We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“deceitful practices” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vatican Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Vatican Garden Inn to your Saves list
Vatican Garden Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Germanico 201 | Via Paolo Emilio 32, 00192 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #938 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“deceitful practices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I can not recommend you to choose this hotel. I have very bad experience with the staff. Actually they stole my money via their deceitful practises.
Paul, Hamburg

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    18
    8
    26
See reviews for
25
29
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We will stay in a two beds room for a weekend and I will enjoy it a lot. The location is perfect, right at a centre near Vatican (about 10 minutes walk). We stay at the luxury floor, that is the name of the floor at other building across the street where Vatican Garden inn has another rooms. Room has been clean, new, with free wifi, plasma tv and comfortable beds. Bathroom has been new and clean, there is everyday cleaning by the hotel stuff. Breakfast in hotel is pretty good but there is not many chances to choose between food. There is only cereals, some toasts, coffe and nothing else. Near the hotel is a few good restaurants for lunch and dinner. During the stay there is no problems, we make payment by credit cart with no problems and also the stuff was very kind. So I can definitely recommend this hotel because you get very good value for good money :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

The hotel was nice our room was very specious and clean, Bathroom was decent even though had issues like water leaks etc..
Breakfast was decent, nothing too special, best about this hotel it has pretty good location, nice walking distance from all amities, if you can handle 20 to 30 min walk
Both guys in the reception were polite and try to help at their best ability but I believe the hotel own was rude and arrogant person, expect us to fully pay our stay on the 1st date.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We came to Rome for our holidays and were pleasantly suprised by the hotel we had booked. The staff was very friendly and answered all our questions. The location is excellent as it is just a five minute walk away from the Vatican and very close to many of Romes attractions. The rooms were also very nice. All in all a brilliant hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

The best thing about this hotel is it's location - really close to the Vatican and a short walk to the Metro. There are also some excellent pizzerias nearby, which are packed out with locals.
Downside is the banging door if you are in a room at the front of the house and a shortage of pastries if you get to breakfast too late.
However, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed at the Vatican Garden Inn for a few days while in Rome. The room was charming, in a good location, with a balcony overlooking a small street. The bathrooms, however were quite small and in need of repair. Our shower head shot water all over the bathroom and when we called maintenance to fix it, they simply loosened a bolt in the shower head, fixing the uncontrollable spray, but providing zero water pressure. We also had a problem with the hair dryer falling off of the wall, and unfortunately our room had no back-up hair dryer. Although they advertise Wi-Fi, we were unable to pick up a connection in the room. The only area that I found connection was the check-in/breakfast area, a few blocks away from our room. One evening we came home to an obnoxious alarm going off. When we called the front desk, no one was there, as they had left for the evening, so we were forced to deal with a loud alarm until it shut itself off a few hours later. There was 1 staff member that we saw in the 3 days that we stayed at the Vatican Gardens Inn. I felt quite bad for him as he tried his best to accommodate us, but 1 person isn't capable of tending to new guests, checking out guests that are leaving, preparing breakfast each day, tending to the grounds, and helping people with room problems. Overall, I wouldn't recommend staying at the Vatican Gardens Inn unless you're only planning on staying there to sleep and not shower.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

The decor & the rooms are very nice, and the location is very close to the Vatican. We strolled from here through Rome, but I guess it is long even though the walk is usually described as 30-40 min to Historical Rome. but, one can always use the metro with the Roma Pass and it makes movement very easy. Their breakfast was really good and filling. The front office staff spoke excellent English.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vatican Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican Garden Inn

Address: Via Germanico 201 | Via Paolo Emilio 32, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #938 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vatican Garden Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vatican Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vatican Garden Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vatican Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.