We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vatican Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vatican Garden Inn to your Saves list
Vatican Garden Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Germanico 201 | Via Paolo Emilio 32, 00192 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #979 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We came to Rome for our holidays and were pleasantly suprised by the hotel we had booked. The staff was very friendly and answered all our questions. The location is excellent as it is just a five minute walk away from the Vatican and very close to many of Romes attractions. The rooms were also very nice. All in all a brilliant hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    21
    10
    31
See reviews for
27
34
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

The best thing about this hotel is it's location - really close to the Vatican and a short walk to the Metro. There are also some excellent pizzerias nearby, which are packed out with locals.
Downside is the banging door if you are in a room at the front of the house and a shortage of pastries if you get to breakfast too late.
However, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed at the Vatican Garden Inn for a few days while in Rome. The room was charming, in a good location, with a balcony overlooking a small street. The bathrooms, however were quite small and in need of repair. Our shower head shot water all over the bathroom and when we called maintenance to fix it, they simply loosened a bolt in the shower head, fixing the uncontrollable spray, but providing zero water pressure. We also had a problem with the hair dryer falling off of the wall, and unfortunately our room had no back-up hair dryer. Although they advertise Wi-Fi, we were unable to pick up a connection in the room. The only area that I found connection was the check-in/breakfast area, a few blocks away from our room. One evening we came home to an obnoxious alarm going off. When we called the front desk, no one was there, as they had left for the evening, so we were forced to deal with a loud alarm until it shut itself off a few hours later. There was 1 staff member that we saw in the 3 days that we stayed at the Vatican Gardens Inn. I felt quite bad for him as he tried his best to accommodate us, but 1 person isn't capable of tending to new guests, checking out guests that are leaving, preparing breakfast each day, tending to the grounds, and helping people with room problems. Overall, I wouldn't recommend staying at the Vatican Gardens Inn unless you're only planning on staying there to sleep and not shower.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

The decor & the rooms are very nice, and the location is very close to the Vatican. We strolled from here through Rome, but I guess it is long even though the walk is usually described as 30-40 min to Historical Rome. but, one can always use the metro with the Roma Pass and it makes movement very easy. Their breakfast was really good and filling. The front office staff spoke excellent English.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

The breakfast is continental not American as stated no guest lounge, breakfast is served in the garden in a gazzebo with plastic sides not good for the winter. Our room was clean but small had to walk side way to get passed bottom of bed, bathroom very small shower falling of wall hair drier broken ( spare hair drier in draw ) and in need of deep clean.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAUNAKAKAI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

big room -----free wifi----4 blocks from vatican--good breakfast---nice people good value

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
102 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

This is a rather unassuming building as it is on a street with no other hotels, and the entrance is after a gate (the views shown in photos can only be seen when you are in front of the gate). Rooms are big, large windows open upto greenery, there is a flat screen tv in every room (but as in all other parts of Italy, only 2 English channels - BBC and MTV and 12 Italian channels).

Breakfast is "unique" in an outdoors glass enclosed gazebo, with a lot of greenery around (so what if half of it was plastic. It made the cold morning feel less gloomy!). The usual Italian breakfast (juice, cornflakes, bread, cheese, cold cuts and hey - they had. Boiled eggs too!)

Very good service and a helpful reception. Oddly, if you do not use your credit card, the reception requests you to pay on the same evening, but that did not matter to me.

The wifi in rooms is excellent, and unlike many Italian hotels, free.

Location is good - just 10 mins walk from a metro stn, and if you walk the other way, it is 10 mins walk from the Vatican. The Vatican museums (you must go and see it - amazing paintings by Raphael, Leonardo and many others) do not have much of a queue in winters, and you do get to see the Sistine chapel, but to enter the church (entrance from the opposite side near the tall Roman columns and piazza) there was a slight queue. I've heard it is very long in summers, so get here early.

A warning - the colliseum is 20 mins away by metro, but stay far from the gladiators. They fight and swear at tourists! This really soured our experience.

A short walk from the colliseum is the capitol building which is far more impressive. A must see, with fantastic views of Rome.

  • Liked — Fast internet, Great location
  • Disliked — Not many channels on the TV in English
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Les Chambres d'Or Hotel
Les Chambres d'Or Hotel
#780 of 1,267 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Prati
Joli Hotel
Joli Hotel
#873 of 1,267 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Prati
Nautilus Hotel
Nautilus Hotel
#683 of 1,267 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Silla
Hotel Silla
#600 of 1,267 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Prati
207 Inn
207 Inn
#521 of 1,267 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Prati
Florida
Florida
#681 of 1,267 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatican Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican Garden Inn

Address: Via Germanico 201 | Via Paolo Emilio 32, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #979 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vatican Garden Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Vatican Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vatican Garden Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vatican Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.