We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location for a short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palma Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palma Residence to your Saves list
Palma Residence
Via Varese, 5, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,941 of 2,892 Rome B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Location for a short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a night in-between traveling on the train. Close to the train station, and from what I researched in the area most places, on that budget are just hostels. Room was decent size, and was updated throughout. Staff was pleasant to us despite the language barrier. The gentlemen showed us the way to a restaurant he was trying to explain how to get to. At first we were a little leery as we thought he might get some sort of "commission". But we changed our minds when we walked in were served complimentary glasses of wine. Turned out to be one of the best dinners we had in Italy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    28
    38
    22
    23
See reviews for
17
58
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel is more like a hostel, the faucets are rusted, you can hear people through the walls like they're inside your room, people are constantly coming and going, passing through the corridors and making noise. The breakfast is two blocks away and consists of a hot beverage and a croissant they managed to ruin too. But the worst thing is the obnoxious clerk at the reception, who at first tried to give us the single room instead of the double we ordered, which had a broken shower door and no window! Made us pay in advance in cash(!), refused any request, like when we asked for another blanket which at first we had in the room and then disappeared on the second day. He pretended not to understand English, and then we overheard him speaking perfect English with someone else. Very unpleasant and rude! And he continuously tries to hustle us to eat in his friends' places which are very mediocre.

Room Tip: The only good thing in our room is the free wifi, we practically sit on the antenna. Room 101. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Hefa, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

An old building some rust in the plumbing
The main reciponist is a teriable man who dosent speek english and constantly tried to cheet us for exmple he tried ti give us a single room insted of a double
Also he refused to give us an extra blanket it was cold at night
this is just
Dont go to this hotel
The only nice thing i have to say is that the wifi was good

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Hard to find but handy to Termini station. Check out the graffiti on the way there!! Very nice helpful staff. Clean but noisy.... Unfortunately had the room next to reception. Aweful shower.. What is it about crappy showers in Italy? Fix them... Can't be too difficult.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

My bf and I stayed here for 3 nights while on a short holiday in Rome. It's a very small hotel with 6 rooms. We were very happy with the location, 5 min walk from termini Station.
Our room was right next to reception so it was always very noisy, especially when people checked in late at night.
Rooms were small but very clean. Beds pretty firm, could have done with a thicker pillow.
For a budget hotel, you get what you pay for.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our family of 4 checked in the Palma residence for 3 nights last week. The accommodation was not what we had seen in photos in their description and site. They are deceiving and we felt being cheated in a way. When we got to the place, a lady took us to another building which was 2 streets away. The apartment was not intended for four. They rolled two rollaway and with their supposed double made that into a 4-bed room. The toilet smelled foul , the shower cap leaked, the tv not working, one of the night night was not working. My husband went to complained the next morning and the night light was fixed. The only channel that was working was an Italian cartoon channel. The bathroom if you can that had rust all over. Bad bad experience and they weren't exactly cheap neither.

Room Tip: The only plus point was that the train station was quite close to things.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This place is only good as a last minute option, and not for more than one night. It looks a lot better on the photos, and in reality it needs a little renovation. The location is the best thing about it, it is very close to Termini station and also in a quite peaceful neighbouhood. The room was clean, but badly organized, the bathroom is shabby, and the TV has no watchable channels for people who are not from Near East or Asia! Not one channel in Italian, not even RAI 1 was available! Breakfast is small, modest Italian at best, with no eating area, so you have to eat in the "garden" beneath the stairs, where we saw a rat. :/ Interenet is accessible only right next to the reception desk. Staff is kind, but the guy that watches the reception at night speaks neither Italian nor English. I wouldn't stay there again, but if absolutely neccessary, it can be handled for one night only.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palma Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palma Residence

Address: Via Varese, 5, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,941 of 2,892 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palma Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palma Residence Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palma Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.