We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welrome Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Welrome Hotel
Save
You added Welrome Hotel to your Saves list
Via Calatafimi 15-19, 00185 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

We were really pleased we chose Welrome - Mary and Carlo are so accommodating, helping us plan our itinerary and maximise our stay in Rome. Both speak excellent English (and I overheard Mary speaking with other guests in very good French!) and went above and beyond - for example when we lost track of time and were too late to collect our clothes from the local laundromat. We got back around 11pm on a Saturday night to discover Carlo had phoned, collected them and brought them back to our room. Hotel itself is exactly what you expect for a budget hotel but all of the extra touches and service make this an excellent stay. My wife and I would be happy to recommend this and will return if in Rome again

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    67
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
73
161
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Stayed at the Welrome April 3-6. The hotel is a very good value for the level of service that you get. The hosts MAry and Carlo are the perfect peolple to help direct you around the city. They will point you in the right direction based on how long your stay. They are particularly good at giving local tricks to avoid lines and get as nice of a meal as you want for your particular budget. Each of their recommended local restaurants knew them and provided above ordinary service. The rooms are very clean and quiet for being in a major city. If you are going to Rome and want to see the city and are not worried about staying in a luxury property you could not do any better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

The Hotel is located close to the Railway Station and with a shopping center nearby and plenty of places to eat nearby. The rooms were spacious and comfortable with good bathrooms.
Probably the best part about our stay there was how helpful and passionate about their city the owners Carlo and Mary were. Both were so willing to help you plan your days outings and spoke about the places they recommended with great passion and often referred us to articles in books they had in reception area. Next time we are in Rome we would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you required an elevator, it wasn't obvious, speak to Carlo or Mary and they would show you t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Our recent 6 nights stay - 23 Dec to 29 Dec - at Welrome was great! Mary & Carlos are a delightful couple with a wealth of information about the history of Rome, the sights and places to visit and even where to have delicious yet affordable Italian food! Their keen desire to share their knowledge made our visits to the historic areas interesting and enjoyable! Will stay here again if we return to Rome in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed here in May 2011. On check in Mary was so incredibly helpful with her advice - she even worked out an intinerary for us based on what we wanted to see, and how much time we had, to maximise out time! We also took her advice on where to go for dinner one night and had an amazing meal.

This hotel is not luxurious but has everything you need if you're not planning on spending a great amount of time in your room.

Both Mary and Carlo were great in helping us use the free wi-fi which we struggled with. On the morning of our departure we had to leave at 4.30am and when we opened the door Mary was waiting to escort us to the lift and assist with our bags - just fantastic.

Can't fault the Welrome for it's value for money and the service provided by Mary and Carlo.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Welrome for 6 nights October 24 - 30. The walking directions from the train station were simple and we found the hotel easily - even after traveling for 24 hours to get there. On our arrival, the owner, Mary, was very helpful and showed us to our room, gave us a map and routed out an afternoon city walking tour. It was perfect and we had a wonderful first afternoon.

The next morning, we had accidentally set our clocks wrong (pm instead of am) and overslept and missed our morning tour. Mary called the tour company for us and got them to let us take the tour the next day. She was an immense help to us throughout our stay. Helping us find grocery stores, restaurants, making reservations for us, telling us which bus to take. You couldn't ask for a better hostess.

Be prepared - the rooms are small, as were all the hotel roooms we stayed in on our 3 1/2 week Italy trip. Rooms in Italy are nothing like you find in the US, but it is all part of the charm and experience of being in a foreign country, right?

The location is very good. Plenty of things are close, including a church around he corner that we just happened to wander into our first day - it turned out to be built by Michelangelo from the old Roman baths and had the most enormous pipe organ i have ever seen! It's close to the Roma Termini (main train station) where you can get the subway to the coloseum and other areas). And the buses all stop just around the corner from the hotel. Mary helped us become experts at public transportation. Heed all the warnings about pickpockets. I did have someone try to take things from my purse while we were on the subway packed in like sardines! And I'm fairly certain it was a woman with a baby in a baby carriage. She used the baby as a distraction while she reached into your bag. When I got off the subway train, all the zippers on my purse were open. Luckily she didn't find anything of value to take as I had my money and credit cards in my pocket.

Mary was such a wonderful hostess and a huge help to us through our whole stay so I would stay there again if we get back to Rome. We could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

My two teenagers, my husband, and I stayed at the Welrome for 4 nights in July, 2011. Mary and Carlos are incredible hosts, with a vast knowlege of the History of Rome and ample information on all that there is to enjoy in the city. The rooms are spotless, dark, quiet and air-conditioned, and had a good sized private bathroom. We walked all the way to the Vatican, but if walking is not your thing, the bus access is excellent, and cab fares are very reasonable to all the attractions.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welrome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welrome Hotel

Address: Via Calatafimi 15-19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#182 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Welrome Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welrome Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.