We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In sept.2012” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vatican Garden Inn

Save Saved
You added Vatican Garden Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vatican Garden Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Germanico 201, 00192 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #851 of 1,264 hotels in Rome
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“In sept.2012”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Its not a hotel, its inn and you have to inform them when will you arive so that thay wait for you. It didnt help because the door bell didn't work so we must shout. First day the receptionist already charged on CARD and ask to pay the rest in cash imideatly before we even see the room. Well, it was 7 p.m. after long drive so we do that after a little language fight. We park the car in his courtyard in front of a gazebo for breakfast.
Location is good, short walk from Vatican but you have to search for coffee bars around for morning coffee. The washer for hands was like Pisa tower so you put shawing can on it and it falls down, prety bad early in the morning. Stay there only in emergency.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    15
    8
    22
See reviews for
22
27
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Praha
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Rooms have wall save deposit boxes. The key from this box receives each guest together with other keys from room etc..
My 1100 € disappear from this box during my stay in this hotel. The box was not damaged!! It must exist another key and the staff is sure involved in this criminal activities.
In the same time, in another room, my brother was also robbed. From his baggage in the room disappears his wallet. And his loss?? $700, wallet, 2 credit cards, driving licence.
Our recommendation is to avoid this hotel. Or to be very very careful there.

Room Tip: To avoid the hotel Vatican Garden Inn !
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Pickering, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location, it is a ten minute walk to the Vatican and St. Peters. The area is very safe with several good locations in the area. The is also a grocery store right around the corner from the hotel. The hotel is a very nice the room we had was very large and clean. The service at the hotel however is not very good. Upon arrival I found that the lock on the room door did not work and asked the gentleman at the desk to have it fixed, he came and looked at it and proclaimed that he could not fix it himself. I stated that would be fine and that he could have someone come and fix it later or the next day. This never happend. The next morning we found that the drain in the shower was plugged and we asked to have it fixed [several times] it was finally some what fixed the day before for we left. [4 days after the first request] A continental breakfast was included with the room on the first day the buffet table was well stocked however the amount of food on the table declined everyday, the quality was OK but if you arrived a little later than the 7:30 time it opened you may not have much selection. I would stay here again because of the location and the room but I would definately be a little pushier about getting things fixed if needed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Due to the advises I had read before leaving (but after booking) I was a bit scared. Actually, I was re-directed to the "chambres d'or" (same owner) because of full booking at arrival and it was a lucky coincidence! Spacious rooms in a historical building (book superior rooms), with green courtyard, bathroom with all comforts (just a bit dark, if one shall find a fault). Personnel is very kind and helpful, delicious breakfast with "caffé e cornetto" voucher for the bar next door. My only remark: when I refused their (paying) shuttle service to the airport, they said they "could not" call me a taxi to bring me to the train station!Otherwise, lovely stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The good thing of the hotel is the location, just a stone's throw away from the Vatican and Saint Peter Basilica. But that's all. Rooms are very small and old. In one occasion at 6pm the bathroom still had to be cleaned. The breakfast is almost no existent, it is poor and hosted in an ugly venue in the garden. Definitely to avoid if possible.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I can not recommend you to choose this hotel. I have very bad experience with the staff. Actually they stole my money via their deceitful practises.
Paul, Hamburg

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We will stay in a two beds room for a weekend and I will enjoy it a lot. The location is perfect, right at a centre near Vatican (about 10 minutes walk). We stay at the luxury floor, that is the name of the floor at other building across the street where Vatican Garden inn has another rooms. Room has been clean, new, with free wifi, plasma tv and comfortable beds. Bathroom has been new and clean, there is everyday cleaning by the hotel stuff. Breakfast in hotel is pretty good but there is not many chances to choose between food. There is only cereals, some toasts, coffe and nothing else. Near the hotel is a few good restaurants for lunch and dinner. During the stay there is no problems, we make payment by credit cart with no problems and also the stuff was very kind. So I can definitely recommend this hotel because you get very good value for good money :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vatican Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican Garden Inn

Address: Via Germanico 201, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #851 of 1,264 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vatican Garden Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Vatican Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vatican Garden Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vatican Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;