We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Trip to Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domus Livia Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Domus Livia Suites to your Saves list
Domus Livia Suites
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Nazionale 230, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #501 of 2,888 Rome B&B and Inns
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family Trip to Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at the Domus Livia with my wife and 2 kids in one of their deluxe room (double and 2 singles). Room was comfortable and cool (despite being 40 degrees outside). We found the service great - the reception staff were very helpful and breakfast was just right. The location is a short 10-15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain/Spanish steps, and a 15-20 minute walk to the Colosseum and Pantheon, and bus stop or metro terminal just up the road for the Vatican/St Peters. We would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at Domus Livia. We're happy to read that you enjoyed your time here and you were satisfied with our service. Our regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    104
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
71
115
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed with my wife at the hotel for 3 nights. We traveled individually Italy: Rome, Naples, Positano. Therefore, choosing a hotel in Rome, used the following criteria: 1. location in the center for independent pedestrian excursions, 2. proximity to the Termini station, because the main purpose was holiday in Positano, 3. decent living conditions, as has already had negative experiences in Rome, 4. budget. All of this criteria corresponds Hotel Domus Livia.
Originally raised a question whether we can find the hotel itself, but thorough instructions received after booking made ​​this process simple. Special thanks to Sussanna and her colleague who taught me the Italian basic phrases.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We're really pleased to read your review. Thank you for your nice words about Domus Livia and the city. We do hope to welcoming you back soon Kindest regards.Cari saluti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

It was our first time in Rome and we choose this hotel because of its convenient location. This enabled us to walk to all major sites. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who kindly gave us a map with an appropriate route to fill our afternoon and see panoramic views of the city and some of the major sites. Helpful tips continued throughout our stay. In addition to this the room was very nice,clean and tidy.Breakfast was served promptly when desired with a lovely cappuccino.If we were to return to Rome in future we would not hesitate to return to Domus Livia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We're truly delighted to know that you had a great stay at Domus Livia. This kind of reviews give us always a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Rome soon and you will have more time to see the city as well beside of enjoying our services.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My family--2 adults and 2 children ages 5 yrs and 1.5 yrs, stayed for 3 nights at Domus Livia. We had a wonderful stay--the multilingual concierge was quite friendly and helpful. The hotel is ideally situated, there are many sites within walking distance, and the train and metro stations are a short walk away. The breakfasts were prompt, the coffee, hot chocolate and fresh pastries were delicious. The room was spacious and fit all four of us quite nicely; the bathroom and wardrobe are offset from the main room which made traveling with small children easier. The staff set up a crib for our toddler, and there was a separate bed for our child. We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us . Thank you for your recommendationWe 're looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This was our first time in Rome and we really enjoyed the Domus Livia. Like others we were giving a room on the floor below at the Welcome House. The room was nice and spacious and had air conditioning so it was always nice and cool. Susanna at the front desk was amazing and extremely helpful. Everything we needed from directions to reservations and even a taxi to the airport was arranged through her and her staff. It made our trip much easier. The area is great as well and it is about a 20 minute walk to most of the major attractions. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Rome it was a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review. I am really pleased to read that you were satisfied with our staff and services. Thank you for your high rating. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed at the Domus Liva during the 1st – 3rd of March 2012. We got an amazing deal so we only really picked this place because of the price.

I was pleasantly surprised at how close the Domus Liva was to the main train station (a ten minute walk – at a slow pace). We arrived at 9:30pm and were greeted by a friendly receptionist. He informed of all the local hot spots, where we could catch buses to and from and even gave us a handy map.

We were given the last room on the right (four I think). My first impression was the room was clean, lovely looking, with big flat screen TV (mostly Italian channels – not that we watched anything) and was nice and warm. There was plenty of room for suitcases and a massive built in wardrobe. Extra pillows and covers were available in the wardrobe but I’m sure more would have been provided if you asked.
Our window didn’t look out on to much...other buildings and a small busy court yard, but there was no noise and I didn’t plan to be staring out the window either.

The bathroom was lovely and clean, nice shower and sink. There was a slight smell from the drains – it’s nothing over powering and nothing horrific, more a damp smell. This has nothing to do with the Domus Liva, it just happens. Just keep the toilet seat down and cover up the shower drain with a small towel when possible too - and you won’t even smell it afterwards!
The staff were always friendly, polite and smiling. You could order your breakfast to your room by just dialling reception from your bedroom. This was ideal as I didn’t really want to be sitting in some dining room with other guests. Every morning without fail, ten minutes after I made the call, breakfast would arrive. You would get juice and a choice of a hot drink. We had a choice of soft cheese, chocolate spread and butter for our crusty brown and white rolls, crossitant and French toast. It was all lovely and was still a shock to get with our deal.

We had a fabulous stay at the domus, we were travelling around Italy after our stay but planned to stay in the city well after our check out. The staff kindly explained that we could pack our stuff up and keep our bag there until we were ready to collect them that evening! That meant not having to lug them around the whole day whilst site seeing! I was very impressed by their customer service skills and their understanding. A massive 10/10!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
I cannot thank you enough for your very kind feedback on your recent stay with us. I am really pleased to read that you had spent a great time here. Thank you for the nice words.. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in June, and overall we were very pleased. The location was excellent, many sites were conveniently within walking distance, and the metro was only minutes away. The room was spacious, clean, and we welcomed the breakfast every morning. The staff were very kind and helpful; they gave great tips and insight into the city, and even recommended a wonderful restaurant in Trastevere. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen Domus Livia for your recent stay. Let me thank you for your all-embracing positive comment and for recommending us to the travelling community.Our kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domus Livia Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Livia Suites

Address: Via Nazionale 230, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #501 of 2,888 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Livia Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classy residence (First class auth.n.6329) with competitive prices in the historical center of Rome.A new concept in hospitality, as an alternative to the traditional hotel accommodation or to the simple bed & breakfast. In a strategic position among the Colosseum and the famous Spanish steps, at only 400 meters from Termini station…in a prestigious 19th century building, in a luxurious residence, with a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Domus Livia Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Livia Rome
Domus Livia Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domus Livia Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.