We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stand By Your Beds!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vatican's House B&B

Vatican's House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vatican's House B&B
Save
You added Vatican's House B&B to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Valerio Anziate 16, 00136 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,878 of 3,092 Rome B&B and Inns
Scotland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stand By Your Beds!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

Not a place to relax - have to wait for bathroom because have to share it with other guests -approx 4 other rooms worth of people. Beacuse of this I wanted a shower after the breakfast (which you felt a little forced to attend by the bossy owner) after showering, my room door was opened TWICE by a gang of cleaners who turned up at 9am to start cleaning the rooms. She insisted entering my room to clean even though I incdicated that I was only staying 2 nights and didn't want the disturbance. Very pushy lady. There is Internet access but only within a certain time scale- it felt like staying with a strict grandmother. She lets you leave your luggage the next day but again only within her timescale. Then she treats you like dirt when you turn up. The whole atmosphere was that of mutton dressed up as lamb. Not relaxing at all.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticans, Proprietario at Vatican's House B&B, responded to this review, January 30, 2011
We are sorry you do not have a pleasent stay in our bed and breakfast. We want only to correct that we have in totally three rooms. One of the room has a private bathroom inside, the other 2 rooms shared the bathrom. So there are not four rooms that shared the same bathroom but only two. Normally if customers do not want to clean the room we do not clean the room (it is not a problem for us). Probably there was a misunderstanding with the language.
We apologise if this has appened.
regards

fiorini maddalena
vatican's house bb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
3
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

I will certainly choose this B&B again next time in Rome. It is very clean, rooms are very spacious and the owner very professional. For the price, it is an absolute bargain in Rome. Room was great, complete with large screen tv and a minibar. Everything was very clean, and the bathroom (shared) was great.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helensburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We had a lovely stay inthis B&B our lack of Itlalian and the owners's lack of English proved no barrier at all. She was so friendly and helpful and the room was clean an comfortable, breakfast plentiful. We also found this a good loaction as not far from the underground. We are already planning another trip and will stay there again

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

The property is ideally located in a quiet area, 15 minute walk distance from the Vatican, 10 mins from the underground station (CIPRO).
Rooms are nicely furnished, clean and comfortable.
Our room (for 4 people), in particular, was extremely spacious, well above Italian hotel standards.
The shared bathroom was always very clean.
Breakfast was absolutely excellent and plentiful.
The owner does not speak any English but is very nice, helpful and friendly. On our departure day, we said we would not have breakfast because we had an early flight. She prepared it for us very early in the morning anyway!
Internet service is provided.
Very good value for money.
Highly recommended!

  • Liked — the welcome, breakfast, the place...everything!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

the woman doesn't speak a word of english except when she asks you pay up front. nice old typical italian woman who made great breakfast in the morning!! if you don't know how to speak italian you're pretty much stuffed if you need to ask the signora anything unless you're patient enough to use pointing methods or acting out what you need!
there are 2 train stations close by and the vatican/st peters and all the tours etc are maybe 10 mins away in the car. there is also the big market at the bottom of the hill, and don't just buy the price on the tag, haggle them - it works all the time i got some really neat stuff!!
its pretty hard to find in the dark, but if you do get there after dark - its up this little alleyway - you just have to walk up it and you come to a gate where you press the buzzer to get let in. i thought it was reasonably priced for the location (really close to everything). it was a good score on our part esp with a continental breakfast included!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of communication if you needed, but if you know italian you're fine!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights and we had a great stay.
Our room was lovely, large and clean.The bathroom very large and new. The owner was helpful & welcoming (she speak only italian language but has no problem). The hotel is well placed within a 10 minute walk from the Vatican city and shopping center. Well connected with metro and bus. There is an internet point in the common area. Breakfast was simply but very tasty. We will stay again.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

Having read many first-class reviews I was expecting something special. And it was - in strange ways. The elderly lady proprietor spoke no English and seemed unwilling to help tourists. The b&b is actually the second floor of an apartment block in a rather drab area of Rome though convenient for metro and Vatican. Entry & exit resembles Fort Knox. Breakfast typical continental but avoid the coffee. Proprietor doesn't take plastic. Insists on full payment in euros when you arrive. We had been assured by email that we could leave our luggage there on last day as we had night flight. No such facility and this lady was not for turning. Quiet location, very comfortable room. But overall, pay a few euros more for somewhere better, with maybe a smile and a word or two of English.

  • Liked — clean, comfortable room
  • Disliked — access and 'cash up front'.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vatican's House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican's House B&B

Address: Via Valerio Anziate 16, 00136 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,878 of 3,092 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Hotel Class:5 star — Vatican's House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vatican's house B&B is located within walking distance from the vatican city and its museums. It is the ideal starting point to visit downtown rome and its surroundings. It is not far from the cipro musei vaticani underground station. Not far from it, you can find shops, restaurants, and the main shopping streets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vatican`s House Bed And Breakfast
Vatican`s House Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vatican's House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.