We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Laura to your Saves list
Hotel Laura
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale XXI Aprile 109, 00162 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #670 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfectly located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed this hotel, but it's not as its advertised to be. The continental breakfast is a handful of different croissants and some cereal. (They control the milk usage)
We had co firmed with them to have gluten free items as we were staying a week there and I'm coeliacs. However when we got there they just shrugged and "meh"-ed. so I had to bring in my own stuff from the supermarket. They don't have a toaster.....

It's on the forth flood, when you arrive you have to push the button on the FRONT of the building, not the one in the gold plated list that is labelled Laura.

Careful of the rooms as the first time we stayed the shower was so small, you had to breathe in and go in sideways, squatting precariously to get the anything off the floor, and myself and partner aren't very big. But our friends were 2 doors down and had a good sized one.

Mario on the front desk doesn't speak English, but understands it and loves it when you try to use Italian.

The rooms were clean and tidy, and fairly sanitary- no mould etc and the shower had good pressure, but cold go hot/cold sometimes.

There's no real socialising room in the hotel, but opposite is a nice mini park that is good to hang out in, and there's kebabs/sushi/buffet late night/all day food stores near by.

The Bologna station is DIRECTLY outside, so very very convenient to just jump on the blue line from Termini to Bologna and exit onto Via Aprille.

Wifi was free and fairly consistent too. This is a good hotel if your an out and about kind of person, you don't lounge around in this one, but have a good nights sleep, get up, get ready and head out for the day.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    51
    34
    14
    17
See reviews for
17
65
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel Laura occupies the 4th and 5th floors of a building on the corner of piazza bologna, which it two paces from the Metro stop on line B ( very handy ).
We stayed here a week in early September and ok the hotel really isn't great but we used it for sleeping and washing only so it was acceptable. The lift is super small and only just gets two people and luggage in. The staff who are nice enough don't speak the best English but do try their best.
The room we had was big and with windows on two sides was quite airy which was a plus as the aircon didn't work. Wouldn't advise having your windows open at night as it is very noisy with people and traffic, and it will disturb your sleep. The room was clean and had hot water shower. The maid came every day and tidied round after us. Breakfast is a disappointment. There is cereal with UTH milk or bread and jam or fruit. So if you need a little something it's ok but would go out and get something from a proper cafe in one of the nice piazzas in the centre which we did most days. ( a nice one is Baccano, via delle mutate, 23. Near Trevi fountain. Yum )
The hotel is low budget but is fab for the metro line and getting about. There was nothing so bad about this hotel that I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel 4 times during my visits to Rome, a lovely hotel clean and spacious, it has a mini bar, a clean bathroom. The staff are very friendly and always helping with any information needed. It's a very safe hotel as the door just opens with an intercom and just overlooking the metro station and many bus lines. the area piazza Bologna has many shops, café and a huge supermarket. I would always go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stopped at this hotel 13 June 2013. Hotel is metres away from the piazza bologna metro station, room was quiet spacious but walls are quiet thin next door to us argued all the time and we heard every word, there was quiet a noise from traffic but nothing to bad. Breakfast was donuts and other sweet things okay from me as I have a very sweet tooth. Hotel is so central for visiting Rome just a few stops from all major attractions, loved every second of rome, and I would go back anytime and I would stop at this hotel as its very central

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Not a bad hotel, except for two things: it's noisy, and the beds are terrible.

It's right on a large grassy public square in a student area with an all-night bar, and on a busy street intersection, so it's very noisy. And the bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever laid down in a hotel on. We stayed four nights and hardly slept. This is a student area and every night the square (Piazza Bologna) was full of drunk, shouting youths, until three or four in the morning. After that, heavy trucks were thundering beneath our window every thirty seconds from about 4am to 5am without respite. OK this is Rome - but you can find quieter places.

The bed was like a solid stone slab and the pillows were akin to little square blocks of granite. Michaelangelo could have carved them. In fact, we had to borrow pillows of the normal, soft kind from friends we were visiting who live in an apartment down the road. So all in all, not much chance of a rest.

Otherwise - fine!

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back (wish we had)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

even though looking tha building entrance might through u off, hotel laura was a great suprise of cleanliness, location and great value for money!!
big plus: the one lady preping the breakfast buffet makes a killer cappuccino:)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I've just come home from Rome.I stayed at Laura hotel on vialle 21 April ,in piazza Bologna.Just near the hotel,5 meters distance was underground entrance,Bologna station.On this time of the year there were 14-19 grade Celsius outside,so I didn't need any heat in the room.The room was big,large and high,with one double bed and a single one,good for a family.It was a big bathroom with shower and a bide,near toilet.we have tv and a small fridge.The room was clean and they change the towels,twice in 3 days.The hotel was at the 4-th floor of a building.the breakfast was fine with lot of sweets like croissant and so,not an English breakfast,but I like it and the capuccino was excellent.The hotel stuff was very friendly and helpful ,especially the receptionist.Very near of the hotel,on the main street is a gellateria where is one of the best ice cream of the town with prices from 2 to 5 euros and a small bistro named Metro where you can find the best chicken and other hot food ,very reasonable.With 10 euros can eat two persons.Also in the neighbourhood there were 2 supermercati,supermarket from where you can find beer and other drinks,very cheap.From here there are 3 station to termini station,at teh underground and there is a bus 62 which go directly to Vatican.The price of the hotel was good deal and I'll go again there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laura

Address: Viale XXI Aprile 109, 00162 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #670 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laura 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Laura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laura Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.