We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastico !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast to your Saves list
IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast
Via Dandolo 51, 00153 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #77 of 2,888 Rome B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastico !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in Rome! Angelo's hospitality was second to none . Lots of great information and top tips on what to do and where to go. Waistlines have increased as a result of the delicious home baking .We loved Il Boom and Rome. The sun terrace was a welcome haven after a busy day seeing the sights.
A friendly, clean and stylish home from home in Rome. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Many many thanks for your so great review!
Your stay here with us was very pleasant, and I'm really happy you liked so much Rome and our place.
Hope to see you again in Rome:
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    70
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
191
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a feeling we'd like this place - but it was even better than we'd hoped. Angelo is a genuinely great host - a very nice unpretentious guy who will help you with questions you have and bookings you need to make. There is a calm and laid back atmosphere which makes you feel like this is your house too. The decor is creative (film related posters and memorabilia from the '50s 60's etc.), quirky and great fun and this makes you feel happy to be there - makes me want to start a collection of old Italian films.

The breakfast set-up is so sensible and you can help yourself to toast, cold meat, cheese, jam, cereal, wonderful home made cake, tea, coffee, juice, fruit, yogurt until 12 am. Eat on the plant laden terrace outside the breakfast room in the sunshine. Say hello to the tortoises and cats if you like and if you don't they will happily leave you in peace.

The Travestere is a vibrant neighbourhood full of interesting bars and cafes and is on a bus route to the city centre although it is easily within walking distance if you prefer. There's also a tram stop a short distance from Via Dandolo. We ate twice at Medionale, Angelo's restaurant in the Travestere where the food and service were both superb.

We both agreed that this is, without a doubt, where we would stay on our next visit to Rome. Thanks Angelo for making our stay such a pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Many many thanks for your so great review!
It's a real satisfaction to know you appreciated so much our place, and your stay with us.
I'm also happy you felt like at home. That's my main purpose.
And happy you want to deep your knowledge of old Italian movies! :)
have a nice time, and really hope to see you again in Roma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

There are B&Bs where the host/hostess is interactive – there for breakfast and during the day to be a resource for the guests. And there are B&Bs where the host/hostess provides a place for you to stay and you are left to your devices. The Il Boom is one of the latter. Angelo gets you set up and then you are pretty much on your own after that. The breakfast covers an extended period and you make your own coffee and put together your breakfast. The breakfast was just OK.

The B&B is in the Trastevere district of Rome. It is across the Tiber from the main tourist attractions and up on a hill. It is a relatively short walk to the main part of Trastevere where you can find an abundance of tavernas, trattorias, gelaterias, osterias, pattiserias and ristorantes. Trastevere is really a nice area to explore. It is a 40 minute walk to Piazza Navona, etc. from the B&B.

Il Boom is an interesting place with many retro photos, artifacts and furnishings. The room (Loren) was large and the bath relatively small – normal for a B&B in a converted home.

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There is some street noise with traffic going up the hill.

The wi-fi is fairly strong in the common areas, but terrible in the room. I was unable to work in the room as the connection was extremely weak and continually dropped out entirely. I was unable to upload anything from the room. A wi-fi repeater is a relatively inexpensive item to provide service to the guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review.
I'm sorry you found me not so interactive. I usually try to be, and I believe to be, a resource for my guests, advising what to visit, offering to book the tours, recommending restaurants, and solving their needs. At the same time I try not to be intrusive, with the intention to respect the privacy of my guests.
It 'a difficult balance, and perhaps I may be wrong sometimes. I am sorry if this has happened to you.
About the strength of the wifi into your room you are right. I just tested it half an hour ago. Unfortunately no one told me before. Thanks for informing me about that, and next week it will be settled.
thanks again, and have a nice time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

