We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trianon Borgo Pio Residence

Save Saved
You added Trianon Borgo Pio Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Trianon Borgo Pio Residence
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Piazza delle Vaschette, 13, 00193 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 551 Specialty lodging in Rome
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Good location and spacious apartment. No wow factor though and although some parts of the apartment had been refurbished, other parts looked a bit dated and in need of modernisation. Had a problem with the initial apartment when checking in but this was quickly remedied (with a little attitude!) and moved to another. There is wifi in the rooms but you need to obtain a code for each device from reception each day. All in all it was fine but just not extra special. The restaurant Porta Castello is around the corner and a fantastic homely place to eat. Other posts have mentioned a barking dog, which i did hear early evening but did not hear at night. It belongs to someone in a nearby apartment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    99
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
135
68
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at this accommodation for four nights and found the apartment excellent and it was also quiet at night. It was very clean and comfortable. There was a couple of grocery shops nearby as well as a couple of money machines. It's location was perfect for visiting the Vatican and catching the Hop On Hop Off bus. We also found the staff to be very helpful and friendly and they were always cheerful and laughing. The apartment was perfect for four adults with two bathrooms and three bedrooms. We were close to lots of cafes and restaurants all within close walking distance. We found the train system was also close approx a 10 min walk. Our apartment was a big part of our wonderful time in such a great city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We liked this hotel! Really spacious, there is a kitchen with the ability to cook, although we did not make us of this it was nice to be able to store some food in the fridge for breakfast. Really close to the Vatican, good distance to the historic centre, we even walked to Trastevere from here but that is quite a (20min) walk. Buses stop around the corner.

Clean, huge rooms (we had a 2 person apartment) and lots of privacy (we actually only did see the staff at checking in and again at checking out). Only one disadvantage: thin walls and therefore can be a little noisy if you have loud neighbours (no sounds from outside though!). I definitely recommend this hotel.

Tip: we really liked restaurant 'Krugh', just a two minute walk from the hotel, and the little wine bar across the street from Krugh. Good food, even better wine, and inexpensive!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place for families: great infrastructure and service. A cool island in the middle of hot big city! All u need is in house! We have spent a week there and have no doubt that finding a better place for quiet and convenient stay in Rome would be very hard. If you are looking for a family- friendly place with best location to reach every attraction of Rome on foot in a half an hour- it is the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in the biggest room for a week. There were six of us - three adults and three kids. We had plenty of space and really felt at home. The beds were fine. We were able to eat in most nights, meaning we did not have to deal with the overly touristy restaurants which are the main ones open at the point in August. It was also nice being able to make my own coffee whenever I wanted rather than wait for an official hotel breakfast. One problem - they do not have a can opener in the kitchen, which posed a problem one night. I would have thought a can opener is pretty basic kitchen equipment. It is true that Italian cans are more likely to have those poptops, but it isn't universally true.

The staff were nice and friendly and always ready to answer questions. The laundry was fine and really came in handy. I also appreciated the fitness room which is quite unusual in an Italian hotel or apartment rental.

The neighborhood was great. There were several groceries nearby, it was easy to get to the subway, and also easy to walk lots of places. The nearby restaurants were mostly tourist spots with not so great food, but again, in mid August the better places were probably all closed.

This is an excellent place if you have lots of people in your travelling party.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We couldn’t ask for a better place to stay for our needs. Our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 college age) took our family vacation to Rome from 7-14 Aug 2013 and were lucky enough to book Trianon Borgo Pio (after seeing their great ratings) a couple months in advanced before it was sold out. We got a 2 bedroom apartment that had 1 king size bed in one bedroom, and a king size and twin bed in the other bedroom. It also had a full kitchen which was nice for breakfast and snacks (not to mention coming home to cold drinks in the refrigerator during the hot summer days in Rome). Several mini-marts and eating places are within a few blocks. Everything was very clean and in working order with air conditioning and free Wi-Fi (big need for the kids). Typical European styling but much more room size than we could have imagined. I read a few reviews from people expecting more of a full service hotel, I would call Trianon Borgo Pio more of an apartment with built in extras. Cleaning and changing of sheets and towels were listed as once a week, but during or week stay they actually changed both once halfway through our stay and offered to do so again a couple of days later. Staff was excellent; all spoke English, and were really customer service oriented with any of our needs.

