We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Impero

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Impero to your Saves list
Hotel Impero
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Viminale 19, 00184 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #447 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ideal for a short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from 4 nights at the Impero & couldn't fault it. Yes it's a little rough around the edges as previous reviews suggest but when in Rome you want something authentic & not ultra modern.

The room was enough for what we needed, a comfy bed (memory foam mattress) & a clean bathroom.

Our room was on the 5th floor which was great as it was out of season & we practically had the whole roof terrace to ourselves but I would imagine if you go in season it could be quite annoying with people at the bar.

Breakfast was what you expect from a European hotel, it set us up for the day.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    290
    150
    47
    32
See reviews for
121
243
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Along with its excellent location at around 500m from the Termini train station in Rome, this hotel boasts many positive features such as friendly staff, well-appointed common areas, and rich and tempting breakfast buffet as well.
But what mostly impressed us was the very high standard of our room. We got a suite room which was huge, extremely comfortable, luxuriously furnished and equipped and endowed with a wide and inviting ensuite bathroom. As the room standard was so outstanding we can argue that also the standard rooms are of equally good standard (surely less wide and luxurious but equally comfortable and appropriately equipped).
The day after we had to leave late in the afternoon but we could leave our luggage at the hotel and also spend several pleasant hours in their lounge.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

stayed 16-20th of feb, room 223 first 3 nights were fine but on the last night the noise from the private apartment next door was unbelievable, rang down to reception who sent the bell boy up who came into our room, he said he would report to the night manager, it carried on for another hour, so we rang again, the manager said he had rang the police who never came, I went down to the reception the night manager was so rude he was"nt bothered at all, we told him we would have to sleep in the reception and he just smirked and said fine,my wife who by this time was getting upset because she had booked this holiday as a surprise for my birthday,the noise carried on till the early hours of the morning,we told him we had paid good money for this hotel and he just shrugged his shoulders, do yourselves a favour and stay clear of this hotel.

Room Tip: Dont stay here, best rooms are in other hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Ludlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Impero for 3 nights while visiting Rome.

+ points
The hotel is easy to find, just a 2 minute walk from Termini Station (Where the Airport Shuttle Bus drops off) and an easy 15 minute walk to main attractions - Colosseum etc. The hotel also gave us a free tourist map.
Breakfast included in the rate with a good varied selection, the large breakfast bar was also continuously restocked and included fruit, pastries, toast, tea/coffee, juice, salad etc.
Large rooftop terrace
Rooms were clean and comfortable, good shower, and a good view from out window overlooking the Opera theatre.

- points
Wifi is 5Euro for 24 hours or 10Euros for a week, cafes and restaurants nearby do provide free Wifi though so you could use this option while out eating.


Overall for the price Hotel Impero is a good budget option for a short visit to Rome. I'd advise walking abit further than just across the street for dinner, there are some nice, small restaurants on quieter streets which are cheaper and have better service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We used this hotel for long weekend.the hole experience was great.every you need for a short stay.breakfast was first class.if you need an evening meal make shore you use the the one over the road, it's called alessio.down the stairs,we never used it the first couple of nights because it looked to expensive.and used the other ones on the same road....but we thought we would splash out on the last night only to find, it was the cheapest and by far the best food.the hotel was a sort walk about 20 to 30 minutes from every thing you go to Rome to see.and only 10 mins from the railway station.you will read loads about the robbing taxis,in Rome and there all correct,ask the price before you get in

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dersingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Great location, rooms a little small but I only want to sleep in it, clean warm and very friendly staff, breakfast was good, I would happily return to this hotel. Very close to railway station. Restaurant opposite "Alessio" was brilliant, only found it on the last night as it is down some stairs, the food and service were out of this world.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

If you're looking for a clean place to shower and lay your head down for a good price, then this is the place for you. The hotel is close enough to Termini that it is a short walk, but far enough away that you aren't constantly seeing buses and dealing with Termini traffic. The front desk was very helpful and very friendly. The room is very basic (no alarm clock) and small but very clean, I enjoyed my stay. Oh also the elevator is ridiculously small and I refused to ride it so we ended up using the stairs the whole time but that didn't bother us. Rome is lovely and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Impero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Impero

Address: Via del Viminale 19, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #447 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Impero 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Impero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impero Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Impero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.