We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“!! Attention !! Criminal gang is operating in this hotel.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vatican Garden Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vatican Garden Inn to your Saves list
Vatican Garden Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Germanico 201 | Via Paolo Emilio 32, 00192 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #961 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Praha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“!! Attention !! Criminal gang is operating in this hotel.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Rooms have wall save deposit boxes. The key from this box receives each guest together with other keys from room etc..
My 1100 € disappear from this box during my stay in this hotel. The box was not damaged!! It must exist another key and the staff is sure involved in this criminal activities.
In the same time, in another room, my brother was also robbed. From his baggage in the room disappears his wallet. And his loss?? $700, wallet, 2 credit cards, driving licence.
Our recommendation is to avoid this hotel. Or to be very very careful there.

Room Tip: To avoid the hotel Vatican Garden Inn !
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    20
    10
    31
See reviews for
26
34
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location, it is a ten minute walk to the Vatican and St. Peters. The area is very safe with several good locations in the area. The is also a grocery store right around the corner from the hotel. The hotel is a very nice the room we had was very large and clean. The service at the hotel however is not very good. Upon arrival I found that the lock on the room door did not work and asked the gentleman at the desk to have it fixed, he came and looked at it and proclaimed that he could not fix it himself. I stated that would be fine and that he could have someone come and fix it later or the next day. This never happend. The next morning we found that the drain in the shower was plugged and we asked to have it fixed [several times] it was finally some what fixed the day before for we left. [4 days after the first request] A continental breakfast was included with the room on the first day the buffet table was well stocked however the amount of food on the table declined everyday, the quality was OK but if you arrived a little later than the 7:30 time it opened you may not have much selection. I would stay here again because of the location and the room but I would definately be a little pushier about getting things fixed if needed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Due to the advises I had read before leaving (but after booking) I was a bit scared. Actually, I was re-directed to the "chambres d'or" (same owner) because of full booking at arrival and it was a lucky coincidence! Spacious rooms in a historical building (book superior rooms), with green courtyard, bathroom with all comforts (just a bit dark, if one shall find a fault). Personnel is very kind and helpful, delicious breakfast with "caffé e cornetto" voucher for the bar next door. My only remark: when I refused their (paying) shuttle service to the airport, they said they "could not" call me a taxi to bring me to the train station!Otherwise, lovely stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The good thing of the hotel is the location, just a stone's throw away from the Vatican and Saint Peter Basilica. But that's all. Rooms are very small and old. In one occasion at 6pm the bathroom still had to be cleaned. The breakfast is almost no existent, it is poor and hosted in an ugly venue in the garden. Definitely to avoid if possible.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I can not recommend you to choose this hotel. I have very bad experience with the staff. Actually they stole my money via their deceitful practises.
Paul, Hamburg

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We will stay in a two beds room for a weekend and I will enjoy it a lot. The location is perfect, right at a centre near Vatican (about 10 minutes walk). We stay at the luxury floor, that is the name of the floor at other building across the street where Vatican Garden inn has another rooms. Room has been clean, new, with free wifi, plasma tv and comfortable beds. Bathroom has been new and clean, there is everyday cleaning by the hotel stuff. Breakfast in hotel is pretty good but there is not many chances to choose between food. There is only cereals, some toasts, coffe and nothing else. Near the hotel is a few good restaurants for lunch and dinner. During the stay there is no problems, we make payment by credit cart with no problems and also the stuff was very kind. So I can definitely recommend this hotel because you get very good value for good money :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

The hotel was nice our room was very specious and clean, Bathroom was decent even though had issues like water leaks etc..
Breakfast was decent, nothing too special, best about this hotel it has pretty good location, nice walking distance from all amities, if you can handle 20 to 30 min walk
Both guys in the reception were polite and try to help at their best ability but I believe the hotel own was rude and arrogant person, expect us to fully pay our stay on the 1st date.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Les Chambres d'Or Hotel
Les Chambres d'Or Hotel
#774 of 1,267 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Prati
Nautilus Hotel
Nautilus Hotel
#687 of 1,267 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Prati
Joli Hotel
Joli Hotel
#869 of 1,267 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Silla
Hotel Silla
#598 of 1,267 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Prati
207 Inn
207 Inn
#522 of 1,267 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Adriatic Hotel
Adriatic Hotel
#514 of 1,267 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatican Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican Garden Inn

Address: Via Germanico 201 | Via Paolo Emilio 32, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #961 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vatican Garden Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Vatican Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vatican Garden Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vatican Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.