White taxis from the airport to Trianon Borgo Pio was a flat fee of 60 Euros for 4 people (cost varies by number of people) which also was the fee going back with the service arranged by the staff at Trianon Borgo Pio but with a much nicer/roomer car (along with a very prompt driver for our 7:30 am pick up time). Watch the prices at the airport as a guy approached us before getting to the taxi stand to take us to Rome for 89 Euros. I had printed off the apartment address to show the airport taxi driver to make it easier on all and to make sure we got to the right address since we don’t speak Italian and have never been to Rome before and she found it without any problems.

The apartment may be a little hard to find at first being off of any major streets down on an old cobble stone road, but it is a great once you find it and the location more than met our needs. Nice quite neighborhood and we always felt safe walking around, even at night. Coming out the front door of Trianon Borgo Pio and turning left, you walk a few blocks and you come up to one of the outer walls of the Vatican at the end of the street. Take a left from there and within a couple of blocks you are in the middle of St. Peter’s Square. Take a right at the Vatican wall you come to and there are several blocks of stores, restaurants, and about a 5-10 minute walk to the subway (Metro marked with a M on the signs) station Ottaviano San Pietro. Take a right coming out of the front door of Trianon Borgo Pio and you run right into the backside of Castle San’t Angelo just a few blocks away on the River Tiber.

If you don’t mind using public transportation and a little walking, getting a Roma Pass that allows you unlimited access to the Buses, Metro, some rail lines, and discounts/priority in attraction line queues is the way to go. We never used the buses, but I did notice bus #40 had a few stops close by Trianon Borgo Pio going downtown. There are only 2 main lines on the Rome Metro (A-red line & B-blue line) with the main transfer station to switch line at the Termini station. Rome Metro maps are easy to find on the internet, and are shown at the stations and the stops shown inside the Metro cars above the inside doors. Just find the stop you want to get off on, pick the rail line(s) with the right direction (last station stop on each line indicates train direction), hold your pass up to the reader on top of the turnstile, and follow the signs in the station.

We actually took a day trip to Ostia Antica (old Roman ruins outside of Rome on the Tiber River that you can walk through) using our Roma pass for the Metro and Rome-Lido Railway to get there, and then used it to get into the ruins for free. This is about a 30-45 train ride from the Piramide Metro station. If your ride the train 3-4 more stops down to the end of the line to the Cristoforo Colombo station, you are at a beaches on the Mediterranean Sea that seemed popular with the locals when we went there (we wish we would have know about the beach and would have pack our swimming gear and went to it). More info on this is available on the internet.

We opted for the Omnia package deal for 90 Euro each. This gave us 3 days of the Roma Cristiana hop-on-hop-off bus tour, Vatican access (St. Peter’s, Sistine Chapel, Vatican Museum), 3 day Roma Pass, jump to the front of the line privileges, etc. You can view more on this via the internet and pay before you go. A packet with all your passes can be picked up at their store location in the area right in front of St. Peter’s Square. Hop-on-hop-off buses (looks like all companies) can be caught at the beginning of the apartment side of the street (Via della Concillazione) that leads up to the St. Peter’s, down by river end. Again, this is convenient to the location of Trianon Borgo Pio being a few blocks away. We used the hop-on-hop-off bus as our sightseeing transportation the first days in Rome, then activated our Roma Pass for the other days. Roma Pass hint, your 3 day pass doesn’t start until you use it the first time for either transportation or to get into one of the attractions (even though you have to put a date on the back of it), so if you plan the use accordingly, you may get more usage of the pass before it runs out.

Overall we had a great vacation in Rome and the Trianon Borgo Pio was excellent! We definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you don't need daily room service, check out the apartments/condos to get more room for you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We absolutely loved this place. an excellent apartment, only a stones throw from Vatican city..and literally two minutes walk from a local supermarket (although there are better locations for fresh bread), Staff are really helpful and we felt right at home here.

Avoid some of the eateries around the streets nearby, we found many to be what they appeared to be, tourist traps with extortionate prices to match!

Apartment itself was well appointed with very quiet air conditioning and high ceilings.

Thoroughly recommend it!


PS we LOVED the key to the door....very odd and old looking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trianon Borgo Pio Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trianon Borgo Pio Residence

Address: Piazza delle Vaschette, 13, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 551 Specialty lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trianon Borgo Pio Residence 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Trianon Borgo Pio Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trianon Borgo Pio Residence Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trianon Borgo Pio Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.