We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They take good care of you” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Welrome Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Welrome Hotel
Save Saved
You added Welrome Hotel to your Saves list
Via Calatafimi 15-19, 00185 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 1,268 hotels in Rome
Orange City, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“They take good care of you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

A neat clean hotel not far from Termini, with wonderful owners/hosts.. We walked up one up one flight of stairs, but they had a lift for our suitcases);. Small balcony overlooking “courtyard,” not particularly attractive but culturally interesting…underwear and shirts drying on patios. Room was very small, and the internet unreliable.
Mary and Carlo De Rosa, our hosts, were extremely solicitous about our needs. They knew which attractions needed tickets in advance and how to get to them. Mary tended to overdo it: if we told her we wanted to go to one location, she would show us how on a map, but then she would add a half dozen other sites to see…usually too much for a day. She was a surrogate mother, telling us the weather each day, whether we needed umbrellas, how to get laundry done, etc. The glub glub sound from the bathroom sink that bothered other reviewers was muted by closing the stopper. A refrigerator, an electric kettle with complimentary instant coffee, tea bags, snacks, water, pop and juices. Each morning they left a basket of croissants (filled with chocolate Nutella, vanilla cream, apricot jelly or plain, and boxed juices

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    67
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
73
157
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canby, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My Wife and I had many experiences in Europe. Mary and Carlos were the definition of hospitable. If you have a question they will make sure there is no confusition about there answer. There will be no getting lost in a foreign land here. Good recommendations. Rooms are small but all that you need. Close to train station, which makes traveling to other Italian cities easy. Close enough to walk to some popular Roman attactions. Recommend taking public transportation to Vatacan. Which Mary can help you with.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have to start with thanking mary and carlos, the owners of the hotel for all the help. They were so kind and enjoyed to answer each and every typical tourist questions. Carlos is very passionate about the history of rome and will share lot of knowledge with you through his books collection. He told us few stories about sistine chapel and vatican before visiting a day before. It helped us alot to understand the meaning of each character in Michael Angelo's piece. He also gave us lot of information about the shortest way to see rome by walking. It was soo much fun to see rome by walking than any of the bus tours. Regarding hotel, its a decent place with excellent service if you are looking for something in budget. Eventhough, its not B&B, but mary is kind enough to serve with fresh cream filled croissants, juice, water, some more local goodies in the fridge everyday. We never had to spend money in the morning for breakfast. There is no extra charge for any of these goodies. We stayed here for 4 nights and it was totally worth it. The only thing that bothers me is that you have ring a bell and then someone - either mary or carlos will come and open the door for you. I understand they have kept this way for their safety since its very close to Roma termini station but if you are late in the night..it made us feel awkward to bother them. At a walking distance from Roma termini station, excellent location, totally worth it. We were on our honeymoon, so they arranged champagne in our room before our arrival. Very sweet of them. I will definitely go back again and stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in Pantheon room. Very nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Thanks, Carlo and Mary, for your friendly help and thoughtfulness. There's nothing we didn't enjoy about our four-day visit. We knew you had a lot of fans. Now you have two more. Please stay as sweet as you are !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Welrome Hotel 2 years ago and absolutely loved it, mostly because of the hosts, Mary and Carlos. In October 2012, we returned to Rome again with our 23-year-old son with us. This was our son's first visit to Rome and he immediately agreed with our positive reviews about Welrome Hotel. By the end of our trip, we all vowed that we would visit Rome again and would always choose to stay at Welrome Hotel. The accommodations were spotless, adequate, safe and close to trains, buses and walking distance to many sights. Mary and Carlos were both born in Rome and they continuously gave us the most valuable information and advise that we could ever receive about Rome. We look forward to coming back to Rome again and again and staying at Welrome Hotel.

Room Tip: One of the rooms that does not face the street is quieter, and has a very cosy balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Nice central location, fabulous and very helpful owners who are always available, and clean rooms. We had a very pleasant stay there in Oct 2012. Mary and Carlos were amazing and had quality customer service. They even upgraded us to a bigger room at no cost since it was available!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We must agree to all the positive reviews about this nice hotel! Visiting Rome for the first time we were in need of help and advice to make the most out of our stay. And at Welrome we were given all the help we could possibly need (thank you, Mary & Carlos!). And a very pleasant stay we had - a nice and quiet room, good beds, and a location that made us able to walk to almost all places of interest. In our 3 days stay we managed to see and experience everything we had planned for in this lovely town.
Next time visiting Rome we really hope for to stay at Welrome again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welrome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welrome Hotel

Address: Via Calatafimi 15-19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#34 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#159 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Welrome Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welrome Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.