We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What the Welrome has that other hotels don't.......Mary and Carlo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welrome Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Welrome Hotel
Save
You added Welrome Hotel to your Saves list
Via Calatafimi 15-19, 00185 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What the Welrome has that other hotels don't.......Mary and Carlo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

I booked this hotel based on the good reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The rooms are small (not a problem, we were out all day!) but they are clean, the shower was excellent, pillows and bed comfy and it was nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in our room (a notable absence in other hotels we stayed in). Croissants and juice in the morning were adequate breakfast for us. Free wifi was well-used by us.
Mary and Carlo were easily the friendliest and most helpful hosts we had during our 5 weeks travelling around Italy. Because of delays with our flight to Rome we arrived much later than expected, at 11.30pm! Yet Carlo was ready and waiting for us and greeted us with a big friendly smile. We couldn't have asked for a warmer welcome. Mary and Carlo do everything possible to help you enjoy your stay in Rome - nothing is too much trouble and they have extensive knowledge of their city, places to visit etc. We stayed there for 5 nights (the bigger Colosseo room - quiet) at the beginning of our trip and one night at the end (Pantheon room - on street but no noise, good windows/shutters). We took Mary's recommendation for dinner at 'Giovanni's' - nice food at reasonable prices! Cannot recommend the Welrome more highly!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    67
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
73
161
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Mary and Carlos were both very friendly and helpful - they love Rome and want you to also. Lots of good tips, starting with the email you get on confirmation of your booking (eg telling you how to book for the Vatican Museum etc). The hotel is near the train station so handy for arrival/departure and also for the Metro as both lines cross at the Termini. As others have noted the hotel does provide pastries and juice to start your day (my son loved this - like the Easter bunny every day :)). The rooms also have a small fridge and a kettle and coffee/tea and there is a supermarket close by. There also is good free wifi - just ask Mary and she'll give you the plug in modum.

However, this hotel wont be for everyone. It is a bit like staying with someone - the front door is usually locked so the hosts open it for you on a buzzer, the rooms are basic, the towels tiny, the TV small and no English language channels and you can hear other guests moving around. We weren't on the street side so no street noise. The area is handy but not as interesting or glamorous as other parts of Rome.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

I liked welrome hotel a lot and I believed it is definitely one of the reason that I loved Rome so much! The hosts are both very helpful, especially Maria. She told me a lot of money saving tips which were very useful for a budget traveler like myself. She also offered to call the Borghese Gallery to make reservation for me, so I didn't have to give my credit card number for online reservation. I also loved the restaurant Maria recommended.
The location of the hotel is wonderful. It is very close to Termini station and there are also bus stations around. It is very easy to travel to all the attractions in Rome. I had the room at the street side, and it was noisy only one or two nights, and it sounds like a
bunch of drunk people walk by.
I loved this hotel so much and I felt a little guilty only to give the review several months after. I recommended this hotel to all my friends who plan to visit Rome. The only thing I can think about to complain is they don't have single room...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Our room was on the street side and we didn't find external noise a problem despite the early morning catholics heading to the Vatican!. Shutters and blinds kept room nice and dark also. Air conditioning quite enough and room standard acceptable for Europe standards at this price point. Towels were tiny though and hair dryer not the best. Mary and Carlos very helpful to point of overly so. Maps handed out with suggested itineraries and directions, all of which were top rate - I would take any recommendation they make re food! Croissant and juice provided helps start the day and plenty of good coffee avaailable nearby. Easy walking distance from Termini Station which is ideal for train or shuttle bus to/from Fuminico airport. Easily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Just returned from a great stay at Welrome. The room was basic but clean & tidy & we couldn't fault the service given by the staff who were extremely helpful with tips & suggestions for our outings.

Breakfast was a croissant and a juice box served in your room which worked well because you could either have it in your room or take it with you if you had an early start.

Location-wise we found everything very easy to get to either by walking or bus (there is a big bus station near by so easy to find one going to the right location). The centre of Rome was probably a 15-20 minute walk away.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Hotel was clean. One room was roomy, the other quite small (though not unusually so for a modest hotel in a European capital.) Mary and Carlo are wonderful hosts, though it is difficult to have a brief conversation or ask a simple question of either one. Our real complaint was the noise from the hotel across the street, something beyond the control of the Welrome. Nevertheless, the large group of young people congregating on the street until the early morning hours made it difficult to sleep. I would not stay here again unless assured that I had a room away from the street side.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

This small, quiet hotel lives up to its excellent reputation. The quad room was equipped with a kettle and tea, and the bathroom was, in our experience, large by European standards. From the hotel we walked to all the major sights. Mary De Rosa was friendly and helpful in explaining what to see and how to get there. After we'd checked out she contacted us to let us know our son had left his headlight behind, then sent it on to us. Outstanding service.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welrome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welrome Hotel

Address: Via Calatafimi 15-19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#182 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Welrome Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welrome Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.