the bedside lamps, the shower door was broken and needed urgent repair,there was no plug in the bath, there was burn mark on the wall and stains all over the wall paper, the bed sheet was torn and ripped yet they had a certificate in the room saying " luxury suite". WTF?? SOOO misleading. It was more like a half burnt room. What's worse is, when I asked the reception to fix these things they came up with every excuse to avoid doing so. They then offered an alternative which was a sauna and BTW the room they gave us had no aircon. Room 201. Anyway, we complained and then finally he gave us a room which is still really bad because the shower door is about to fall off but they said it's NORMAL. Seriously, what a joke. they then promised to call in an electrician an we waited and waited but nothing. They had no intention whatsoever to fix it or anything. There was no key for the safe and mold under the bath. Nothing works and it's so dusty. breakfast is a JOKE. I think it must be left overs from two weeks ago. They didn't have enough clean plates and were using a bath towel to dry the ones that were given out??? hello, what is wrong with these people. The problem is we can't get a refund so we have to suffer another two nights here. It is so uncomfortable and they have no customer service. They don't seem to be able to get a hold of the manager Antonella. I think we saw her in reception but she pretended to be a staff member so we couldn't approach her.the only good thing is the location. It is so not worth it though. Pay to stay somewhere else because this will really tarnish your view of Rome. I hate this place and these people are liars!!!!!!!!! They state that they have a mini bar and there is nothing in it. they don't have tissues and when you ask for more toilet paper they get angry with you. The venue for breakfast is a tent or garage outside and there are holes in the roof so the toast was wet from the rain drops. the water was unclean and gave my mum an upset tummy. STAY AWAY. This is the worst place I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

me and my wife, have a great time in this hotel. its amazing, so close to vatican, just five minutes by walking. clean, and beautiful place, specially the restaurant wich is in the middle of a garden. the whole crowe was very nice people ready to help you at any time. three blocks from the nearest metro station. muy bonito hotel, a solo cinco cuadras del vaticano y de la estación de metro. el restaurante esta en la mitad del jardín. amplio, limpio y tranquilo. lo recomiendo mucho

Room Tip: any room is okay at the vatican garden, just remember the Price!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I can't understand the bad reviews of this inn. Perhaps the confusion comes from their being multiple establishments, apparently all under the same owner. We stayed, however, in the Vatican Garden Inn on Via Germanico, and this is the accommodation we are reviewing. We got a taxi across to the Inn from a previous place which we were unhappy with, and the staff at the Vatican Garden booked us in at very short notice with no problem. The contrast with the previous accommodation couldn't have been sharper. The room, for the same price as the previous place, was borderline luxurious; the room was large, well furnished, with shutters, curtains, and even linen draperies on the windows. A chandelier hung from the roof. The staff were uniformly friendly and accommodating in every way. Breakfast, was included in the price, and was, unlike in most other Italian places, American-style, offering much better fare than the average continental breakfast. It included boiled eggs, ham, cheese, toast, yoghurt, croissants, juice, even espresso, as well as ordinary coffee. The staff were Filipino, but spoke good English. On our last night, they printed out our boarding passes as well as our Terravision passes (which was more complex as it meant using a link, email, and password) and delivered them to us the same night, even though this meant a trip to another establishment for them. In other words, excellent service. Also, we arrived late one morning for breakfast, and this posed no problem for them. Friendly, gentle, and highly serviceable people. Highly recommended all in all. (The toilets even have bidets built in- something I haven't come across before :) The location is fantastic: walking distance to the Vatican, Panteon, and Coliseum, as well as many other attractions, including great value shopping areas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Its not a hotel, its inn and you have to inform them when will you arive so that thay wait for you. It didnt help because the door bell didn't work so we must shout. First day the receptionist already charged on CARD and ask to pay the rest in cash imideatly before we even see the room. Well, it was 7 p.m. after long drive so we do that after a little language fight. We park the car in his courtyard in front of a gazebo for breakfast.
Location is good, short walk from Vatican but you have to search for coffee bars around for morning coffee. The washer for hands was like Pisa tower so you put shawing can on it and it falls down, prety bad early in the morning. Stay there only in emergency.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praha
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Rooms have wall save deposit boxes. The key from this box receives each guest together with other keys from room etc..
My 1100 € disappear from this box during my stay in this hotel. The box was not damaged!! It must exist another key and the staff is sure involved in this criminal activities.
In the same time, in another room, my brother was also robbed. From his baggage in the room disappears his wallet. And his loss?? $700, wallet, 2 credit cards, driving licence.
Our recommendation is to avoid this hotel. Or to be very very careful there.

Room Tip: To avoid the hotel Vatican Garden Inn !
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location, it is a ten minute walk to the Vatican and St. Peters. The area is very safe with several good locations in the area. The is also a grocery store right around the corner from the hotel. The hotel is a very nice the room we had was very large and clean. The service at the hotel however is not very good. Upon arrival I found that the lock on the room door did not work and asked the gentleman at the desk to have it fixed, he came and looked at it and proclaimed that he could not fix it himself. I stated that would be fine and that he could have someone come and fix it later or the next day. This never happend. The next morning we found that the drain in the shower was plugged and we asked to have it fixed [several times] it was finally some what fixed the day before for we left. [4 days after the first request] A continental breakfast was included with the room on the first day the buffet table was well stocked however the amount of food on the table declined everyday, the quality was OK but if you arrived a little later than the 7:30 time it opened you may not have much selection. I would stay here again because of the location and the room but I would definately be a little pushier about getting things fixed if needed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vatican Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican Garden Inn

Also Known As:
Vatican Garden Hotel Rome
Vatican Garden Hotel
Address: Via Germanico 201, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #909 of 1,263 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vatican Garden Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Vatican Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vatican Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.