We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sistine B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sistine B&B to your Saves list
Sistine B&B
6, Via Duilio, 00192 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #843 of 3,085 Rome B&B and Inns
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A friendly place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We found the B & B very easily, but there was no-one there to meet us. However, we rang the number on the doorbell & a man was there in 10 minutes. Irene was on duty each morning & was very friendly. She brought our fantastic breakfast trolly at the time requested, & you would have to be very hungry to eat everything provided. I can recommend the scrambled eggs with italian bacon, Scrummy. We were in room 1, on the corner, & the room had windows on two streets. It was very spacious, with a lovely high ceiling. The bathroom was quite large for one in an Italian hotel but could do with a bit of a refresh as too many things were held in place by bits of card or paper. All in all this is a good place to stay as its close to all kinds of public transport, is clean, bright, friendly & you get a fantastic breakfast. The area is great as there are lots of neighbourhood shops & restaurants etc.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the corner room, so has windows on two walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    24
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Having read the reviews on here prior to making our booking, I was very much looking forward to staying at The Sistine B&B and visiting the many sites and attractions Rome has to offer. Now I am back home I feel I should share with you some of our experiences during our stay at the Sistine B&B, as although most of the reviews are very good and highlight the great things about the B&B (breakfast, friendly staff, proximity to metro/Vatican city) there are a few other issues which I feel people should be aware of...

As mentioned in other reviews, most of the staff here are friendly and helpful (Francesca and Irene deserve a special mention), and although the premises is not manned 24/7 there is a number you can call from the room free of charge and they were very helpful, even turning on the heating for us at night when we were cold (we live in Malaysia, so felt the cold at night even though it was a warm April in Rome!). However, it should be noted that the cover staff working on a Sunday morning were not to the same standard... Firstly, they demanded we return our breakfast trolley when we hadn't finished eating (which was a great breakfast btw, lots of choice, delivered to room at a time we chose). Secondly, they left at 10.30 am (supposedly the place is manned until 12pm) and didn't clean our room, make the bed, or change the towels, even though we told her we were about to vacate the room for the day as she left. I called the management (on the free number mentioned before) who said she would come back and clean the room, but when we returned that evening nothing had been done. Not great service for the best part of 200 euros a night I'm sure you'll agree!

The room was a good size, the bathroom is a little on the small side and could do with some refurbishment, but on the whole the place is nicely furnished and they provide free wifi access / a computer in the hallway. One other thing that was missing was any means to make a hot drink in the room, which was disappointing, as after a long day walking around the beautiful city we wanted nothing more than a cup of tea to relax!

In terms of location, it is a 2 minute walk from the metro, from which most of the main sites can be reached in minutes, and a 15 minute walk to the Vatican City and is away from main hustle and bustle of the city.

On the whole this is a nice establishment, though I do feel there are a few small changes that can make a huge difference to the stay. In terms of value for money it is very expensive for what is essentially a basic B&B away from the main city centre.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

The place seemed to have been refurbished recently. Our room was spacious with a large, comfortable bed and spacious bathroom with shower. The room, bedding and bathroom were all very clean and fresh. The breakfast was served in our bedroom and it was amazing, loads of options and home-made. The owners were very polite and helpful. The hotel is not far from the Vatican (10 min walk) and there is a tube nearby (Lepanto) which is just 2-3 stops away from the major attractions. The neighborhood isn't very touristic so it's not crowded with restaurant and other facilities but you can still find a good place to eat nearby, away from the tourist traps.

The B&B is located at the 2nd floor of a large, old building. Don't let this put you off, the rooms are very good. They also offer free wireless.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

The service is great, a very nice young man was waiting for us when we arrived late and the woman who was there in the morning (and prepared the great breakfast) was very nice as well. After checkout they let us leave our bags there and gave us the key to pick them up after because there was nobody there. Thank you very much!
Big, cozy, bright, comfortable room and bed, nice, clean bathroom with towels and amenities. Free wireless internet, mini bar (cheap), TV.
It's near the Lepanto Metro and bus stop and walking distance from the Vatican.
Great value for what is offered.
I really recommend this one.
Have a nice stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

My friend and I recently spent two weeks at the Sistine B&B. From my first encounter with Francesca through emails reserving the room, I received nothing but professional and prompt attention. A taxi was reserved for us and picked us up at the airport. The driver met us at the arrivals area and held up our names. The accommodation, location and full breakfast were excellent. They offer a substantial breakfast and you can place the order the evening before and hang the notice outside your door. As we were interested in visiting the Vatican, it was just a fifteen minute walk to the area. There is wonderful shopping just a few blocks from the B&B and the subway is just a short walk as well. Francesca and her staff were courteous and helpful at all times.
The beds were comfortable and the only negative was the sound of the garbage truck on the street early in the morning. We loved the experience of the B&B and its charming qualities. It made our first trip to Rome a wonderful experience. I would recommend this accommodation to singles and couples. Mary/Eric

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

The Sistine B&B was wonderful!

I definitely will recommend a B&B for the value, cleanliness, helpful staff, and proximity to attractions and public transport.

All communications from the offsite and on site staff were clear, timely, and responsive. The room was ready with beds separated for my mother and my arrival. You could eat off the floors, and the spaces and bathrooms were modern.

For half the price of a hotel I have stayed in down the street, I got an expansive breakfast (see the other write ups), free internet, and the wonderful and short interactions I like in a B&B.

I would only recommend this for a family with children, if the family took all three rooms.

The hostess-room attendant-breakfast maker-tour assistant made the difference! She greeted and explained the nuances of the property, made a unique breakfast (even soft boiled eggs) for us, and assisted in travel arrangements! A gem for the Sistine!

The B&B is in a condominium (common for Roman B&Bs) and you have to quietly walk to the second floor. This is located in a mixed district of small businesses, restaurants, and residences. I was a light sleeper the first night with the time zone change, and did wake t the late evening trash truck. I dealt with it. The elevator IS small (3 people could stand inside with small bags, but if you are a traveler with an eye for new things, it will be the source of travel stories.

I will be coming back and staying there!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

All reviews are right: clean, large, great breakfast, free Internet, small convenient mini bar. If you don't mind having to walk a little, the location is a great base to discover the city. We found nearby restaurants to be cheaper and usually better than most closer-to-attractions tables. Plan 10 to 15 minutes to get to the Vatican and not even half an hour to walk to Piazza di Spagna. Area is very safe at night.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sistine B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sistine B&B

Address: 6, Via Duilio, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #843 of 3,085 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed & Breakfast Sistine is situated in Rome's exclusive Prati neighbourhood, within walking distance of St. Peter's Basilica and the Vatican, just a stone's throw away from the Lepanto underground station and one of the city's finest shopping streets, via Cola di Rienzo.In no time you will reach countless monuments, magnificent churches distributed in every corner, fabulous buildings, squares and fountains, creating the magic atmosphere of Rome.Housed on the second floor of an elegant 19th century building, this smoke-free property boasts facilities of a modern hotel, including complimentary wireless Internet access, luggage storage and private parking (surcharge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sistine B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sistine Bed And Breakfast
Sistine Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sistine B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.