We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so Luxury Suite” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Domus Livia Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Domus Livia Suites to your Saves list
Domus Livia Suites
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Nazionale 230, 00184 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #473 of 3,079 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not so Luxury Suite”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Just returned from a fabulous short break in Rome but would have been even better had we stayed somewhere else. Our "Luxury Suite" was, in reality, a family room somewhat smaller than a Travel Lodge with more traditional furniture, very tired decor (peeling wallpaper) and accompanying layers of dust. The location was the most positive feature.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    108
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
75
120
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We were very pleased with the helpful and caring staff. They were able to advise us on sight seeing and the transit system to most easily get to where we needed to go. The Bed and Breakfast was very conveniently located to the Termini train station and many transit stops. The room was very comfortable and quiet on a busy street in Rome. The staff helped us with our needs for a very early check-out. We were very happy with our stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeHouse, Proprietario at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you very much Andrea about your wonderful review for us.
We always try to make our guests feel at home and be satisfied with our service.
Waiting to meet you again at our hotel, best regards.
Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were very satisfied with our stay in Domus Livia, very good location, warm rooms, and especially professional and friendly service, like in a five stars hotel, or even bettter. we were also alowed to leave our luggage after check out, because our flight was late in the evening. Very good location, near metro, buses and all the historical city easily to reach by foot in 15 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We've just come back from four nights at the Domus Livia, and had a relatively comfortable stay there. The Domus Livia is described as being 300 metres from the Termini Station, in reality it's more like 1 kilometre, and a 15 minute brisk walk, so if you have heavy bags then you might consider a taxi to get you there. The breakfast is very nice, but was very bread based, and it would have been nice to have some fruit as well. There are also no tea/coffee making facilities in the room and it would have been nice to have had this, as there are no hotel type facilities. As we are experience travellers we didn't have much need for advice but our requests were always met with a smile and prompt action. All the staff speak excellent English. The room wasn't spectacular but we spent so little time in there, as we were seeing the sights of Rome, it really didn't matter.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Proprietario at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Paul thanks for the nice review for us and thanks again for the compliments for our staff.
However, we are very sorry for the only problem that could be solved easily: on request it is possible to have a kettle in the room to make tea or coffee.
We were surprised to read about your disappointed but did not you say it during your stay!
Waiting to meet you again at our hotel , sincerely.
Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

A very nice homely retreat away from pounding the streets of wonderful Rome. A great location, just straight down the road and you're basically at the Roman Forum and the Victory Monument. Close enough to Termini to make getting in and out of Rome easy, but far enough away to not be in the nasty area around it. The best bit by far was the wonderful receptionists, they just made the stay so much nicer with their wonderful smiles and friendly welcomes, and breakfast in the room was amazing! Also...the lift looks really old and dodgy, but it is absolutely fine...and definitely needed to get up to the 5th floor after long days.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The hotel is location within an easy walk from Termini station, but the hotel's name is not posted so you need to locate the address (Hotel Miami has a sign and is in the same building). Enter the main door to the building and go to the left passing by the Hotel Miami inside entrance. There is a small elevator just past the Hotel Miami door. Domus Livia is on the Fifth floor.

Our room (#2) was clean, comfortable and quiet. Window opened for fresh air when room seemed too warm and had shutters for privacy. Receptionists were very helpful and accomodating. We liked having the mini-refrigerator to keep yogurt and beverages cold. Breakfasts were basic, but enough to get us started in the morning and were delivered just a few minutes after requesting them. We had to leave at 4am for the airport the last day and a hot water pot and breakfast items were provided the night before which we appreciated. The hotel also arranged our taxi to the airport for us.

Overall, a great value given its location, room and service. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We were happy with room 2. Quiet at night because not facing Via Nazionale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Direttore generale at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We cannot thank you enough for your very kind feedback on your recent stay with us.Our priority is everyday to satisfy our guests, we are glad you liked our concept,our staff and our rooms. We truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The hotel is in great location, clean, really comforable, and the staff is so nice. The only BUT is the breakfast, it´s included, but it´s continental. I would have preffered buffet or at least more options, or healthy options too, not just croissant with nutella or jelly!! (even though it was really good...but after some days, you end wishing for some fruit or cereal). The room was really nice, comfortable, a little too small, but ok. Free wifi, which was important to us. We would definitely recommend it! and i would go again!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Domus Livia Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Livia Suites

Address: Via Nazionale 230, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #473 of 3,079 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Livia Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classy residence (First class auth.n.6329) with competitive prices in the historical center of Rome.A new concept in hospitality, as an alternative to the traditional hotel accommodation or to the simple bed & breakfast. In a strategic position among the Colosseum and the famous Spanish steps, at only 400 meters from Termini station…in a prestigious 19th century building, in a luxurious residence, with a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Domus Livia Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Livia Rome
Domus Livia Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domus Livia Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.