We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare experience - flat dirty and credit card abuse” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Roma CentrArte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Roma CentrArte to your Saves list
Roma CentrArte
Via Modena 32, 00184 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2,356 of 3,079 Rome B&B and Inns
Verona, Italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nightmare experience - flat dirty and credit card abuse”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I spent three nights in an apartment with my husband and kids at the beginning of December. We found the apartment to be dirty (fridge, and oven not clean, linens dirty and frayed), humid (windowless bathroom, with a ridiculously small fan) and very noisy (at 5th floor our bed would shake at the passage of trams in via Nazionale).
What's worse, the owner had the nerve to charge our credit card with an arbitrary sum ten days after the trip because of an allegedly "late check-out". When asked about the ten day delay (and after rude and aggressive debating on the phone), the owner admitted charging us in retaliation for an unfavourable review we had published on another website (!). Overall, one of the worst travel experiences we have had so far. Keep away from this place!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
11
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My recent booking of Roma centrarte did not go as planned. After arriving in Rome, we went to the address provided on the hotels.com website. The building was not clearly marked but we found the buzzer on the entree that said centrarte and range it for about 10 min with no answer. Then someone happened to exit the building and let us in. No sign of anyone who could help us. We tried calling the number provided on the site 4 times throughout the afternoon with no answer. Finally we had to book another hotel. To straighten things out I tried calling the number again at 10 pm and finally got an answer. The man on the phone asked me to call another number, which I proceeded to do. I spoke with a very rude lady that would barely let me speak. When I asked her to cancel the booking for the reasons I listed above she called me a liar and hung up on me. Having travelled to many places in the world, I've seen a lot of different hotels, but this experience is thus far the worst I've had with and service staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomaCentrarte, Proprietario at Roma CentrArte, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
This comment is unbelievable for us. We are very sorry and amazed. The Mr or Mrs who is writing the comment knows very well that he/she did a NO SHOW. We have been waiting for them (3 people) all the day at the reception. NOBODY has come. NOBODY has answered to the telephone when we were calling to know where they were. Writing that "we were not there" perhaps Mr/Mrs hopes to justify the uncorrect behaviour she/he has applied.... We were strongly damaged by this behaviour not only because we have had the NO SHOW, but also because we have received this fake-bad comment. WHY? We really cannot understand....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This B&B is difficult to find. The only signage is on doorbell close to the door to the street. The staff are very helpful and the location is very central and in a quiet area. Breakfast was delivered to your room at the time you designate and was hot and very good. There was a microwave in the room but you have to move it to another room to connect it to electricity.. Overall it was a good experience

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Hard to find, located on deadend street. Bait and switch rooms not as they appear on Internet. Owners were mean spirited and unaccomodating. Construction on building during my stay (dusty/dirty entrance) booked for three nights but only stayed one night because the service and atmosphere was so negative. Didn't feel like a place I wanted to lay my head and rest. Found a lovely room at The Opera Hotel around the corner and slept like a baby.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a B&B with an excellent location, very close to most of the main attractions. This is about 10 min walk from termini and has some very good restaurants around.

its a little difficult to find this place, but with a google map, pretty peaceful.

My partner and I stayed in room #1, with the washroom down the corridor. This was a compact room with a snappy italian breakfast in the room.

The hostess and her family were very helpful during our stay, especially when we lost our wallet and had to take her help to block the cards and make alternate arrangements. Its a good clean place to sleep over, and have a good walk over to any of the attractions.

travelled in oct 2011

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent 4 nights in a one bedroom apt in march. This apt was perfectly located within ten minutes walk to termini station, and 10-15 mins to most attractions. The apt was on the top floor but unfortunately we could not see over the stone balcony to the main street below! There was no chairs for balcony anywayThe bedroom was large and spacious, a double bed and plenty of storage with extra bedding supplied. The living/dining room had a large sofa that pulled into a double bed and they also supplied us with a single fold up bed. The kitchen was fully fitted with full size cooker, fridge and washing machine! It was very handy having the kitchen to cook food and make tea/coffee. There was a well equipped supermarket around the corner, which sold almost anything, and had delicious bread! Our only real gripe is the bathroom! It was located off the bedroom, so one had to enter the bedroom to use the loo! Not very practical at night, when someone is sleeping, and no privacy! The staff were very helpful when we arrived, we had organised transport, and they were there on time. They did not come to clean but I would imagine if you were staying longer they would? I would stay here again mainly because of the location, and convenience of self catering, but expect no frills!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We spent three nights in the one bedroom apartment in June - the purpose for our trip was purely sightseeing so we literally wanted somewhere clean to dump our bags and be able to get a good night's sleep and this really fit the bill! Perfectly located within five minutes walk of Roma Termini, 10 minutes from the Spanish Steps and 20 minutes from the Colosseum.

We had two in the main bedroom and two on the sofa bed and it was perfectly comfortable. Only downside was that the apartment wasn't very well sound proofed and the air conditioning wasn't particularly powerful, so it wasn't the best night's sleep (but this is written by the person sleeping on the sofa bed!).

Good value for money and perfect for the purpose.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roma CentrArte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roma CentrArte

Address: Via Modena 32, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,356 of 3,079 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few meters from the Palazzo del Quirinale, in a strategic point of Rome's historic center, its proximity to museums, historical sites, ancient Roman ruins, famous squares and typical places of Rome, in an elegant building of 1600, there are two elegant apartments and bright with stunning views of the monuments, churches and the rooftops of Rome, are visible from the apartment is the largest dome of St. Peter that Quirinale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Roma CentrArte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roma CentrArte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.