IL Boom was excellent. Great location (we walked everywhere), fantastic welcome from Angelo. IL Boom is just what you need if you want a stylish, clean friendly Bed and Breakfast in Rome. We will stay again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Many thanks for your so great review!
Happy you enjoyed our place, and hope to see you again in Roma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The location in Trastevere is excellent. 5 minutes walk to the best authentic restaurants in the city, and 2 buslines right outside the door. One going to the central train station Termini (via Colosseum) and the other to the historic city center. The host Angelo is very helpful, and you really feel welcome. We can truly recommend Il Boom to all couples looking for a romantic stay in The Eternal City.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Many thanks for your so great review!
IIt was a real pleasure have you with us, and it's a satisfaction to know you enjoyed so much your stay in Rome and in our place.
Thanks again, and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, NWT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Il Boom was the perfect place to stay during our recent five day stay in Rome. Angelo was friendly and very helpful and our room (the "Sophia Loren" room") was clean, spacious and comfortable. We really enjoyed breakfast and coffee on the roof terrace overlooking Rome in the company of Angelo's friendly cats and the resident collection of turtles. The Trastevere area is fantastic with lots of cafes as well as the eclectic Porta Portese market on Sunday morning. We walked to many of the major sights in Rome but also had easy access to the bus when our "dogs started barking" (feet were tired). We would definitely return to Il Boom and will recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: The Sophia Loren room is on the back of the B&B and is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Many many thanks for your so great review!
It's a real satisfaction to know you have so much appreciated your stay in Roma and in our place.
And really hope to have the pleasure to have you here again in the next future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

IL Boom is a great B & B. Angelo is very helpful and welcoming. The location is away from the city centre but close enough to walk there easily. In any case, there are bus stops closeby. Trastevere is a pleasant area of the city with many cafes/restaurants, piazzas and shops - it has a great feel to it. Our room (Vitti) was spacious for my daughter and I and it has a super small balcony with views across Rome. Breakfast is served on the top floor - self service and comprising a large range options. The lovely roof terraces are an added bonus.

Highly recommended accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angius, Proprietario at IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Many thanks for your great review!
it was a pleasure to have your and your daughter with us, and I'm really happy you enjoyed so much your stay.
Hope to have you here again in the next future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast

Address: Via Dandolo 51, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 2,888 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed & Breakfast IL BOOM is in a large apartment (where owners’ family lives) located on the attic floor and penthouse of an early 20th-century building, without lift/elevator, offering a breathtaking view over Rome. Up to 2005 this apartment has been just our home. We restored it with our taste and passion for the three decades (fifties, sixties, seventies) when Rome and Italy made progress and opened up to the world and culture. We tried to save what we could (vintage floors, ceilings, doors, full-length window), and maintain the Roman atmosphere of our place. One of the unique feature of our apartment are the two splendid terraces, equipped with deck-chairs and umbrellas, where guests can sunbathe and enjoy the romantic atmosphere of the Eternal City. On-site amenities furthermore include a comfortable lounge/kitchen, a PC with internet access, and wireless Internet access throughout the apartment. The Bed and Breakfast IL BOOM enjoys an excellent position in the heart of Rome, on the legendary Gianicolo Hill, along a beautiful tree-lined avenue in the charming Trastevere district, one of the city's most ancient and picturesque neighbourhoods. We are located in a quiet and secluded residential area, at a few minutes walking from the most important artistic, archeological, cultural sites of the city.Vatican City is just across Gianicolo Hill (half an hour walking through Fontanone - a monumental fountain - and Piazza Garibaldi - the most beautiful view of the city. Campo de Fiori, Piazza Farnese, Piazza Navona, Pantheon, Tiber Island, Campidoglio, all the historical center is just under our place. Restaurants, pizzerias, bars, pubs, any kind of shops are at five minutes walking. And we have also very efficient and close public transportation (daily and nightly): Bus 44, 75, 870, H; tram 8. The Bed and Breakfast Il Boom offers 3 spacious double guest rooms (Loren, Magnani and Vitti), each featuring an elegant private bathroom and ample wardrobes. Individually decorated in an attractive 50's, 60's and 70's style, the rooms are named after three famous Italian movie stars of that period: Anna Magnani, Sophia Loren and Monica Vitti. Each room is large and very light, with high plastered ceiling. Room Loren is the quietest one because it gives onto Villa Sciarra (a small public park) and nearby gardens. It features a small private en-suite bathroom with shower, and a flat screen TV. Room Magnani has a window with a wonderful view over Rome. It features an external (just in front of the room itself) very large private bathroom with large jacuzzi bathtub and shower. It has a flat screen TV. A single bed can be added. Room Vitti has a balcony and a window with a wonderful view over Rome. It features an external (just outside the room itself) private black & white bathroom with shower. It has a flat screen TV, and a double sofa bed. All accommodations are strictly non-smoking and equipped with independent air conditioning, centralized heating, hair dryer, and wireless Internet connection. A delicious self-service continental breakfast, with home-made cakes and biscuits, toasts, jam, yogurt, fruit juice, milk, tea and coffee, is at guests' disposal in the kitchen. Breakfast can be enjoyed in the dining area or on the outdoor terrace, whenever you prefer, at any time until 1 p.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Boom - Il Bed `n Breakfast Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.